Advise on tri screen setup rig

angjds

Advise on tri screen setup rig less than $2k

Hi everyone, im a new to DIY desktop.I need advise and help in building a rig AS CHEAP AS POSSIBLE LESS THAN $2k.

The new desktop will be for gaming like BF4 @ High/Ultra Setting in either 1080p/1440p, 60Hz/120Hz (single monitor)(tri monitor in future)(not sure which setting is possible). Will be also doing programming(software and web development) and photoshop/video editing.

I came out with a list of component but i need advise on whether it works and suggestion on all component. I need advise on price and where to buy too.

Due to no $$$ but desire to get it so please advise on current setup and future upgrade. Thank You.

I will be using back my sonicgear speaker mouse and keyboard. My monitor in process of delivery - Qnix QX2710 LED Evolution ll DPmulti True10. Will use my back my current 4:3 monitor(VGA)(getting adapter if required) until i got $$$ to get 2 more Qnix or equivalent monitor. No need OS.

Mobo - MSI Z87-G45 Gaming -
Cpu - i5 4670k -
Gpu - 1 x MSI R9 280X GAMING 3G BF4 -
Casing - Corsair Obsidian 750D -
Cooler - Corsair H100i -
HDD - WD Blue 1TB -
SSD - Crucial M500 240GB /Samsung Evo 840 250GB - (not sure which but probably getting from amazon)
RAM - 8GB/16GB - (Avexir looks appealing. Blitz Gaming Dragon good?MPOWER?Core Series?)(need advise on getting 1600/1866/2133/2400Mhz)
ODD - Samsung ODD -
PSU - (not sure need how much power)(advise on PSU for xFire and non xFire)

All advise are welcome and Thanks in advance!=D

fockyerdod3r

Driving 3x 1440p monitor? I'm afraid you got insufficient budget for GPU. Need at least 2x R9 290.

shadow84

Since you got the QX2710, it means you decided on 1440p 60hz liao, as that model cant do OC to 120hz. So, a 290 would be required actually.

angjds

Is a R9 280x able to go at 1440p single monitor and 2 R9 280x at 1080p 3screen?
I wont be able to get 3 screen for now due to space constrain.I can only do so in a year time after my sibling shift out. I will consider on the R9 290.

shadow84

Is a R9 280x able to go at 1440p single monitor and 2 R9 280x at 1080p 3screen?
I wont be able to get 3 screen for now due to space constrain.I can only do so in a year time after my sibling shift out. I will consider on the R9 290.

You wan do 1440P + 1080p + 1080p???? Like that, your 1440p may be restricted to 1080p. Then, for what get 1440p.

280x can play games with 1440p, but not with good fps.

angjds

You wan do 1440P + 1080p + 1080p???? Like that, your 1440p may be restricted to 1080p. Then, for what get 1440p.

280x can play games with 1440p, but not with good fps.

I meant 1080p + 1080p +1080p gaming on 2 x r9 280x. 1440p gaming on a single r9 280x.

My tri screen setup is mainly for programming and multitasking.Watch movie. Will buy single gpu first then getting another gpu in the future to xfire.

shadow84

I meant 1080p + 1080p +1080p gaming on 2 x r9 280x. 1440p gaming on a single r9 280x.

My tri screen setup is mainly for programming and multitasking.Watch movie. Will buy single gpu first then getting another gpu in the future to xfire.

Erm, i presume you are getting just 1 rig? Once u install 2 gpu, both will be used. No such thing as setting 2nd card to 'rest' unless u go plug out the power connector.

Dun make your setup until so messy/confusing..

shadow84

Ok. I will go for r9 290. But what will the cost of the rig will be like?

More than $2k for sure.

i5-4670K + MSI Z87 G45 Gaming - $547
GPU - MSI r9 290 Gaming BF4 - $688
WD Blue 1tb - $81
Samsung evo 250gb - US$139.99/S$180 [amazon]
Avexir 2x4gb 1600mhz - $122
Samsung ODD - $25
750D - $259
H100i - $195
seasonic x850 (for xfire) - $235

Total: $2332, from PC Themes. Buy from tradepac at most save around $100-$150.

Optional: wins 7 HE 64-bit - $120.

Congrats to you, you are the first guy i bothered to help calculate the costs for.

royfrosty

Ok. I will go for r9 290. But what will the cost of the rig will be like?

Think carefully first. Do you wanna game at tri 1080p screen? or a single 1440p?

Cause from what i see since you bought the qnix and unable to oc to 96/110hz. A single r9 290 will do.

And for that you do not need a z87 board. This will reduce your grand total by a lot.

Going tri monitor will cost you more than 2k

angjds

Thanks shadow84

Think carefully first. Do you wanna game at tri 1080p screen? or a single 1440p?

Cause from what i see since you bought the qnix and unable to oc to 96/110hz. A single r9 290 will do.

And for that you do not need a z87 board. This will reduce your grand total by a lot.

Going tri monitor will cost you more than 2k

I cant really make my mind up. I was planning to like get a single R9 290 and play at 1440p single monitor. Tri screen can only be done a year later after my sibling shift out(space).

I would like to know what are the gpu require to play @1080p tri screen and @1440p tri screen.
Would the same single R9 290 perfrom at 1080p tri screen.
Would buying another R9 290 and xfire after a year able to pull out 1440p tri screen?

As for getting a Z87 mobo im not sure about it.

Yeah i probably increase my budget.

shadow84

And both need z87 mobo to fully utilise the speeds, and 850w psu to support as well.

Triple 1440p maybe need 2x 290x sia....

chaoswar

Since u hv buy a 1440p monitor, then buy a r9 290, when u get ur other monitor then buy another r9 290 xfire it,

angjds

Ok Thanks everyone for your advise. I will go with R9 290.

Current list
WD Blue 1tb - $81
Samsung ODD - $25
750D - $259
H100i - $195

For RAM, 1600,1866,2133,2400Mhz? Is there a big difference? Need 16GB? I will be using adobe suite , programming(software and web development) and gaming.

JustAnotherTroll

Ok Thanks everyone for your advise. I will go with R9 290.

Current list
WD Blue 1tb - $81
Samsung ODD - $25
750D - $259
H100i - $195

For RAM, 1600,1866,2133,2400Mhz? Is there a big difference? Need 16GB? I will be using adobe suite , programming(software and web development) and gaming.

1600mhz will do. 16gb.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.