小米AIoT路由器 AX3600

rainbow99

kinda confused with the following step, need to plug in a lan cable at this step insead of connecting wirelessly, as per in the previous steps? Thanks
8. SSH into OpenWrt from one of the LAN ports

newsera

Disable SSID under radio0. It's for IOT purposes. Its a 1x1 Radio. Does more harm than any good

Under radio 1, try this
Advanced Settings
Device Configuration
General Setup
Mode: AX <<<
Channel: choose 36/52/100/149 <<<
Width: 80 <<<
Maximum Transmit Power: driver default

Advanced Settings
Country Code: SG- Singapore <<<

Settings the country code is most important

under radio 2, try this
Advanced Settings
Device Configuration
General Setup
Mode: AX
Channel: choose 1/6/11 <<<
Width: 20 <<<

Advanced Settings

Save & Apply

zac110

kinda confused with the following step, need to plug in a lan cable at this step insead of connecting wirelessly, as per in the previous steps? Thanks
8. SSH into OpenWrt from one of the LAN ports
Yes I did all these while connected to the lan port of the router.

zac110

Disable SSID under radio0. It's for IOT purposes. Its a 1x1 Radio. Does more harm than any good

Under radio 1, try this
Advanced Settings
Device Configuration
General Setup
Mode: AX <<<
Channel: choose 36/52/100/149 <<<
Width: 80 <<<

Advanced Settings

Settings the country code is most important

under radio 2, try this
Advanced Settings
Device Configuration
General Setup
Mode: AX
Channel: choose 1/6/11 <<<
Width: 20 <<<

Advanced Settings

Save & Apply
I tried these settings but still not able to get a decent wifi link speed even next to the router, hopefully i did not mess up any other settings which affected it

zac110

sounds like hardware issue then
Just as a last check to confirm, how can I revert to the stock Chinese firmware?

Because I remember I was getting 600+ mbps on speed test when using it on the Chinese firmware before flashing openwrt.
Thanks for all the help!

zac110

would anyone be willing to help take a look at my ax3600? i think i may have messed up the config when setting up openwrt. 😵 i could send it over because i have no idea what to do next with this anymore

i1magic

would anyone be willing to help take a look at my ax3600? i think i may have messed up the config when setting up openwrt. 😵 i could send it over because i have no idea what to do next with this anymore

Maybe you can try this :

Do let us know if this works.

Good luck!

zac110

Maybe you can try this :

Do let us know if this works.

Good luck!

Thanks for sharing this! I am unable to do this as i only have access to the router via ssh and scp right now.

is there an ssh command to flash the following files?
"miwifi_r3600_firmware_5da25_1.0.17.bin" or "openwrt-ipq807x-generic-xiaomi_ax3600-initramfs-factory.ubi"

this line from openwrt no longer works as i have removed the partitions with the sysupgrade
ubiformat /dev/mtd13 -y -f /tmp/openwrt-ipq807x-generic-xiaomi_ax3600-initramfs-factory.ubi -s 2048 -O 2048 && nvram set flag_boot_rootfs=1 && nvram set flag_last_success=1 && nvram commit

i1magic

I encounter a problem recently.

The "Parental control", control when the internet of a device get turns on and off. Somehow, if my kids are playing Roblox, they will be able to continue to play pass the time I set that internet will be off.

Any of you encounter that? Got any solution?

i1magic

Thanks for sharing this! I am unable to do this as i only have access to the router via ssh and scp right now.

"miwifi_r3600_firmware_5da25_1.0.17.bin" or "openwrt-ipq807x-generic-xiaomi_ax3600-initramfs-factory.ubi"

this line from openwrt no longer works as i have removed the partitions with the sysupgrade
I think you can try to PM the "xiaofan" guy. See whether he has a solution.

Didn't see him here for a long time liao.

loganrunning

I encounter a problem recently.

The "Parental control", control when the internet of a device get turns on and off. Somehow, if my kids are playing Roblox, they will be able to continue to play pass the time I set that internet will be off.

Any of you encounter that? Got any solution?

what i did long, long time ago (when routers were very basic). set up AP, separate SSID, authenticate for "restricted users"

dun give password on main router.

put AP on power timer, and put timer out of reach/locked up.
hard off. no negotiations when timer cuts power.

i'm sure there are better (more elegant) solutions, but that worked for me back then.

i1magic

what i did long, long time ago (when routers were very basic). set up AP, separate SSID, authenticate for "restricted users"

dun give password on main router.

put AP on power timer, and put timer out of reach/locked up.
hard off. no negotiations when timer cuts power.

i'm sure there are better (more elegant) solutions, but that worked for me back then.
Wah! You really go all the way.

For my case, my kids know that they have to stop and sleep liao. I just need to schedule a reboot on the route to break the flow, they will go sleep liao.

Before this, I was using Asus router. Their parental control was crap. When I switched to Xiaomi AX3600, it was good, worked as it should. But dunno why Roblox is able to "prevent" the cut off.

loganrunning

Wah! You really go all the way.

For my case, my kids know that they have to stop and sleep liao. I just need to schedule a reboot on the route to break the flow, they will go sleep liao.

Before this, I was using Asus router. Their parental control was crap. When I switched to Xiaomi AX3600, it was good, worked as it should. But dunno why Roblox is able to "prevent" the cut off.

no lah, just at that time, use simple linksys router, parental controls very basic. simple solution with available parts did the job.

i'm not familiar with roblox, but i guess you need to investigate how it communicates, maybe different protocol? then see how the "blocking" or "internet switch off" is done.

i guess that's the attraction of a hardware solution. "hard" stop aka "hard" limit. :ROFLMAO:

newsera

This will work perfectly fine - https://openwrt.org/toh/xiaomi/ax3600#tftp_recovery

Download this file - http://cdn.cnbj1.fds.api.mi-img.com/xiaoqiang/rom/r3600/miwifi_r3600_firmware_5da25_1.0.17.bin and rename it as "C0A81F02.img". copy the same file and have another version with the file name as "C0A81F03.img"

If you are using Windows, Tftpd64 by Ph. Jounin works great. Make sure you Run as Administrator. Disable / Turn off any firewall used in the OS. (like Windows Defender)

Choose the right interface - 192.168.31.100 (your Ethernet must be hardcoded to this IP with subnet mask 255.255.255.0) before starting the process.

Dump the files to a directory and make sure it shows up when you click Show Dir

Click Settings > Global > Ensure TFTP Server, DHCP Server is checked along with the others.

Under TFTP, check Bind TFTP to this address - 192.168.31.100

Under DHCP, fill IP Pool start address as 192.168.31.2, Size of pool 2, Lease (minutes) 28800, Def. Router (Opt3) 192.168.31.1 Mask (Opt 1) 255.255.255.0 and Bind DHCP to this address - 192.168.31.100

Once this is in place, keep it running. Keep Pressing the reset button on your router and start powering it on. You would see an orange light. Continue to press until you start TFTP transferring the files. After that, you will see the blue light blinking. You are set then and you can reboot the router.

I have tested this personally and it works great. If it doesn't work, feel free tO DM me.

Lastexile

Is it worth the effort to root the router and install openwrt especially with the limitation mentioned below? The only reason why I am looking at OpenWRT is so that I can use modern VPN protocols on the router since the default firmware only supports L2TP and PPTP

• The sysupgrade command may fail due to a random issue of wpad not being effectively stopped while upgrading Openwrt. Stopping the wpad service with service wpad stop before doing the sysupgrade fixes the issue.
  • Ath11k memory: The ath11k driver needed for the main wireless radios uses a lot of memory when there are few stations connected and low bandwidth traffic flowing.
  • NSS acceleration: the Qualcom NSS hardware acceleration is not available and maybe never will be. There is a community effort to enable it in the forum but this does not guarantee that it will be officially supported in the future.
  • The IPQ807x target has not yet support for DSA, on OpenWrt: See this forum post. The regular DSA instructions on the mini tutorial do demonstrably work however; wireless interfaces need to be set up in the Network→Wireless section and then be bridged in their Interface Configuration→General Setup→Network menu to connect them to wired interfaces, and the contributor making this statement only uses tagged VLANs on the wired ports.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.