WussRedXLi

rghz.gif

Rknight

No lah...all these I go Unity and or Parkway Shenton company card see doc shoot 1 time 50-100 tabs for each med @ Unity, use for a few years liao till expiry. Quite a lot I throw due to expire liao, standby ba. My body not that weak, pls don't be mistaken. :D

I have like 20 tabs of chloropheniramine.
50 tabs of Fedac (use a few pcs liao)
10 tabs of Adezio from Unity and 10 tabs from Parkway Shenton.
10 tabs of De-cold(used a few pcs)
9 tabs of Clarinase.

Not a lot ba, since used by 3 adults.

TCM I tried 3 docs liao and also m father, I'd say for allergic rhinitis, TCM is pseudo-science/medicine. I DIY treat better. My father also has allergic rhinitis, treated successfully by FCU clean + air purifier. He has been suffering for close to 60 years.

And yes, I am tested positive with skin prick test at a ENT. But still it is not 100% conclusive whether it would trigger in real life, if you are a sufferer you'd know what I am talking about. :D

After using air purifiers to filter the dust mite droppings and dust in addition to changing bedsheets + DIY clean aircon FCU 2-3 months, I think one month at most pop once or twice antihistamine max. The air purifier made the biggest difference in my case, maybe some sleep activity and aircon FCU disturbs the droppings. (main allergens, each dropping might have > 10 allergens and the type depends, hence its quite broad based allergic reaction causing)

I'd say again here, air purifier for treating sinusitis and allergic rhinitis must airflow size correctly, and is only 1 out of the 3 conditions needed to treat it.
You see on qoo10 and many site reviews saying that Air Purifier cannot make it, or H10 non true HEPA cannot make it (droppings/flakes/allergen goes down to at most a few microns). That is absolutely untrue.

I take a whole lot more paracetamols in a year due to fever + haze.
Hence I try not to get allergic rhinitis + headaches due to haze. IF not, I think I would have taken close to 100 paracetamol tablets for 2014 season liao. I am quite ngeow about taking pills as medication one.

Hi, I have sinusitis problem for more than 2 decades. Allergies to mainly dust mites droppings ( Did a skin prick test ). Affected by haze, have running nose cough and tons of phlegm. A cough can last for many months. Seen ENT, GPs, and TCMs, always coming back. Taken many types of antibiotics, now on trial of using essential oils. Chanced upon a haze and this thread. I am curious
1) What type of air purifier is recommended for person like me ? Can you kindly recommend 3 best types for budget of $300 ( not sure if it is enough)
2) Based on your experiences of seeing TCMs and ENTs, what sort of treatment should I take ? What sort of DIY I should do at home ?
3) How to cut down my allergens ( Dust mites ) ?
4) Is switching aircon during haze going to help me a little ?
5) And lastly, what type of supplements should one take ? Vit C, fish oils ? etc
6) I am using ACL- H100 Aiwa air cleaner. Is it good enough for haze and dust mites ?
Thanks !

chuanz

Is this the equivalent model that u guys imported from Korea?

No, this one just slightly more than half the coverage of AX40. Local equivalent model of AX40 is AX41 (AX041HCVAUW).

WussRedXLi

Im now at Yew Tee and North shows 10ug/m3. The external visual conditions do not show 10ug/m3 leh.

I know visual isnt always zhun...but its really wierd.

I will GPGT later....took some photos as proof.

Coz taking customary wedding today and going for outdoor, will affect if i use my 85mm prime and do longer range shots.

Happened before in Oct 2006 PSI 120+ where the wedding couple kpkb. Today i set the expectations straight first. :D

WussRedXLi

Im now at Yew Tee and North shows 10ug/m3. The external visual conditions do not show 10ug/m3 leh.

I know visual isnt always zhun...but its really wierd.

I will GPGT later....took some photos as proof.

Coz taking customary wedding today and going for outdoor, will affect if i use my 85mm prime and do longer range shots.

Happened before in Oct 2006 PSI 120+ where the wedding couple kpkb. Today i set the expectations straight first. :D

North, NEA official readings
10am 10 μg/m³ (PSI 42 / AQI 42)
11am 13 μg/m³ (PSI 51 / AQI 53)

Locations, Yew Tee (beside the MRT track) plus Upper Seletar reservoir.
@ Yew Tee, camera to hill = 900m max
Taken at 10+ AM

And it's a friggin hot day and 10+ liao, there is no mist.

159504493.ocRe5jpD.DSC_0010.JPG

159504495.lOmL6nZ9.DSC_0011.JPG

WussRedXLi

Plus both my meter and another former's meter match together giving higher readings.

10ug/m3, last time I can see Batam clearly 23km away no issue one.

Pls get the AX40. And not the smaller AX022, AX20 series.

Those why are comfortable with taobao and getting replacement HEPA customised from there, can try the LG LA-Q378SB. Good machine also. Very big HEPA capacity. Noise level ard the same as the Samsung AX40, power and airflow same (323 m3/h for Samsung AX40 and 312m3/h for LG). The LG has 4 fan speeds, Samsung has only 2 useful fan speeds.
The LG replacement filter is SGD145 on qoo10 if you are not conversant in Chinese and hence cannot buy from taobao.

WussRedXLi

Having headache already due to this morning's outside exposure running around. But average PM2.5 concentration is only low to at worst mid 20 ug/m3 according to NEA (yesterday/last nite all air purified), it's actually clean air region according to even WHO/US EPA. What's missing in the picture? :s11::s11::eek::eek:

tmkedmw

Having headache already due to this morning's outside exposure running around. But average PM2.5 concentration is only low to at worst mid 20 ug/m3 according to NEA (yesterday/last nite all air purified), it's actually clean air region according to even WHO/US EPA. What's missing in the picture? :s11::s11::eek::eek:

Maybe u lose sight of PM10? which had stayed pretty high throughout.

fredperry

I will be buying an AX40 Samsung from Qoo10

tonight or latest tml night

who want to share the shipping cost (SGD 15 / 2) pls let me know (PM me).

by tml night. now price is sgd279

thank u

WussRedXLi

Maybe u lose sight of PM10? which had stayed pretty high throughout.

Your explanation is plausible, I actually have thought about it last few pages but I didn't go into details but just say that it's relative low wrt PM2.5. PM2.5 literally shot all the way up. It may be a contributing factor, but I don't think it explains the whole thing 100% because it's way out. (I have been eyeing my meter and it actually corresponds to the ground level sitation much better)

Check out the 24-hr PM10 here. Wednesday. It shd be 28 thereabouts. That was a fine day. Confirm with the wunderground.com link below, 10-12km visibility throughout the 24 hours. Compare with current or on Friday which shot all the way up to 40. The range is just too small to try to explain such a large variation on the ground + our meters.

159508545.OkNupa7D.pm10.jpg

Weather History for Singapore, Singapore | Weather Underground

Edit - Also, I just cant find fire sources in Peninsula Malaysia (not to this degree). 72 hours.

Ho Chi Minh is like 500km farther than East Kalimantan and you remember. It is impossible for PM10 to reach here.

159514829.Tq5b10F9.gfwf.jpg

WussRedXLi

Hi, I have sinusitis problem for more than 2 decades. Allergies to mainly dust mites droppings ( Did a skin prick test ). Affected by haze, have running nose cough and tons of phlegm. A cough can last for many months. Seen ENT, GPs, and TCMs, always coming back. Taken many types of antibiotics, now on trial of using essential oils. Chanced upon a haze and this thread. I am curious
1) What type of air purifier is recommended for person like me ? Can you kindly recommend 3 best types for budget of $300 ( not sure if it is enough)
2) Based on your experiences of seeing TCMs and ENTs, what sort of treatment should I take ? What sort of DIY I should do at home ?
3) How to cut down my allergens ( Dust mites ) ?
4) Is switching aircon during haze going to help me a little ?
5) And lastly, what type of supplements should one take ? Vit C, fish oils ? etc
6) I am using ACL- H100 Aiwa air cleaner. Is it good enough for haze and dust mites ?
Thanks !

(1) I think can get the Samsung AX40 or LG LA-Q378SB. If you are able to purchase stuff from taobao, can try the LG. Then you can customise the HEPA filter dimensions. The 4 fan speeds are all useful. AX40 has low and high that are useful.

(2) Really don't know leh. You'd spend $300 and possibly more if they get you to return for tests. Serioiusly you already know that you are allergic.

(3) You cut down on the first source that is nearest to you when you sleep, your pillow and bedsheets. Hence frequent washing + vacuuming (HEPA filtered + powerful) is must. Next, you need to vacuum the floor + keep your aircon FCU very clean. Third, get a powerful air purifier and whack on highest. You'd need at least 1 - 2 months to let your "inflammation" heal, after which your body would react by raising the threshold that you can be exposed to the allergens before you develop the allergy.

ie No heal, no talk. Very strict regime at the beginning for future good.

(4) No use in your case.

(5) Not sure, but healthy body bah, doesn't harm + makes sense

(6) No

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.