Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

terumo

To troller,

No need to leave it on for a few hrs before u on the aircon.

The few hrs u mentioned is for bigger capacity units > 45k btu.
But now, they have a heating element inside to speed up the process instead... :)

No worries...

maxicoolservices

Hello TROLLER,

From my understanding heater is usually found in some industrial aircons or some units with very large BTU or aircons in cold climate. Personally I have not come across heater for the smaller residential models here so far.

If you refer to your aircon operating instructions manual, you might notice that they usually indicate turning off the breaker/main when the unit is not used during long periods of time and what to do to prepare the unit for use again after long periods of turning off. I would supposed that if it is necessary to put it on standby for 5-6 hours to prevent damage to the compressor, the manual should indicate. Hence best to check the manuals just in case.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham

Hi bros,

from what I understand from researching, if compressor is switched off at the main db, you need to switch it on and on standby for 5-6 hours before you can switch on the fan coil, otherwise compressor might spoil? Is that correct?

I believe the standby power is to keep a heater inside the compressor operational to prevent the refrigerant etc from becoming too viscuous to flow and damage the compressor. Noob here. Please enlighten if possible.

leongws

Hi, I currently encounter some issue with my room split unit aircon.

Don't really know how to explain by words. What happen is the air coming out from the blower(think it is call fan blower? Cylinder shape one)should be cold air from left to right, across the length of the air blower. However, since last week, I encounter my room take too long to feel cold as compared to previously.

I used my hand to feel the air coming out from the blower and found that the air blowing out are sort of intermittently from the left till center of the blower, sometimes got air sometimes no air. Cold air is blowing out all the time normally from center till right side. As the blower is turning as a whole, i find it strange that this happens.

Can anyone suggest what happened? Not enough gas or dirt build up? It has been about 5 years since i last service the aircon. Also any highly recommended air con service guy to introduce and price range for gas top + cleaning? Scare kena chop by any random guy. Thanks in advance.

Nakedtoes

Don't really know how to explain by words. What happen is the air coming out from the blower(think it is call fan blower? Cylinder shape one)should be cold air from left to right, across the length of the air blower. However, since last week, I encounter my room take too long to feel cold as compared to previously.

I used my hand to feel the air coming out from the blower and found that the air blowing out are sort of intermittently from the left till center of the blower, sometimes got air sometimes no air. Cold air is blowing out all the time normally from center till right side. As the blower is turning as a whole, i find it strange that this happens.

Can anyone suggest what happened? Not enough gas or dirt build up? It has been about 5 years since i last service the aircon. Also any highly recommended air con service guy to introduce and price range for gas top + cleaning? Scare kena chop by any random guy. Thanks in advance.
Wah yr case same as mine..

maxicoolservices

Hello Leongws,

Based on description chances are the coils and blower is clogged with dirt which is why the cooling efficiency is reduced. As dirt builds up at the blower and coils, air emitted becomes intermittent and sometimes the unit will start to have some sort of a "whooshing" sound as the air is blocked by the dirt during emission. Depending on the actual condition of your unit, a chemical procedure might be necessary.

As it has been 5 years since you had last serviced your unit, now is a good time to contact your contractor to have them do a check and from there they should be able to advise what is the actual fault and if a chemical procedure is really necessary. Otherwise what would be the best way to resolve this.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham

leongws

Wah yr case same as mine..

So u got it solve?

Hello Leongws,

Based on description chances are the coils and blower is clogged with dirt which is why the cooling efficiency is reduced. As dirt builds up at the blower and coils, air emitted becomes intermittent and sometimes the unit will start to have some sort of a "whooshing" sound as the air is blocked by the dirt during emission. Depending on the actual condition of your unit, a chemical procedure might be necessary.

As it has been 5 years since you had last serviced your unit, now is a good time to contact your contractor to have them do a check and from there they should be able to advise what is the actual fault and if a chemical procedure is really necessary. Otherwise what would be the best way to resolve this.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham

Hi Jason, I have tested my other 2 rooms(seldom turn on) and both are blowing out cold air consistently, unlike my room which i have describe. Therefore, i believe it is as u say that the coils and blower are clogged with dirt which is why the blowing is intermittent & its cooling efficiency is reduced.
So for this case, is it consider a need for chemical cleaning for the unit for my room or a general cleaning will do? Maybe u can PM me what u suggest and also how much it will cost. The aircon is Panasonic brand. Thanks

Jhyun

Thinking of replacing my old air-con(about 14 years) system at my home. Any good vendors to recommend? Probably need an on site inspection since I'm not too sure what to use either...

aunty lucy

To aunty lucy,

I will like to ask u a few questions.

1. Do u own a Toshiba aircon?

2. I did mentioned blinking is normal for Toshiba, but i didnt mentioned no blinking is spoil.
For Toshiba, if operation light is blinking, it can be normal.

Aircon will not blink for fun. (I am not sure, got to ask the aircon if they will blink for fun... :) )

I am certainly not a noob, (@ least not to the few ppl here in the forum which i have provided some advice or opinion on aircon matters @ least)

Pls do not come here & stir ****.
This is a place for us to learn from each other on aircon matters.

& if u are uncomfortable with Jason using those normal book shop invoice, then pls do not engage his services.
terumo

1) yes I own a Toshiba air con ....so do u got any Toshiba air con ?

2) Toshiba air con Blinking can be cos of air con filter dirty or air con is dirty . noob

3) if u need to help anyone in here , why not u can type this website ( Aircon Service Singapore - The aircon mold control specialist and professional aircon repair services) for them .

I already don't engage maxicoolservices services , cos Jason using not standerd invoice . why u so KPO ???

Fyero92

I just had my air con newly installed by sin hou engineering system,

MXY3A28VAR7 , MSYGE10VAR2 X 3

total was 3160.

Got tio carrot not?

ChinTuaKi

I just had my air con newly installed by sin hou engineering system,

MXY3A28VAR7 , MSYGE10VAR2 X 3

total was 3160.

Got tio carrot not?

wah! this is very very cheap right??

Edited: oh sorry....I ssaw wrongly, I tot is System 4....

ChinTuaKi

To Fyero92,

If its using upgraded materials, the price is quite reasonable.

Hi Terumo and all the experts here....

I have a Toshiba Sys 4 for about 10 years and one of the fan coil pcb spoilt with the master bedroom's fan coil not working every now and then...

I am now considering changing the whole system but keeping existing piping, trunking due to concealment....

Have been looking at Mit Starmex
- MXY-4A28VA
- MSY-GE10VA X 3
- MSY-GE24VA

Have a few quotes and a price from 2011(sis-in-law's home):
1) 2011 Dec - Contractor GC $3719

2) Contractor GC online - $4029

3) Contractor CS online - $4055

Is this price reasonable??

Current contractor servicing my aircon quoted me $4100+ (excluding GST) for 2 X MSY-GE10VA / GE13VA / GE24VA, which i intend to get this confirguration.

=》CS = $4,162
=》GC = $4079

Noob in aircon, so are these prices ok? kena chopped?

The salesgirl of the current contractor said she will try to ask his boss to waive off the GST.

Should I save 100-200 bucks and get from GC(or any other contractors)or spend a bit more and get from my usual servicing agent, of which the same service guy knows my current system in and out and we are very comfortable with him...?

or should i wait till Dec sales and go down to the shops to get new quotes before committing?

Sorry, for long post, noob but dun wanna be chopped esp with 3 kids, every dollar counts now...:o

Thanks for advice :)

stoopidbin

Hi Terumo and all the experts here....

I have a Toshiba Sys 4 for about 10 years and one of the fan coil pcb spoilt with the master bedroom's fan coil not working every now and then...

I am now considering changing the whole system but keeping existing piping, trunking due to concealment....

Have been looking at Mit Starmex
- MXY-4A28VA
- MSY-GE10VA X 3
- MSY-GE24VA

Have a few quotes and a price from 2011(sis-in-law's home):
1) 2011 Dec - Contractor GC $3719

2) Contractor GC online - $4029

3) Contractor CS online - $4055

Is this price reasonable??

Current contractor servicing my aircon quoted me $4100+ (excluding GST) for 2 X MSY-GE10VA / GE13VA / GE24VA, which i intend to get this confirguration.

=》CS = $4,162
=》GC = $4079

Noob in aircon, so are these prices ok? kena chopped?

The salesgirl of the current contractor said she will try to ask his boss to waive off the GST.

Should I save 100-200 bucks and get from GC(or any other contractors)or spend a bit more and get from my usual servicing agent, of which the same service guy knows my current system in and out and we are very comfortable with him...?

or should i wait till Dec sales and go down to the shops to get new quotes before committing?

Sorry, for long post, noob but dun wanna be chopped esp with 3 kids, every dollar counts now...:o

Thanks for advice :)

Last week, I went to Gain City and was quoted System 4 $4100 for Mis StarMex and $4400 for Toshiba. Toshiba is slightly more exp because the parts for motor was from Japan. Thinking of going down to the Gain City Expo this weekend and see if there is a better deal.

Nakedtoes

So u got it solve?

Hi Jason, I have tested my other 2 rooms(seldom turn on) and both are blowing out cold air consistently, unlike my room which i have describe. Therefore, i believe it is as u say that the coils and blower are clogged with dirt which is why the blowing is intermittent & its cooling efficiency is reduced.
So for this case, is it consider a need for chemical cleaning for the unit for my room or a general cleaning will do? Maybe u can PM me what u suggest and also how much it will cost. The aircon is Panasonic brand. Thanks

Finally solve my problem. I use to work as air con tech before during poly days. My current aircon is mitshubishi starmex abt 9 years old. Just open up the aircon and vacuum sucks the fan blades and clean the whole aircon. Done. Now aircon works like new. Remember to off main switch before u dismantle the aircon. Lucky starmex is super simple.Mitsubishi Electric -
Cleaning your Aircon within…: http://youtu.be/y5zHXAmoEcQ

SG_Jimmy

Any ppl here using LG Artcool ? Im thinking of taking the risk for the aircon design :o

worcer

Need recommendations.

Recently my aircon leak water. I tried to clean it by sucking the water out from the pipe behind the aircon. As the pipe were behind, I open up and clean it. Then I notice the Fridgant(feon) rubber piping is coming out gas(cold). Then after I fixed back, the aircon cannot get cold liao.

Now I think my aircon pipe leak(conceal)... Should I repair or replace the aircon? I believe this aircon to be above 10 years liao.

C32B

The antique ones.. Who still using the National branded aircon ? Forget the model number though. :D

terumo

To worcer,

Best to check someone to check if not cold is due to gas issues.
Best to replace all piping direct or do a pressure test to determine status of piping before replacement.

maxicoolservices

Hello Worcer,

Was your aircon cold before you did the self cleaning?
Based on description, it could be possible that during the cleaning process, you could have accidentally damaged the copper piping joint behind the unit which results in gas leakage. As your unit is at least 10 years of age, it could be relatively fragile, more susceptible to damage hence extra caution is required during handling.

I do agree with Terumo that it would be best that you have your contractor come up to do a check to determine the exact cause before doing any piping replacement.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham

Need recommendations.

Recently my aircon leak water. I tried to clean it by sucking the water out from the pipe behind the aircon. As the pipe were behind, I open up and clean it. Then I notice the Fridgant(feon) rubber piping is coming out gas(cold). Then after I fixed back, the aircon cannot get cold liao.

Now I think my aircon pipe leak(conceal)... Should I repair or replace the aircon? I believe this aircon to be above 10 years liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.