Advice on Penang

SPEED

hihi! who has a complete list of good food die die must try list to share share =p
im so gonna eat myself to death there!

pls go eat the Chao Kway Tiao there
sibei power!!!

The aunty with a red hat one
i had it there and i tell u man... SG CKT no fight at all.

pohu

This one near the hotel right.. towards Penang road that direction...
My companions almost every meal ordered fried oyster.. their hum give so much like dun need money wan...

Nope, this kopitiam is towards the direction of Penang Plaza

8332_165869951729_513536729_2733435_3656222_n.jpg

This is the name of the Kopitiam just beside the New World Park

reflush

Hi all,

is the NSHW all the way connected from s'pore to penang?
or ... near KL need exit and enter highway again?

thanks for any info

applefreak

If 7 hours I think that's ok since I drove to Genting highland is about 5 to 6 hours. :s13:
if it takes you 5 to 6 hours to reach genting, then you won't reach penang in 7hours...

drove up to penang in august, and stopped at ipoh on our return
if you are driving, should include a stop over at ipoh :)

suangern

Hi all,

is the NSHW all the way connected from s'pore to penang?
or ... near KL need exit and enter highway again?

thanks for any info
NS Highway Nilai Utara interchange (should be able to see "ipoh" direction)-> Elite Highway (all the way until shah alam, should be able to see "ipoh" direction)-> NKVE -> Sungai Buloh -> NS Highway -> PG

the toll is until juru only, to cross pg bridge have to pay toll separately.

:s12:

reflush

Hi all,
About big place for rest and eat along NSHW from JB to penang, any guide (which km/ highway no/ sign) I should notice?
I mean no need to exit highway, something like petrol station but include restaurant, etc.

big place, maybe something like mac D or other fastfood?

thanks for any info

weehong21

Hi all,
About big place for rest and eat along NSHW from JB to penang, any guide (which km/ highway no/ sign) I should notice?
I mean no need to exit highway, something like petrol station but include restaurant, etc.

big place, maybe something like mac D or other fastfood?

thanks for any info

My advise for the stretch from Ipoh to Penang, is to stop when you se any major stops during that stretch. This is because every stop is about 1hr + away from each other. It unlike the JB KL stretch where u can have a stop every 15 mins drive.

I suggest u to stop at the Big A&W stop which is after Ayer Keroh. This is Big and nice:)

black_star

anyone tried buying prepaid card at penang and using it on their iphone? does it work?

Vismark

I will be going Penang on Novenber 19.
Will be staying at Sunway Hotel.
Anyway stay at that hotel before?
Is there any fun activity to do and place with delicious food de?
Will be going with my parents and relative

come_5

anyone stayed in ymca international or hotel mingood before? appreciate if you can give some feedbacks. thanks!

weehong21

I will be going Penang on Novenber 19.
Will be staying at Sunway Hotel.
Anyway stay at that hotel before?
Is there any fun activity to do and place with delicious food de?
Will be going with my parents and relative

Are u staying at Sunway Georgetown? if so, that is a very good hotel with superb street food opening in the evening. Every evening, there a 3 coffee shop open with street vendor along the road.

Take note that one coffeeshop is closed on Monday and the other coffeeshop on tuesday:)

Shopping ard komtar are nearby, within 15 mins walk. I am sure u will like the location if you like penang street food. I have stayed there all three time i was there:s12:

confused

Actually I am wondering which hotel to stay in penang. I am not a budget traveller, and would spend monies on good and nice hotel.

I am aiming for G hotel because its next to a capitaland mall and in front of gurney drive.

Are there better choices?

weehong21

Actually I am wondering which hotel to stay in penang. I am not a budget traveller, and would spend monies on good and nice hotel.

I am aiming for G hotel because its next to a capitaland mall and in front of gurney drive.

Are there better choices?

It really depends which are u want to be close to. If you want to be at gurney drive, G hotel is a good location.

If you want to be in Georgetown, u can try trader's hotel which is just next to Komtar.

Vismark

Are u staying at Sunway Georgetown? if so, that is a very good hotel with superb street food opening in the evening. Every evening, there a 3 coffee shop open with street vendor along the road.

Take note that one coffeeshop is closed on Monday and the other coffeeshop on tuesday:)

Shopping ard komtar are nearby, within 15 mins walk. I am sure u will like the location if you like penang street food. I have stayed there all three time i was there:s12:

Yup,I will be staying at Sunway Georgetown,or is there any other Sunway hotel there?=x
Cause I search the internet and I only saw that.
Lucky I is go from thursday to friday,so I think the 2 coffee shop will not affect me :)
And I'm glad to hear that there are street food around and shopping too :)

weehong21

Yup,I will be staying at Sunway Georgetown,or is there any other Sunway hotel there?=x
Cause I search the internet and I only saw that.
Lucky I is go from thursday to friday,so I think the 2 coffee shop will not affect me :)
And I'm glad to hear that there are street food around and shopping too :)

u will be surprise how close Sunway hotel is near to the street food. Its just like the coffeeshop under your HDB block...:s13::s13:.

That is why i always stay there when i am in Penang

hl_yeo

I travel by jetstar from 16-19 Nov and booked Tune hotel. It's cheaper and less crowded to travel during weekdays. I plan to explore the island for a few places like Penang hill, Kek Lock Si, spice garden and fruit farm. At night, can stroll at Pasir malam and gerney drive hawker fair. It's just for food and relax at this destination.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.