Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

Status
Not open for further replies.

MightyPigeon

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
452
Reaction score
0
I am considering between a 9k BTU and 12k BTU for a normal size bedroom. Which one saves more money in the long run in terms of power bill?

Assuming that I on for 10 hours a day on 24 degrees. I dont need to cool the room rapidly, just want to balance my comfort with the cost i am paying
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To MightyPigeon,

If ur room is < 15 square metres, 9k is sufficient.
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
I am considering between a 9k BTU and 12k BTU for a normal size bedroom. Which one saves more money in the long run in terms of power bill?

Assuming that I on for 10 hours a day on 24 degrees. I dont need to cool the room rapidly, just want to balance my comfort with the cost i am paying

9k btu starmex on 25c sure very comfort for you.
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
Installed a brand new system 1 by Gain City 2 weeks ago.

Model: Mit Electric StarMex 12K

Today morning woke up and found a small part of the pipe/trunking with condensation although it didn't drop on the floor but I smell trouble coming up.

AC is still very powerful though. I set it to 19 Degree to sleep didn't notice any difference since day 1. Still as cold.

Gave Gain City a call today and they will be sending down a technician to do a check on 291214.

Very disappointed. AC is only 2 weeks old only and it is giving this kind of problem :(

Material used for installation all is upgraded

Armaflex - 1/2
UPG Copper - G22
Drainage Pipe 16mm

Inverter it kind couldn't over cooling as below 20C, then you force the compressor runs till non stop and the water dripping inside the trucking could be created bad smell on water, that is normal.

If you can open the trucking and cut smaller piece of rubber foam inside all are water, store all water can be use as a hose already, lol
 

aceone10

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
278
Reaction score
4
Inverter it kind couldn't over cooling as below 20C, then you force the compressor runs till non stop and the water dripping inside the trucking could be created bad smell on water, that is normal.

If you can open the trucking and cut smaller piece of rubber foam inside all are water, store all water can be use as a hose already, lol


I had been poisoned by England.
 

Cantona

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Toshiba Air Con

Hi,

Any one used Toshiba air con before? Is it good?

For trunking, anyone knows if the drilling can be done in the reinforced walls (not the partition walls)?

Thanks in advance!
 

chiqing

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
Paid deposit to Best Tech last weekend and now very worried after seeing so many bad reviews on them.

Need some advise from you guys:

1. Mitsubishi Starmex or Toshiba? (Saw some advise is Toshiba is actually overpriced?)

2. Free update to Yamato 3/8 Piping. (Should i request to change to Armaflex insulation instead?)
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
Hi,

Any one used Toshiba air con before? Is it good?

For trunking, anyone knows if the drilling can be done in the reinforced walls (not the partition walls)?

Thanks in advance!

Aircon man they will tell you where can't drill.
 

jasonho26

Master Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
4,617
Reaction score
2
Hi Terumo

Appreciate if you can advise:

1) what are the various amp points available and charges? What is it for or rather how does it equip to which ever system?

2) what is the differences between Mitsubishi Heavy industries vs Starmex?

Many thanks!

MHI is a separate company vs mit electric. they have its own R&D and independent. in some country MHI advertise as its own brand " MHI" and in some country know as " beaver". The aircon are made in Thailand.
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To chiqing,

Mit Electric is more value for money compared to Toshiba.

I will prefer Armaflex. Seems like Yamato, only certain companies are using.

Even most aircon materials supplier are not selling it.
 

chiqing

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
To chiqing,

Mit Electric is more value for money compared to Toshiba.

I will prefer Armaflex. Seems like Yamato, only certain companies are using.

Even most aircon materials supplier are not selling it.

Thanks. So Armaflex the normal 3/8" is ok? Or upgrade to 1/2" is better?
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To chiqing,

1/2 is neccessary if your piping is hidden.
If in trunking, its good to have.
 

RSKeisuke

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2000
Messages
24,576
Reaction score
190
Need help troubleshooting my aircon system.

Mitsubishi starmex
Indoor unit turned on, but fan stops after about 1 min with the ops top led flashing, bottom led off.

What could be the problem? The 2 other split units work without problem.
 

kimsim

Suspended
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
0
Need help troubleshooting my aircon system.

Mitsubishi starmex
Indoor unit turned on, but fan stops after about 1 min with the ops top led flashing, bottom led off.

What could be the problem? The 2 other split units work without problem.

Try to remove air vent up & down, after put back and test again.
 

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To RSKeisuke,

I duh tink its the vents issue, if vent is loose, fan will not work @ all.

Should be a pcb or wiring issue.
 

RSKeisuke

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2000
Messages
24,576
Reaction score
190
Tried the vents, fault persist.
May be the thermistor..

Any idea how much is the thermistor?
 

nervcore

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
Need advice - Purchase new aircon

Hi everyone and AC Gurus!

My old compressor up lorry liao and also a bit crazy liao. Looking at buying a new AC system.

Can anyone give advice? A few considerations:

1) Need aircon in 3 rooms:
Master Bedroom (MBR): 15.95 sqm
Bedroom 1 (BR1): 11.10 sqm
Bedroom 2 (BR2): 10.90 sqm

(MBR and BR1 has afternoon/evening sun, so the wall can get quite hot)
(MBR and BR2 likes cold temperature, somewhere around 22-23 deg celsius)

2) Looking at Daikin brand, its currently the better brand out there right? I believe we will also need it to be inverter based, since we use it for quite long hours, around 9pm - 6am on weekdays

3) Upgrades that we need? Read from Aircon Guru blogspot *Thanks Terumo!
a) Since R22 phasing, should we get R410A gas aircon?
b) Copper Pipes: Minimum is G23, but can HDB use G22 or G21??
c) Insulation:
3/8 Thickness (is there any difference between Class 1 and Class 0?)
What is the better brand to use? Armaflex?

3) What are the more recommended aircon installer that has better reputation on workmanship?

Thanks!

:Edit

Ideally would prefer for the condenser unit to have enough BTU to support operation of all 3 units.
 
Last edited:

terumo

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2004
Messages
1,900
Reaction score
0
To nervcore,
1. All 3 rooms 9k btu is enough.
2. Inverter will be good.
3a. All brands inverter only have r410a gas
3b. G22 is good to have. G21 is for commerical usage usually.
3c. IMO, not much difference. The class rating is for heat properties.
Armaflex is good & commonly used by aircon companies.

Take a 27k btu condensor will do.
For Daikin 3mks71esg or 4mks80esg.
 

nervcore

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
306
Reaction score
0
To nervcore,
1. All 3 rooms 9k btu is enough.
2. Inverter will be good.
3a. All brands inverter only have r410a gas
3b. G22 is good to have. G21 is for commerical usage usually.
3c. IMO, not much difference. The class rating is for heat properties.
Armaflex is good & commonly used by aircon companies.

Take a 27k btu condensor will do.
For Daikin 3mks71esg or 4mks80esg.


Hi Terumo, thanks for the advice, but I'm a bit confused looking at c***serve website,

When I click at the "set" to look at details and price breakdown, I see:
FTKS25DVM (QTY:3)
Capacity BTU/hr : 8530

But from the outside page before I click on the "set" details they quoted "8,188 x 3 Btu/hr" so which is the actual BTU for that unit?

Unfortunately, none of their sets have 9k BTU/hr, if the actual BTU per fan coil is 8530, does the 470 BTU make a lot of difference?

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top