Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Hi which are the non honeywell models to choose from

Sent from Samsung SM-N9005 using GAGT

Can checkout qoo10 the Samsung AX40 and LG LA-Q379SB. Both are same ard specs in all areas of airflow/electrical consumption/noise).

Check up to 6 pages before this page...i posted some info about the Samsung vs LG. Basically samsung ax40 has less fan speeds but can buy original filters while LG has more fan speeds but filters need to customise from taobao.

With the taobao filters and both units and typical HDB bedrooms, both units are able to get the air down to less than 1.0 ug/m3 within 30 mins ie more than sufficient.

sHiErShAo

Any water base air purifier which is better, we can just pour the dirty water away and refill it.

Akai Ryu

accidentally deleted a PM asking abt sharp kca50e replacement filter model code. sorry whoever u r.

They are HEPA FZ-A50HFE, Deodorization FZ-A50DFE and Humidifying FZ-A60MFE

WussRedXLi

Any water base air purifier which is better, we can just pour the dirty water away and refill it.

Someone bought the dolphin water based air purifier.
Not as effective and the water gives off foul smell if you dont change regularly.

linusz

Can checkout qoo10 the Samsung AX40 and LG LA-Q379SB. Both are same ard specs in all areas of airflow/electrical consumption/noise).

Check up to 6 pages before this page...i posted some info about the Samsung vs LG. Basically samsung ax40 has less fan speeds but can buy original filters while LG has more fan speeds but filters need to customise from taobao.

With the taobao filters and both units and typical HDB bedrooms, both units are able to get the air down to less than 1.0 ug/m3 within 30 mins ie more than sufficient.
Read your sharing. Thanks. Just wondering if it emits ozone. Want to buy another purifier besides honeywell. Previously read ozone emission not good.

WussRedXLi

Read your sharing. Thanks. Just wondering if it emits ozone. Want to buy another purifier besides honeywell. Previously read ozone emission not good.

Nope, no ozone. Ionziers do no mean will have ozone, though some do emit.

http://www.arb.ca.gov/research/indoor/cr-12-2007.pdf

The list here. Sharp's range no appreciable ozone emission
California Certified Air Cleaning Devices

But do be wary of the China air purifiers. Switch off their ionziers. They tend to market the belief that 臭氧 Ozone gets rid of smells + kills viruses/bacteria as it has a disinfecting effect (which is technically correct) for their air purification products. That said, those who have been to China tours should have seen such products in their toilets, which have a smell that's not dissimilar to the older photocopying machines smell. Yep, that's ozone.

You will be happy with the Samsung AX40 (if you don't mind the lack of a medium speed setting, coz some ultra light sleepers would still find its high speed a bit noisy, though it's amongst the quietest out there for the relatively high m3/hr airflow). Chuanz has the Honeywell 50250 and AX40, and he recommends the AX40 as his post above.

To give you an idea, the 50250 blows slightly more air out than the AX40. It is about 450 m3/hr (250 cubic foot per minute, hence the 250). AX40 = 323 m3/hr.

Noise wise, slightly more than 8 units of AX40 = 1 unit of 50250 noise level (probably we are talking comfortably above 3000 m3/hr for the AX40s to equal 1 unit of HW 50250)

Power wise, power consumption of 1 unit 50250 = 5 units of AX40 (read 175W incandescent = 34W LED). Add another 8-10% loss due to the voltage transformer (does not affect 240V models)

Some people avoid the issues by switching it @ low speed after a 30 mins blast. This works if the haze PM2.5 concentration is below maybe 60 ug/m3 or so.

linusz

Nope, no ozone. Ionziers do no mean will have ozone, though some do emit.

http://www.arb.ca.gov/research/indoor/cr-12-2007.pdf

The list here. Sharp's range no appreciable ozone emission
California Certified Air Cleaning Devices

But do be wary of the China air purifiers. Switch off their ionziers. They tend to market the belief that è‡*æ°§ Ozone gets rid of smells + kills viruses/bacteria as it has a disinfecting effect (which is technically correct) for their air purification products. That said, those who have been to China tours should have seen such products in their toilets, which have a smell that's not dissimilar to the older photocopying machines smell. Yep, that's ozone.

You will be happy with the Samsung AX40 (if you don't mind the lack of a medium speed setting, coz some ultra light sleepers would still find its high speed a bit noisy, though it's amongst the quietest out there for the relatively high m3/hr airflow). Chuanz has the Honeywell 50250 and AX40, and he recommends the AX40 as his post above.

To give you an idea, the 50250 blows slightly more air out than the AX40. It is about 450 m3/hr (250 cubic foot per minute, hence the 250). AX40 = 323 m3/hr.

Noise wise, slightly more than 8 units of AX40 = 1 unit of 50250 noise level (probably we are talking comfortably above 3000 m3/hr for the AX40s to equal 1 unit of HW 50250)

Power wise, power consumption of 1 unit 50250 = 5 units of AX40 (read 175W incandescent = 34W LED). Add another 8-10% loss due to the voltage transformer (does not affect 240V models)

Some people avoid the issues by switching it @ low speed after a 30 mins blast. This works if the haze PM2.5 concentration is below maybe 60 ug/m3 or so.
Couldn't find ax40 in second link pdf.

WussRedXLi

Couldn't find ax40 in second link pdf.

I was just trying to point out that ion technology (负里子)does not necessarily lead to ozone production. Those are air purifiers on sale in California.

Among 6 Air Purifier, LG and Sharp Filter PM2.5 Better - ????? chinaconsumerreport.org

Qualified Ozone release rate

Too much Ozone release is a severe quality problem of air purifier. Dec 2013, Weekly Quality Report in CCTV exposed a series of quality problems in air purifier market. Among those top-sold, good-looking and low price air purifiers sold in Taobao, Ozone over release was very common.

Air purifier is designed to purify air and freshen environment; however, products with poor quality may do harm to health. Some air purifiers with antibiosis feature would carry an Anion generator or Ozone generator inside, which may probably produce small amount of ozone. When density of ozone is to high, it will lead a negative effect on users’ health.

Based on<GB 21551.3-2010Antibacterial and cleaning function for household and similar electrical appliances—Particular requirements of air cleaner>, the density of Ozone within 5m from air purifier should not be over 0.10mg/m³.

In China Consumer Report air purifier review, six samples have been reported as qualified. Samsung AX002 has a lowest Ozone release rate of 0.025mg/m³, while the highest rate was LG PS-R451S, with 0.054mg/m³.

Although this test shows that all samples’ Ozone release rate is OK, it differs from what manufacturer advertised. Huang Lei, PR in Philip said their air purifier models would not produce any Ozone when turned on.

Lu, a director in China Household Electronic Academy suggested consumers should read product instruction carefully before buying an air purifier.

r_2222_625px.jpg

r_2222b_625px.jpg

stam

Users of AX40, does your unit changes red/yellow/blue (pollution level) frequently?

My seldom change(set auto) at 1st(1st year), recently i notice it changes frequently, not sure is it the real pollution level or something wrong with my unit.

I tried replacing the filter with a custom-made one from taobao. 1st change after 1 yr of usage but its still the same and the sound generated slightly higher.

WussRedXLi

Mine doesn't change frequently. You can open it up to clean the odour and dust sensors (there are 2).

Don't worry too much about that. My Novita NAP501 sensor is the worst of them all.
Best sensor is the Sharp ones, quite indicative.

If your budget allows, can just get that RMB299 laser particle counter + ug/m3 meter that I posted earlier. That one is for gadget freaks. :crazy:

~WindzStriker~

I think SGD259 offer no more liao. 2 days ago still have.
It used to go for $268 also. Don't see it also.

Cheapest now is like $300.

You can try the LG LA-Q379SB?

LG LA-Q379SB and LGPS-R459

are these 2 the same ah ? why LG Singapore website only show 2 models, like so little and also the specifications they put like Ai Mai Ai Mai, not alot details

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.