Actually there quite logic to decrease our funding on SAF.

genie47

We need SAF around just in case Godzilla come from the sea to lay eggs in CBD.

Bluey92

Decrease funding yes, but through more efficient spending on what they are paying for.

Just look at the cookhouse food, and the allocated budget for it. How is it that the quality and quantity can still lose to caifan outside despite it being said to cost more per meal.

ArcticCheetah

Still stucked in WWII mentality and eating sweet potato porridge?
I think you need to see a psychologist.
When japan invaded SG, people thought it won't happen because China will fight them off. Some even said japanese troops were so little that by the time they reached SG, only a few left.

War is usually unpredictable. Nobody predicted that WW2 was still possible after WW1. The americans didn't see Japan bombing at pearl harbour.

In most cases, all it takes is just 1 siao kia to unite the people and go into war. Whatever NWO is just an alliance to try hold peace and order. When some siao kia start war, doesn't mean they will all chiong in help you like dota. Because by sending their countrymen into war, they need to answer to their people too. So they can choose not to join your war. That's why SG trying to make friends and please everyone. Best not to start a war. Or in the event if really kana one, ringing up 100 countries has more chance of getting help than ringing up 10 countries.

ponpokku

:s22:

we all know SG don't have nature resources.

Our food supply nearly 90 percent from various countries.

They just cut our food supply already can do damage to our country..WITHOUT even send their troops come invade our country.

If not mistaken USA now also slowly decrease their funding on Military. In USA their people are angry on their government that they spend huge fund on Military instead on education.

just recently if I not mistaken , China and Japan also decrease their funding on military.

Only South Korea increase due to North Korea issue.

Whereas on Europe they more busy on restructure their economics , etc issues.

In fact now globally they more on focus and concern more on terrorists treat.

LOL , we also can see ourselves ..look inside SAF those officer...., middle age to near retirement...everyday just walk around .., tea break ....canteen...officer mess drink beer..play pool...than knock off....

OETI lol if you go their canteen all semi retirement officers , CSM , etc look dam happy and relax...

no, japan and china both upped their spendings due to territorial dispute.

for sg, however, the main issue here ish transparency and accountability. u dun even know the exact numbers how much ish spent on what, there is no talk on cutting anything.

there are definitely wastage and inefficiencies in huge org like SAF but to what extent? need the numbers to decide.

mwmwmw

Home team is more for day to day issue, handling minor stuff, area by area the most. They can't really handle a national crisis. The moment when military step in, is the moment when big **** happened. They are like the last defence or technically have the most advanced resources to get work done. Example, 1 riot in 1 place. Can deploy home team. 1 big fire, can deploy home team. But imagine riot in almost everywhere in Singapore, or suddenly 1 big earthquake and rock the whole island or go into war, that's when military step in and whole country listen to their command. Although it's very unlikely as we see now, but it's always good to prepare. Lesson learnt from WW2.

lets be realistic here.

if you are a sinkie like me, and if you are still serving reservist like me, what do we actually do when we:

1. are serving full time NS
2. are on reservist?

i would dare say, 60-70% of my unit cant pass their IPPT. as it is out of the entire reservist batch, there's only probably 60% PES A/B. rest downgraded. even my OC keng and got downgraded to pes C.

should there be a national disaster, do you think our reservist can cut it?

riot - we all know what happened. our police retreat. and these are the regulars. what if we sent our NSmen? how many buibui EDMW-ers can fight down a riot of indian FTs?

there is no need to maintain such a high defense budget, when honestly no one in the region will come after us. why do i say that?

we are almost like switzerland now. realistically, and if you have served in the army you will know, our scholar generals have identified only malaysia and indonesia as realistic invaders. but that was 40years ago. the ministers, at least we know for sure now Najib does, keep their money in SG. doesnt make sense to attack SG and destroy his own safety nest does it? i can probably guess that most of the indonesian leaders have their money in SG.

if theres a real terrorist attack, these are usually small scale attacks carried out by one or 2 individuals. then again, even if there is, the reservist units iwll not be activated to take them out. regulars always go in first.

I think HOME TEAM needs up budget and SAF down budget.

This is what I feel so too.

we have various foreigners here....their culture to be frank VERY hard to change their habit etc...

in fact police over work....due to fast increase population.

You see crimes rate in fact up...leh this week for another wow 3 murder cases....

what in next for future???

So More budget will be on Home Team , instead so much on SAF.

just because we have world peace for the last 50-60 years doesn't mean its peace forever.

statistically speaking, this short period of peace time is only an exception rather than the general rule

ya, now chiu mention, ish true. world peace for too rong le. scare sumtink will happen lei

cannot cut saf la

keanteac

:s22:

we all know SG don't have nature resources.

Our food supply nearly 90 percent from various countries.

They just cut our food supply already can do damage to our country..WITHOUT even send their troops come invade our country.

If not mistaken USA now also slowly decrease their funding on Military. In USA their people are angry on their government that they spend huge fund on Military instead on education.

just recently if I not mistaken , China and Japan also decrease their funding on military.

Only South Korea increase due to North Korea issue.

Whereas on Europe they more busy on restructure their economics , etc issues.

In fact now globally they more on focus and concern more on terrorists treat.

LOL , we also can see ourselves ..look inside SAF those officer...., middle age to near retirement...everyday just walk around .., tea break ....canteen...officer mess drink beer..play pool...than knock off....

OETI lol if you go their canteen all semi retirement officers , CSM , etc look dam happy and relax...
If cut spending, where are the yearly pay increment and bonus come from ? Army also are human and have family. They got needs like everyone of us. They need to bring family go oversea trips like all of us.

Sent from Nokia 8210 using GAGT

Soulhacker

Anyone true blue sinkie who went through NS and has a good conscience will know and agree that there ish a lot of wastage in that organization so if really want to save $$$ ish possible one and can save a lot. Only higher mortals and their lackeys refuse to acknowledge so. :(

Infectant

Sometimes it is not about having the biggest tanks on the ground... Sometimes it is to 'pay tribute' to our amdk masters war industry... Lan lan gotta buy...

mirukuboi

cannot cut lah..

cut already ndp mobile column notch so naise to watch.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.