Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

ZacharyA

I noticed mega discount is cheaper
are their contractor reliable?

Premium Installation Package (Applicable for NEW HDB Installation only)
Installation with 0.5 inch CLASS "0" K-FLEX Insulation (Top grade pipe insulator)
Installation with Grade SWG 22 (0.71mm) copper piping (Thick wall copper pipes)
Installation with uPVC 16mm drainage pipe
Dismantle & dispose old air-con system
1 year workmanship installation warranty

Price stated applies to Standard HDB (Residential) basic installation ONLY, with the standard piping length given. Additional charge applies for longer pipe run.

Price excludes Stainless-Steel Bracket & PowerPoint.

Additional charges apply for private properties, condos & commercial houses due to the size of the house/building & complications of pipe run.

Any other additional work services such as cutting & patching of false ceiling etc are chargeable.

Never used them before, maybe you can check if they have in-house installers / outsource. If it's the latter, ask for the contractor name and do a google review search?

ZacharyA

Yeah if 1 sway or alibaba installer but company is reputable, you can sill chase the company.

If company has been around for a long time and is reputable, even if 1 of the installer team cock up, they will take full responsibility and rectify it, maybe sending another team down to rectify.

So don't always go for the cheapest one, sometimes they might be prove to be costlier long term

Fellowes

I’m currently deciding between these two options, as my Hitachi System 3 (only 5 years and 6 months old) has been giving me issues:

1. Mitsubishi Electric Starmex System 3
– 2x 9K BTU (MSXY-FP10VG) + 1x 12K BTU (MSXY-FP13VG)
– Upgraded outdoor unit: MXY-4H33VG

2. Panasonic XU Series System 3
– 2x 9K BTU (CS-XU9XKZW) + 1x 12K BTU (CS-XU12XKZW)
– Upgraded outdoor unit: CU-4XU33YBZ

For those who’ve installed either of these, I’d like to hear your opinions on the brand reliability, ease of maintenance, and long-term durability.

I’m aware that Panasonic XU Series is the newer model release in Singapore these few months, featuring built-in WiFi, while the Mitsubishi Starmex lineup has remained largely unchanged over the years with no newer model being release.

As for the installation team, I understand it plays a huge role but that’s really down to luck. Most likely, I’ll be going back to GC for my upcoming aircon replacement.

The_King

Sian I think my aircon leaking gas due to Corrosion cause I saw a few drop of oil on the fcu

I wonder how much will how much the repair is or replacement is

My guess if it Corrosion, replaced whole set will be better

Alphas

Why would there be oil on the FCU, which part of the FCU?
My Daikin system 4 already on year 7, still running smoothly.

The_King

Why would there be oil on the FCU, which part of the FCU?
My Daikin system 4 already on year 7, still running smoothly.
i think it fan coil dirty. i smell that thing a bit of mold, and metal smell

i wash later and update in 1 to 2 week times

The_King

contact them liao they read the message but no reply, maybe is weekend, if no reply tml by 12 i think i call starmex to check safer

The_King

Sian I think my aircon leaking gas due to Corrosion cause I saw a few drop of oil on the fcu

I wonder how much will how much the repair is or replacement is

My guess if it Corrosion, replaced whole set will be better
Update:

AC com just check. In short they say it base on his exp and case he habdle, the yellow water droplet is due to the side of the coil rust and condensation that causes a few drop blow by the blower to the case

He also check the gas and pressure say everything normal which take 10 to 15min to run in order to check

The_King

Having use the ac for 2 yr Liao.

I guess I no longer getting 15 or 18k btu liao.

My reason, when I at home I usually switch on at 745pm and on all the way till 1 to 5pm the next day which I switch on this way at least 3times per week

25c at speed 3
At any times I dont feel warm or why ac not cold enough in the afternoon when it the hottest.

Another my old reason, stronger btu I can switch to 18c or 21 if I like. Use 2 yr liao other then testing, I have never set other temp, 25c is cold enough

I can do that with dual 12k av but there no reason I need to set lower temp other then 25c at most I use stand fan to direct the cold air to the other parts of the room

Now me think, get the right size btu, for me is 12k( take 8 to 16min to reach fcu temp, the 2 led light) then save the cash for future replacement instead.

I view ac not as lasting as last time. I ask my company ac vendor and my home ac tech, same question, all say not as lasting as before

BTW 12k to 18k is around 620 difference, add another 900 got a new 12k btu ac liao

orlengtao

any reliable installer? I dont want to roll dice with some random stall or retailer. My gain city one leak gas after 6 years. Really not worth to fix it and intent to change the whole system 3.
Suspected is installer nv do properly, the workmanship resulted in the aircon leakage

orlengtao

Any good aircon installation company to recommend as usually most go will go for GAIN CITY, Courts and Best Denki.

No idea why but the 5 years old hitachi indoor unit when using at Auto Fan and its reduce fan to speed 2 after cooling the room, it will have a howling wind sound until I choose to manually reduce fan speed to fan 1 or increase to fan speed 3 or 4. It’s getting on my nerves, Hitachi Aircon cannot buy.

It’s outdoor compressor also spoilt twice when installed from 2020 till today 2025, lucky bought the extended warranty from gain city, if not gg.
did you found any? my previous one also from gain city

hkchew03

any reliable installer? I dont want to roll dice with some random stall or retailer. My gain city one leak gas after 6 years. Really not worth to fix it and intent to change the whole system 3.
Suspected is installer nv do properly, the workmanship resulted in the aircon leakage
If workmanship is really that bad, it probably would not have lasted 6 years.

orlengtao

If workmanship is really that bad, it probably would not have lasted 6 years.
Don't know leh, I am just fed up.

Gain city told me pressure test is $400, if is internal trunking leak, need change the trunking 1.4k, still got pump gas fee. All add up I might as well buy new aircon liao

The_King

that why my last post fear of all these, all these repair add up so much yet cannot fix the issues but already say paid $400 to $500, might as well just replace it, if i know i going to spend that amount to repair a >4yr old system

long story short, it called planned obsolescence

orlengtao

that why my last post fear of all these, all these repair add up so much yet cannot fix the issues but already say paid $400 to $500, might as well just replace it, if i know i going to spend that amount to repair a >4yr old system
So what installer did you previously go with? Can probably avoid lol... Anyway anybody got good lobang for installer, trusted one

The_King

So what installer did you previously go with? Can probably avoid lol... Anyway anybody got good lobang for installer, trusted one
dm you

my long story short, it called planned obsolescence

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.