Advise on learning Thai

stacipher

Where can i learn Thai in SG?
I wanna learn how to read and speak thai.
Is self learning possible? :s11:

Many many thanks in advance! :D

Integra.TypeR

Online and go to thai joint based in singapore.

What basic you want to learn? Maybe i can help.

dee o pop gan mai.

stacipher

I guess learning to speak thai is pretty hard cause i mean like,different accent has different meaning though.
And i think to master it,one need to interact frequently with the native speakers.. :o

dee o pop gan mai stand for wut huh? :D

dennisleu

I guess learning to speak thai is pretty hard cause i mean like,different accent has different meaning though.
And i think to master it,one need to interact frequently with the native speakers.. :o

dee o pop gan mai stand for wut huh? :D

"phop gan" is too meet each other
"mai" means new
"phop gan mai" is colloquial for "see you again".

I don't understand nor recall the transliteration of "dee o"?

hesperus

ที่นี่มีคนเรียนภาษาไทยหรือ

Djinni

Try to google learning thai (i can't post links) and click on the first site that pops up.

Also check out books by Benjawan Poomsan Becker, her dictionaries and textbooks are very good.

Then again it depends why you want to learn lah. You want to sian char bor, dun need learn until so serious. If you are really serious, you need a good Thai grammar textbook, and learn the following:

Spoken:
1) tones (there are five tones in thai, as compared to four in mandarin)
2) the various sounds (bp sound, dt sound, ue sound) and long vs short vowels
3) basic vocab - actually you go Kinokuniya in Taka got this big section on learning many foreign languages, just pick up one or two. but i recommend Benjawan Poomsan Becker if you are really serious - just that you have to learn to read IPA (international phonetic alphabet) to use her stuff properly - it really isn't that hard.

Written: (if sian char bor this is really not necessary)
1) alphabet
2) grammar

suangern

mii khrab, koey rian, tae wa phom ton nii mai rian laew, pro waa ngan yung khrab. :s22:

After all, Thai is not as popular as Jap or Kor.

blastbl00

colloquially, just say jer garn will do...

สวัสดีครับ
คุณเรียนตัวเองหรือที่โรงเรียนคับ

blastbl00

it does amongst the learning process but mostly the lyrics are words not so often used in everyday life...

dennisleu

The proper sentence is "deaw phop gan mai"

There are 2 meaning to this sentence....something like "shall we meet" or "see you next time".

That's because the 'mai' are 2 different words (i.e. 'no?' and 'new') in both of your interpreted sentences.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.