Advice regarding my debt problem

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

86technie

2015 was really a bad year for me, unable to find a proper
job which affected my income.
Previously I was working in a job for 2 years and held
a clean credit record.
Paying off my bills on time and utilizing most of their services
with three banks.

In total now I use credit facilities from four banks
and it goes like:
DBS - Total Credit Owned approx. $10k - Monthly repayment amount - $800
Citibank - Total Credit Owned approx. $10k - Monthly repayment amount - $800
OCBC - Total Credit Owned approx. $2.5k - Monthly repayment amount - $300
Standard chartered - $10k Monthly repayment amount - $300
(Just applied not long ago.)

For about a year how I cope with paying, I do balance transfer
from one bank to another.
However since I been jobless since this past March and there's
no income.

I recently got a temp job in July but ended in August as
I was fired.
During that time at the temp job I went to took a loan
so as to cope with my debt problem.

Balance my bill as it's been months without income
and it was hard on me.
When I was fired, that recovery money had to became
my jobless fund to tide me over.

Now my issue is how long can I live with this?
I'm not a credit defaulter seriously, I pay what I own.
It's just that I'm close to 30 years old, finding a "proper job"
is really like a dream.

I had been thinking when I find a new job, maybe
it's time for me to cut off all my credit facilities.
It's sad but for my situation, a guy that doesn't have
a stable job can forget about owning credit card.

I'm seriously stress out, living like this.

arigatoast

a clean credit record.
with three banks.

and it goes like:

no income.

I was fired.

and it was hard on me.

is really like a dream.

hmm. find your mp?

Xcert

a clean credit record.
with three banks.

and it goes like:

no income.

I was fired.

and it was hard on me.

is really like a dream.

I think fundamentally...U need to work out why are U not employed....dun even have to be at ur last drawn salary....any job...odd-job even...can do ur finances some help...

That is for the income part...then there is the expenses part....anything U can cut down?Any vices?

Talk to CCS.

Cut up all ur credit cards.

800+800+300+300=2.2K per month....considering how some people are paying 1.8K per month for HDB...it doesnt look that bad provided U stop sinking.

parchiao

I was fired.

1. Fired.

2. Temp job can get loan from bank.

CSB

Another thread with 5 digit owing debt.....
Go fishing for uncle polar bear lar. Sell fish by buckets to me sure earn 5 digits a month then can repay quickly.

Perisher

If close to 30 and can't find a job, it's not people think you are old, undergrad mostly 24ish... near 40 then age becomes an issue.
The problem lies with you and you need to wake up and not be choosy about jobs. Even the low paying ones, clear 1 debt is 1 debt less.

Consider declaring bankruptcy and go to the links people have shared above.

urban_closet

You mentioned 'dream job'. I hope you are not being picky in choosing your job - sometimes you need to start somewhere. At the very least get back into the groove of working.

You also mentioned you were fired from your part time role. Was this within your control? Did you act in a particular way that resulted in a negative impression? It might be time to review your performance and attitude and see how you can improve in that aspect.

What debts did you take on that required you to draw on loans from 4 banks? You had mentioned that you had a clean record quite recently. Did you buy something that you did not need? Can you sell that off and pay off some of the debt?

shareholder

Previously, you had a clean record. But when you lost your job, your debt increased to 32.5k in a short time. What was the reason that the debt increased, daily expenses or spending spree? It is important to know how you spend the money, because if it is a recurring expense or spending habit, it will be difficult to pay off.

Seannie

If close to 30 and can't find a job, it's not people think you are old, undergrad mostly 24ish... near 40 then age becomes an issue.
The problem lies with you and you need to wake up and not be choosy about jobs. Even the low paying ones, clear 1 debt is 1 debt less.

Consider declaring bankruptcy and go to the links people have shared above.

40 yrs old still can find job lar. Got so bad meh....

beri stupid idiot

Agrigatoast is right.

The idiot is also abit hungry as IMH removed teabreak and supper brnefits nowadays wor ~

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.