Air purifier? - Part 2

testerjp

It's normal that people don't believe what they can't see. The AX40 is on auto speed so probably the cadr is only 200plus but it's near window and 1m from him.

My living room is at least 400 sq ft and many windows open.

So I guess as long as it's near where the people rest around. One ap maybe enough.

Really no longer cough. Used to cough like crazy every minute.

I'm thinking that i will be switching to the RMB29 hepa and will switch on to high speed, probably it will be at around 250 CADR, abit noisier, but one year probably cost just S$30-S$50 with 3-4 replacements.

This is the RMB29 seller.
https://world.taobao.com/item/41163...n&spm=a312a.7700846.0.0.cy2avy&_u=620576lb97f

Service very good, i bought 12 pieces initially then he refuse to ship out and tell me to cancel and reorder to 9 pieces so it can fit a smaller box and i can incur less overseas shipping fees.

Use 4PX to ship, they charged me about 2.8x kg iirc.

MIVEC525

waa...my xiaomi 2 havent arrive yet...ship out on april 2nd! Sian...

kandinsky

It's normal that people don't believe what they can't see. The AX40 is on auto speed so probably the cadr is only 200plus but it's near window and 1m from him.

My living room is at least 400 sq ft and many windows open.

So I guess as long as it's near where the people rest around. One ap maybe enough.

Really no longer cough. Used to cough like crazy every minute.

Cool that it has improved yr uncle's cough... but technically if you have many windows opened, the air cleaning effect should be quite minimal cos your 'cleaned' air is constantly being replaced by outside air anyway, lol. Unless maybe your uncle sleeps on a mattress near the floor, then maybe the AP is reducing the amount of dust from settling near the floor. It could also be possible that it was what was in your indoor environment that caused his coughing (dust mites, dust), rather than from outside, so the AP still helps in that regard even though the outside air keeps coming in... just a guess. haha *shrug*

9AWcsiO.png

WussRedXLi

Commoner HEPA filtration cum humidifier.

Absolutely no reason why low income/disadvantaged Singaporeans cannot afford to enjoy good quality air as well in multiple rooms (multiple kids etc) vs those who can pay 5-10k for Blueair/IQAir units (to be fair, IQAir filters do serve a very very tiny portion of users, same as Cleanroom FFUs with ULPA-17s).

TB2BtCpkFXXXXbZXXXXXXXXXXXX_!!534872515.jpg

testerjp

Cool that it has improved yr uncle's cough... but technically if you have many windows opened, the air cleaning effect should be quite minimal cos your 'cleaned' air is constantly being replaced by outside air anyway, lol. Unless maybe your uncle sleeps on a mattress near the floor, then maybe the AP is reducing the amount of dust from settling near the floor. It could also be possible that it was what was in your indoor environment that caused his coughing (dust mites, dust), rather than from outside, so the AP still helps in that regard even though the outside air keeps coming in... just a guess. haha *shrug*

9AWcsiO.png
Windows open but not much air movement in.

WussRedXLi

:s22: as long as the window is open, there will be air ( particles in this case ) exchanges.
Like mentioned before iirc, even gaps makes difference

I scantly remember the AX40 in a bedroom cutting about 50% of the RAW readings on the laser particle counter, something like 70 ug/m3 external and 35 ug/m3 internal.

Coz some people asked if really die die no aircon but can open door but closed windows or not. I said, yeah....can, it'd work in a passable manner.
Also, expect the filter to be killed much faster as well. :s13: Use originals really sim tiah.

If windows are open and doors are work, it'd work for very light haze.
But, really, damn expensive siah. Try it with the commoner HEPA, not the originals.

testerjp

Yeah heavy haze will close the window, but for now, seems to work good.
That's why will be using the cheapo hepa and running on full blast.

WussRedXLi

But yes also, if the external loading is high (moderate or heavy haze in 2015), then even a small gap makes quite a bit of difference.

I remember it worked pretty ok during 2014.....but only during the light haze days.....maybe say NEA nominally from 40 to 60+ ug/m3. Quite a fair number of days hovering ard those levels, it was very light haze from a normal pax's perspective, but 2014 was quite prolongled also, actually very slightly longer in duration than 2015 believe it or not.

And i don't know what were they burning in S Sumatra then, maybe slightly different areas. The haze literally no smell at all, not even at 80-100 ug/m3 levels. Only during 1 day when it hit 131 ug/m3 max (South) did it start to smell.

That's very dangerous. Some people doubted that Singapore was hit by haze in 2014. :s13: "Don't be sensitive lah......Singapore no haze in 2014 lah) :s13:

WussRedXLi

Actually that time i visited Beijing and one day was hit by avg of 200-250 ug/m3 and following day hit by 380 ug/m3 max....there wasn't any smell at all. That's not biomass smoke, of course. That's also how my wife landed in 朝阳医院, severe headache and vomitting. Nope, not food poisoning at all coz it resolved nearly immediately the day after and the levels dropped.

Self-medication with Paracetamol did not help (and we didn't have naproxen sodium then)....novomin also did not help with the vomitting. Needed jab, drip and observation in the hospital.

How i know? I only knew in 2015 when i checked the US Consulate which keeps historical records of Chinese cities, and i also checked my Beijing photos' EXIF + timings. The US consulate records are in hourly readings somemore, no hao siao one.

WussRedXLi

US Department of State China Air Quality Historical Data

http://www.stateair.net/web/historical/1/1.html

Remember, Beijing has pretty low RH except when it snows.
So it's not like in SG, when the higher RH in the morning can skew the visibility during high PM2.5/PM10 situations.

Trader's Hotel. Ard 4th ring road that area.

16 March 2012 3.04pm
Beijing PM2.5 16/3/2012 15:00 2012 3 16 15 320 µg/mg³ 1 Hr Valid

oupU6tb.jpg

18 March 2012 7.30AM
Beijing PM2.5 18/3/2012 7:00 2012 3 18 7 17 µg/mg³ 1 Hr Valid
a0RiHss.jpg

WussRedXLi

Looks good, $199 flat and collection from building that's just a 1-min walk from Tai Seng MRT, if don't want to pay the $9 Qxpress.

Good for those without vouchers and X brand CC rebates and whatnots.

I think they are gearing up (marketing aspect) for 2016 haze.....

Either that or these sellers read the AP and 2015 El Nino & Haze discussion thread too much. :D (or think many read the threads)

whitesand

WussRedXLi:

Any cheap and good air quality meter (PM2.5, PM10 etc, and VOC if the cost is not too high) you can recommend for home use?

Now getting those compatible filters and DIY filters, must make sure they works as promised ...

Asakura

199 ready stock is good price. passion gadget been around for ages too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.