Asakura

so this thread is actually watched by some taobao group in fb lol

WussRedXLi

so this thread is actually watched by some taobao group in fb lol

Coz lots of info mah......also it's consolidated.
Serves as a good basis for searching on both EDMW and google, just a matter of whether you have the correct keyword to search or not. :s13:

WussRedXLi

I think this thread's info on the personal laser particle meters got leaked out via Facebook , coz that platform can cross share across so many grps of people so fast and so easily. :s13:

Forums are really old-school. Who the fish bothers with BBS/forums nowadays anyway....esp the youngsters (except during school hols) lol

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/faq-on-the-singapore-haze/2128464.html

I've seen social media accounts saying they have the "real haze levels". Are they the real deal?

NEA says there are members of the public who use handheld devices to measure air quality in Singapore, which may not be accurate.

It adds that there are many ways of calculating air quality around the world, as there is no singular international air quality index. Hence, it is best to check NEA's website, Twitter account or refer to the myENV app for accurate PSI and PM2.5 readings, the agency says.

testerjp

Here is a test report in a China home (!!), with a usd 3k meter.
http://particlecounting.tumblr.com/post/105818344169/does-carbon-really-work
In this case, my scientific curiosity cost me $3,542 for this Industrial Scientific Ibrid MX6. It detects VOCs, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, and nitrogen dioxide. It uses a photo-ionization detector to measure VOCs from 0-2,000 parts per million with a resolution of .1.

tumblr_inline_ngg3njKnyS1s4lgm1.png

The guy in the article is selling their own air purifier, is it a good buy?

http://smartairfilters.com/en

WussRedXLi

The guy in the article is selling their own air purifier, is it a good buy?

http://smartairfilters.com/en

Some of us tried before with similar fans. It's very loud be it for bedroom or living room use, really not for long term use. Even for the Cannon, it's probably around CADR low 100 + m3/hr from the raw data vs other Air Purifiers. Also not energy efficient.

The best +ve is that you just buy a RMB 80 filter, strap it onto your existing 2 or 3 fans, and wa la.
But there is a catch, it will not really work ok for 2015 levels of haze....not to our standards. There will be improvements, of course.

WussRedXLi

^^^^^
But this is not to say the above is useless. They could be useful to some lower income china rural folks, to the indonesian folks who are in small kabupatens, to the N Thailand lower income folks in places like Mae Hong Song, Chiang Rai, Phrae, Lamphun etc. Esp places like rural primary sch, kindergartens etc.

Just patch to current fans, done deal.

testerjp

So the most recommended model is the AX40 now?
How much is the filter and how long can it last?

WussRedXLi

So the most recommended model is the AX40 now?
How much is the filter and how long can it last?

If you can wait 4 mths, you can get the Xiaomi ver 2 when it drops in price (china experiencing severe smog due to met conditions influenced by current Super El nino).

Xiaomi AP and subsequent filters need to get from Taobao. Are you pro in TB? The box is small and light, official forwarders friendly.

AX40 is nice too, slightly more ex for filter replacement (even if bot at lowest 49.90 price)

testerjp

I think i need about 4 sets, inside is just a fan coil and should last right?
I will probably just get 65daigou buy for me.

I think RMB going to drop and it's not urgent.

WussRedXLi

I think i need about 4 sets, inside is just a fan coil and should last right?
I will probably just get 65daigou buy for me.

I think RMB going to drop and it's not urgent.

Bro, 4 sets....wait for XM2. But 4pcs as a whole, as a system so that filters use the same.

If dont mind paying a wee bit more overall, 65daigou sea shipping for 4 units is cool. Then round 2 hoot 8pcs replacement filters.

3 rooms plus 1 living rm, all controllable on mobile via cloud. Good for switching on before reaching home from work or outside shopping etc to pre-clean. Best soln.

WussRedXLi

Short ans : Filters can dong for 6 months in SG conditions. For these typical sized units.

Coz most if not all, will start to smell a bit.

testerjp

The XM 2 filters can install carbon filters?

Are the Hepa exp?

Even under hazy conditions also can last 6 months?

How big area can it cover?

I've 2 living rooms and 2 small rooms.

WussRedXLi

XM2 filters have AC built in liao. RMB 149, shipping wt maybe 1kg or rmb25 via official FF.

6 mths can tahan hazy conditions. Just diy self tweak for 8/4 months for the 2 filters.

5 Air Change per Hr = 25 sqm ea. But fan noise very loud....from my measurement it is even a wee wee bit louder than the Mfresh M8088A in Jet mode (580m3/hr CADR), but the M8088A is a much bigger pdt so it's not apple - apple compario.
Capable of handling 2015 Haze levels and usual HDB air leakages (eg yard, toilet window, louvre corridor windows etc). Also capable of handling allergic rhinitis/pre-term infant/elderly w chronic health issue cases

Lower fan speeds ok for maybe 15sqm at 5 ACH.

If for regular health concious cases, lower fan speeds for 3 ACH and lower noise @ ~25sqm thereabouts is doable.
So in a way, it will be good for a small BTO room of only 13sqm.

In a nutshell, it depends on which group you fall under.

NWT1978

look like in 2 months time...

they be celebrating again... while we "enjoy" the benefits...

dont think they will stopped ones... maybe after they completely burn down their whole country then they will wake up and see nothing else to burn...

even their judges also like that :s22: no harm to the environment :s22:

http://asia.nikkei.com/Politics-Eco...nistry-appeals-court-rejection-of-BMH-lawsuit

http://asia.nikkei.com/Politics-Economy/Policy-Politics/Government-sanctions-alleged-eco-criminals
PT Bumi Mekar Hijau found not guilty by Indonesian court of causing forest fires in Sumatra
In its ruling, the Palembang District Court rejected all claims by the Indonesian Ministry of Environment and Forestry against the company, saying there was no damage done to the environment as a result of the forest fires on the land.

http://wildsingaporenews.blogspot.sg/2015/12/indonesia-suffers-setback-in-fight.html#.Vo8q9vl96Ds

testerjp

how come some i saw some posts saying 2016 air quality should be better? The sky was hazy earlier in the afternoon

WussRedXLi

how come some i saw some posts saying 2016 air quality should be better? The sky was hazy earlier in the afternoon

The data does not tally with your eyes.

JI9CR1G.jpg

Orb5aiu.gif

PM2.5
North South East West Central
Avg 8.1 μg/m³ 8.3 μg/m³ 10.0 μg/m³ 9.4 μg/m³ 9.5 μg/m³

DvfYeIM.gif

WussRedXLi

And there really is absolutely no way 2016 air quality will be worse than 2015. 1000% confirmed.

testerjp

ok, then there should be no need to rush in to buy any AP at the moment

WussRedXLi

Of course, there could be a short period of light haze during end March or so period. Or maybe Peninsula Malaysia could be burning as well. But generally won't cause any big issues (small issues would be unavoidable for some folks who are sensitive, anyway).

That's the short ans. Long ans, conditions are still changing as we speak, and it's still pretty early. Check the 2015 Haze and El Nino thread.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.