actually what's the biggest issue with the cross-border car ferry services?

Roid Rage

tiagong from the JB illegal drivers it was because some of the chao kuan ones went too far and tout passengers IN Singapore busstops/ customs etc. that directly affectrf local drivers' earningd. So local drivers buay song and reported them to LTA, hence the enforcements. So what I mean is that no big issue really, just jelly

But i don't think the services really affected. I just booked one for my long weekend staycation at Sheraton. Chartered limo is good. Don't need to endure jam. Don't need to worry about your car tio smashed

bobo07

tiagong from the JB illegal drivers it was because some of the chao kuan ones went too far and tout passengers IN Singapore busstops/ customs etc. that directly affectrf local drivers' earningd. So local drivers buay song and reported them to LTA, hence the enforcements. So what I mean is that no big issue really, just jelly

But i don't think the services really affected. I just booked one for my long weekend staycation at Sheraton. Chartered limo is good. Don't need to endure jam. Don't need to worry about your car tio smashed
When there is demand there is supply and when there is supply is very hard to stop this …..

Ethan_

Lack of cross-border insurance coverage?

Plus the fact that Malaysians have access to subsidised petrol, no COE and also earning $$ in a currency that's 3x stronger.
Think they also don't pay much tax or anything at all, since probably won't declare. Pure profit gao gao. Makan both sides.

ribena.bing

let me know if the driver kena caught

limo so obvious

if no caught, please pm me ah. i also wan reserve

batman_888

many

- they jump queue at causeway.
- no insurance, how to claim if got accident
- COE, foreign vehicle come here for transportation for work is only use within 1-2 hrs, it doesn't congest the roads
- also carbon emission
- affect local driver income like taxi and PHV
- might tarnish sg image of tourism if they misbehave toward foreign passengers, they can claim they singapore to tourists and tourist come here also don't know the difference of sg and my.
- petrol station no business if less taxi got business, taxi cannot go JB pump petrol

overall, just no responsibility of the JHK drivers if anything bad happen and these JHK wont owned up one

Crooni

ultimately is different law

point of border and 2 countries is different country want to do things differently, so have different laws

economically one side will benefit more than the other, and there's no conciliation if each country wants to do things differently

unless special law like economic zone or service conditions which both sides agree on

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.