Advise on the better path (Study)

SgJae08

Dear forumers,

I would like to seek advise from you.

This year I am 24 years old and had already ORD. I was rejected by NTU simply because I did not do enough research on the importance of choice which I thought I had. I had started working for almost a year. My GPA: 3.67 and I am looking into Computer Engineering or Computer Science.

Should I either:-
1) Continue to work for another year and re-apply NTU next year.
or
2) Take up a DL degree and go into the workforce.

First of all, Local cert or DL cert does not really play a part in my future success. Therefore I am not arguing or asking which will lead me to success. Instead, I am looking for advise on your opinon, which is a better path for you if you are in my shoe. It would be even better if you had went through the same route as me.

I would prefer going into option 1, reason being, my parents would be proud as my family do not have any university grad and they are not educated either and it is also part of my personal goal to get into NTU. DL is also Uni but they are familiar with local uni only (they only know of 2 uni, NTU and NUS). They had already suffered so much, I just wanna do something to make them proud. I was accepted into NTU last year but withdraw it because I have Financial problem with daily expenses. Therefore, I went into workfoce. This year, re-apply, unforunately got rejected. If I took this route, by the time, I graduated, I would be 29 years old and the risk is, I may not be selected for entry next year.

If I were to wait, what can I do to increase my chance for entry into NTU?
Does SAT helps to boost my chance?

For option 2, it is nothing much. Study and earn money.
Based on advise from my colleague, she advised me to take this path as we will never know what is coming up next, I may have other commitment which stops me from pursing degree or like I had just mentioned, I may not be selected to get into NTU. Study while you are young.

Would be better to seek more advise on this matter.
Can anyone advise me on it?

By the way, some may comment I should had work hard during poly. My only explanation is initially when I enter poly, I do not intend to further studies after graduating. As times goes, my mind set change and therefore trying my best to pull up my GPA.

Thanks in advance,
SgJae08

bubblegumcartel

I'd say DL since 1) you already started working and want to upgrade 2) you have had daily expenses issue.

To be honest, local is only beneficial for freshie grad, if you were to part time work and study, DL would be better especially if you need the money. I did a part time degree in SIM and most of my colleagues were already working professionals. After the degree, they wither got promoted or move on. Your degree only determines your first job, after that, its up to you to network and see how you manage the career

patryn33

If u needed the money best do part time
UniSIM, ntu offer part time EEE degree u can major in computer eng or do a GO8 program at Ngee Ann-Adelaide Education Centre (NAA)

Some longer then the other really depends on you, enter the work force and work on your degree part time

ping56

U r in the same dilemma as I used to be.
Whatever gone is gone.. No point keep holding onto it.
The most practical way will be continue working gaining exp while taking the degree part time. With exemption and depending on which sch, u may only need around 2 years only. If at any point of the time u can't cope, at least u would have enough money and have the flexibility to convert from part time to full time and vice versa. When u grad u would have experience too. Considering the age that u will be graduating, u r not very young anymore. And since your family has financial problems, I think it's better that u provide your parents with financial safety? Rather than just pursuing the name of the sch..

Jarlaxle

i think 2nd option is better.
self sufficient, u wont be an overaged freshie, 3 yrs of additional income and CPF to pay for house.

SgJae08

I'd say DL since 1) you already started working and want to upgrade 2) you have had daily expenses issue.

To be honest, local is only beneficial for freshie grad, if you were to part time work and study, DL would be better especially if you need the money. I did a part time degree in SIM and most of my colleagues were already working professionals. After the degree, they wither got promoted or move on. Your degree only determines your first job, after that, its up to you to network and see how you manage the career

Thank you for your prompt reply.

Now, I am more stable with my daily expenses and Finance gets better in my family.
I had started working for less than a year. Yes, I do agree with what you said. I am not looking for which degree that will lead me far but more for, if i have the above two option, which one will you recommend.
Appreciate for your honest suggestion :)

If u needed the money best do part time
UniSIM, ntu offer part time EEE degree u can major in computer eng or do a GO8 program at Ngee Ann-Adelaide Education Centre (NAA)

Some longer then the other really depends on you, enter the work force and work on your degree part time

Thank you for your recommendation. From my understanding, SIM full time programme only need to attend 3 hrs per day (correct me if i am wrong), if I took up this route and work part time, will it be better than work full time and study for 4 years when SIM only 3 years?

U r in the same dilemma as I used to be.
Whatever gone is gone.. No point keep holding onto it.
The most practical way will be continue working gaining exp while taking the degree part time. With exemption and depending on which sch, u may only need around 2 years only. If at any point of the time u can't cope, at least u would have enough money and have the flexibility to convert from part time to full time and vice versa. When u grad u would have experience too. Considering the age that u will be graduating, u r not very young anymore. And since your family has financial problems, I think it's better that u provide your parents with financial safety? Rather than just pursuing the name of the sch..

Hi! really thank you for your previous comment. Reason to hold on to local is because the smile from my parents when they knew I got in. But like you said, I have to practical. I believe you had a hard time during this period.Care to share beside time mangement, any other things i need to take note of?

go SMU or NUS

Sorry my grade does not allow me. :) But thanks for your suggestion.

a&w_rootbeerz

Thank you for your recommendation. From my understanding, SIM full time programme only need to attend 3 hrs per day (correct me if i am wrong), if I took up this route and work part time, will it be better than work full time and study for 4 years when SIM only 3 years?

I think he referring to UniSIM which offers only part time degree programs that are mostly meant for working adults. Not to be confuse between the local UniSIM and SIM. I think you will get more than half of govt subsidy if you enroll to UniSIM. But you are only qualified for the subsidy provided if you are working full time.

wargoku

Ok lah, to honest

I am a 25 years male, entering NTU this year

I go through ITE route and NS before I went to poly

I am 25 years old, after I grad I will be 29

I already know the price I have to pay, I may lose out in the job market

but my friend and family recommend me go NTU, in fact I gt offer from SMU and NTU, I choose NTU

but for case, I think u shld go part time studies, you shld not reject offer that time:) you know it is hard to get in NTU

bubblegumcartel

Normally, i would say local because after all, Singapore employers do discriminate against part time degrees. Bt to get the most out from local uni, and stand out from,the rest of your peer group, u will need to do funny things like cca, overseas exchange, Etc...

you sound like you merely want to make your parents proud by going into ntu. If its not for the degree and for the latter, i would definitely recommend part time degree with unisim. That way, u gain the working experience while studying. Its tougher than a studying in ntu full time also, since u have to manage your time and juggle work.

lets not talk about the 1% of local grads that went into juicy ib jobs. Most local grads will end up working alongside non local grads eventually. It really boils down to your attitude, and how u use every opportunity that comes to you...

SgJae08

i think 2nd option is better.
self sufficient, u wont be an overaged freshie, 3 yrs of additional income and CPF to pay for house.

Thank you for your suggestion.

Normally, i would say local because after all, Singapore employers do discriminate against part time degrees. Bt to get the most out from local uni, and stand out from,the rest of your peer group, u will need to do funny things like cca, overseas exchange, Etc...

you sound like you merely want to make your parents proud by going into ntu. If its not for the degree and for the latter, i would definitely recommend part time degree with unisim. That way, u gain the working experience while studying. Its tougher than a studying in ntu full time also, since u have to manage your time and juggle work.

lets not talk about the 1% of local grads that went into juicy ib jobs. Most local grads will end up working alongside non local grads eventually. It really boils down to your attitude, and how u use every opportunity that comes to you...

After thinking hard and self reflected, I feel that wanting to get into ntu for my parents is just part of an excuse. The major reason of wanting to go into ntu is myself. I always thought I can make my parents proud by going to NTU, indeed it can. But I forget that is myself that desperately aiming for NTU only. My Ego. Well, everyone is from different background. I should put all aside and choose the best path based on my situation.

Greatly appreciate for your suggestion on my problem.

Does employer also discriminate against Unisim which is local uni?

Unisim does offer full time degree today not they are just business.
SIM University Mobile Website

This route cost under $25k
http://www.unisim.edu.sg/admissions/Undergraduate-Admissions/Documents/Course Fee-Programme.pdf

NAA will cost u approx $20k
Ngee Ann-Adelaide Education Centre (NAA)

Thank you for sharing. Did not know about NAA. :) Looks like there is another alternative.

bubblegumcartel

I was under the impression local uni, as it stands now is ntu, nus and smu... Unisim up and though who knows what will happen in 4 years time.

but since u already recognise the fact that u want ntu for yourself. I would say go for it!

SgJae08

I was under the impression local uni, as it stands now is ntu, nus and smu... Unisim up and though who knows what will happen in 4 years time.

but since u already recognise the fact that u want ntu for yourself. I would say go for it!

Yes, I would like to go for what I want. But like you said, I should think of what kind of situation I am in right now. I will have to put my surrounding into consideration of my choice of study. Really thank you for your encouragement and suggestion. :)

bubblegumcartel

Bro, you only live once, so do what you like! If you think you cannot afford it this year, why not save up for another year then go for the degree in NTU.

Sure, you may lose out a few years of your life but what is just another year or 2 of waiting? NS also take up 2 years of your life liao. If you go for some part time degree now, 10, 20 years down the road, you will look back and regret that you never go NTU instead.

Just bite the bullet, and do what you always wanted. You'll be damn proud of yourself when you've achieve it.

SgJae08

Bro, you only live once, so do what you like! If you think you cannot afford it this year, why not save up for another year then go for the degree in NTU.

Sure, you may lose out a few years of your life but what is just another year or 2 of waiting? NS also take up 2 years of your life liao. If you go for some part time degree now, 10, 20 years down the road, you will look back and regret that you never go NTU instead.

Just bite the bullet, and do what you always wanted. You'll be damn proud of yourself when you've achieve it.

I had convince myself to look for alternative but your words made me in confusion. Ha! Because I need to take into consideration my border line result may not allows me to go NTU. Then it will be straight forward that I should just go for DL degree.

Yes, I really hope that I won't regret again and do the most 'right' decision now. :)

patryn33

boy i am confuse, if U wanna go NTU apply to both part-time and full time this yr.
whats the point waiting to see if U can get into full time NTU?
yes part time degree is 5yrs alot longer but it sure beats u waiting around yr after yr.
yes part time NTU does not offer computer sci or comp engineering but U can read EE and major in computer its kinda the same thing not much difference. my friends doing that also went on the same career as those who did comp sci or comp engineering at NTU.

bubblegumcartel

Agree with patryn. If you want NTU, just apply for both. Part time maybe even better still since u get to earn your keep while studying.

Dont need to think so much first, just apply and sit back for the results...

IAmZTX

with his level of decision making. I suggest don't apply any. Reason is because he hesitated at one

point. Let put it simple, you just want a degree to make your parents proud (that is normal). You

did not measure how it will affect you in the future. YOU and not others.

SgJae08

Agree with patryn. If you want NTU, just apply for both. Part time maybe even better still since u get to earn your keep while studying.

Dont need to think so much first, just apply and sit back for the results...

boy i am confuse, if U wanna go NTU apply to both part-time and full time this yr.
whats the point waiting to see if U can get into full time NTU?
yes part time degree is 5yrs alot longer but it sure beats u waiting around yr after yr.
yes part time NTU does not offer computer sci or comp engineering but U can read EE and major in computer its kinda the same thing not much difference. my friends doing that also went on the same career as those who did comp sci or comp engineering at NTU.

Thank you to both of you for the suggestion.
I am actually looking at the part time programme also. Like patryn had said, I do not want to waste time to get into full time school. The risk is there, and my result is not good at all.

with his level of decision making. I suggest don't apply any. Reason is because he hesitated at one

point. Let put it simple, you just want a degree to make your parents proud (that is normal). You

did not measure how it will affect you in the future. YOU and not others.

Thanks for the recommendation. Can you advise what I should do before actually I go back to study? You are right. I am not clear of what I really want and only wanted to make my parents proud. Mind to share some of your experience?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.