Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

lazykitty

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2001
Messages
117
Reaction score
0
Hi Bros,

Seeking help on aircon configuration for my living and dining room. My kitchen is open concept i.e. no door.
If i install aircon in the living and dining room, will it cool sufficiently with the open concept kitchen?

Lastly, what is the BTU i should get for the living (24k?) and dining room (12k?)?

https://photos.app.goo.gl/hhvLSfyjP26G3nJM9

Thank you.
 
Last edited:

mkaung2000

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
808
Reaction score
31
Was told dun have new units only old units with 3 months warranty. Quoted to install new units but retain piping lor. Not sure if advisable. Aircon is so headache
Oh. I thot you looking for 2nd hand.
I don't think new units are avilable.
Those 2nd hands with <5 years used should be OK, IMO.
 

yixiang1

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2003
Messages
5,436
Reaction score
5
Am I right to say, air con installer and repair is quite a lucrative business?
When I suspect the circuit from my fcu faulty, to change re-conditioned set, they charge me Abt $300. To change 2nd hand fcu, they charge like $500.

but when I replace Aircon, some room the fcu never use one, still silver fins, installer take in ‘free dismantle and disposal service’ foc. Later on they can reuse my fcu and sell like that.

my Aircon installer say no trade in, they ok to leave the condenser and fcu at my
Place if I have another house to install. Hmm..

Guess it’s just me. Their labor is also hard work.
 

GBC

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
16,725
Reaction score
409
Am I right to say, air con installer and repair is quite a lucrative business?
When I suspect the circuit from my fcu faulty, to change re-conditioned set, they charge me Abt $300. To change 2nd hand fcu, they charge like $500.

but when I replace Aircon, some room the fcu never use one, still silver fins, installer take in ‘free dismantle and disposal service’ foc. Later on they can reuse my fcu and sell like that.

my Aircon installer say no trade in, they ok to leave the condenser and fcu at my
Place if I have another house to install. Hmm..

Guess it’s just me. Their labor is also hard work.
Of course lucrative, if not why so many aircon companies around..
 

Lem_Koek_Far

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
2,266
Reaction score
222
Hello all

Planning to have Aircon for my bedroom (3rm flat),
Is it advisable to get a portable Aircon? As I'm concerned if the tube can be directed outside as my bedroom window are lourve window. TIA!
 

wongminmin

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
6,635
Reaction score
274
Am I right to say, air con installer and repair is quite a lucrative business?
When I suspect the circuit from my fcu faulty, to change re-conditioned set, they charge me Abt $300. To change 2nd hand fcu, they charge like $500.

but when I replace Aircon, some room the fcu never use one, still silver fins, installer take in ‘free dismantle and disposal service’ foc. Later on they can reuse my fcu and sell like that.

my Aircon installer say no trade in, they ok to leave the condenser and fcu at my
Place if I have another house to install. Hmm..

Guess it’s just me. Their labor is also hard work.
-their job is risky....climbing out the window, risking getting electrocuted.
-hard labor
-back injuries
-chemical hazard
-handle unreasonable customers.

not to mention, there are hundreds of aircon company in sg.....the competitive market and high operational costs also there.
 

wongminmin

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
6,635
Reaction score
274
Hello all

Planning to have Aircon for my bedroom (3rm flat),
Is it advisable to get a portable Aircon? As I'm concerned if the tube can be directed outside as my bedroom window are lourve window. TIA!
any window can install portable aircon. they just remove the window panel etc, and install their own panel.

Portable aircon is for those on rental or small room or layout doesn't allow aircon system.

i would rather u spent 1k+ to get aircon system 1. Portable aircon is noisy and cannot cool the whole room.
 

zumbra99

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Hi,
I would like to know what is the cause of this irregular noise from the internal unit - which seems like air flow is turbulent at times. At the time of the noise, the air coming out of the unit also drops.
Could someone have a look at this video and comment ?
As usual the service guys have only 1 solution to every issue - chemical cleaning for about 100 !!
Not sure if they are right about this ?
Thanks
www(dot)filedropper(dot)com/airconairflownoise20210521
or
easyupload(dot)io/os1ok1

Just last week or so, I had some issue where the internal unit was turning off by itself (its a Daikin unit, with U4 error). So the repair guys changed the whole external unit and also the PCB of the internal unit.
This noise started just after this repair. I thought maybe some filter was not placed properly causing this.
But general service/cleaning was just done today but the noise persists.

Thanks

anyone can advise - what could be the reason for this air noise ?
 

mkaung2000

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
808
Reaction score
31
Am I right to say, air con installer and repair is quite a lucrative business?
When I suspect the circuit from my fcu faulty, to change re-conditioned set, they charge me Abt $300. To change 2nd hand fcu, they charge like $500.

but when I replace Aircon, some room the fcu never use one, still silver fins, installer take in ‘free dismantle and disposal service’ foc. Later on they can reuse my fcu and sell like that.

my Aircon installer say no trade in, they ok to leave the condenser and fcu at my
Place if I have another house to install. Hmm..

Guess it’s just me. Their labor is also hard work.
Sure lucrative.
But, the problem is many of them are not honest and unskillful.
I engaged couple of them and got fed up.
Now, I do on my own, even topping up gas.
 

lovejetty

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Hi all, can I check which is better: armaflex class 0 or thermaflex class 0?
 

linxiaobei

Supremacy Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2009
Messages
6,062
Reaction score
0
Any comments in regards to the comparison of R32 vs R410a?

Probably just need system 2 as of now.
 

wongminmin

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
6,635
Reaction score
274
anyone can advise - what could be the reason for this air noise ?
cant see video.
filter won't affect much

u place ur palm infront of vane....from left to right.....feel the airflow...

if ur airflow is inconsistent, then something is blocking the airflow...require chemical wash.
else is something not installed properly.
 

wongminmin

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
6,635
Reaction score
274
Any comments in regards to the comparison of R32 vs R410a?

Probably just need system 2 as of now.
see your preference ba.... In Malaysia R32 are commonly used.
In Sg, only toshiba and daikin got r32

some said r32 cool faster, energy saving, compressor quieter and future proof.

my previous worries about r32 were limited choices and limited trained r32 technician in sg market....so i went for r410a. but certainly i will try r32 if there are more available options in the future market.
 

XiaoFu99

Master Member
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
2,727
Reaction score
56
Anybody know whether those old 3 room (1970s) with no aircon ledge like today BTO, can they install a system 4? Single outdoor compressor supporting 4 indoor unit. 2 units @ living room and 1 unit each for each bedroom.

Thanks
 

luv_boa

Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
5,808
Reaction score
6
Any other big aircon installers to recommend? I only heard of gain city..
 

ke3bbs

Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
176
Reaction score
3
Does Toshiba have system 4 for their R32 youme models?

Was looking around some websites and don't see the system 4 options
 
Last edited:

harky

High Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
49,348
Reaction score
318
guy.. i new to aircon..

want to get system 2 but dunno which to get? and can ask who to install?


$2200 Mitsubishi Starmex 2g20va2 5 Ticks System 2, 2×9000btu

this ok ma?
 
Last edited:
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top