Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Why u all always talk about Honeywell purifier?

I hear Honeywell and blueair and blueair wins hands down

The hepasilent very quiet.

Honeywell really too loud for bedroom

Don't waste time and effort to customize this and that

Buy blueair settle. Haiz.

Blueair models got no prefilter built-in. Hence every 6 months confirm need to change the filter. (else they'd void the 3-years warranty)

Air purifier users usually have specialised needs. Most need 2 or even more. Some here have 3 or even 4 units.

For me, my young kids are @ parents day time and 3 nights a week. I can't afford 6 Blueairs (some 200 series and some 400 series at least) and the associated costs. (I have 8 air purifiers actually)

The HEPAsilent is not quiet, not sure where did you get that from?
At the same airflow m3/hr, a Samsung AX40 pawns all models many times over. I have heard a few times before including 650E. Not even close even if you use many many units of Samsung AX40.

I'd love to bring my SPL meter down to BEST and try with say a 650E vs an AX41.....but it'd not be nice, but then I'd trust the official specs (650E is 66dB(A) at full blast for 830 m3/hr).

All Samsungs have been measured in both SK and various China test agencies to be effective for PM0.1 at a very high eff of 99%, original filter. So no win in that regard for the Blueairs too.

We customise coz I have done laser particle counter tests showing that customisation is very decent too as long as your AP unit has powerful airflow ie > 5 ACH in your room, way more than enough for regular folks with regular medical conditions. Customisation brings the filter replacement costs down to 1/4th to 1/20th the price of original filter. With multiple units, that really adds up.

For folks who need superb performance, or have genuine medical conditions eg 6 months old infant undergone heart surgery......or family earn > 200k PA combined or have made good investments in 2009, then go ahead and get multiple units of 403 or 650E or IQAir HP 250, and tahan the $230-400 costs for each unit, every 6 months. (IQAir less replacement costs, coz the prefilter is already H10, but that H10 costs a fair bit also).

WussRedXLi

Trust me on the above post. I nearly purchase a Blueair 650E 2 weeks ago. Saw one at $600. :D

No prefilter, and it's difficult to DIY a prefilter coz the intake is not big (even smaller than a typical one like Samsung AX40, but at 830 m3/hr airflow), so it needs to be quite a solid prefilter that can stand the intake pressures.

Trust me on the above post. I nearly purchase a Blueair 650E 2 weeks ago. Saw one at $600. :D

No prefilter, and it's difficult to DIY a prefilter coz the intake is not big (even smaller than a typical one like Samsung AX40, but at 830 m3/hr airflow), so it needs to be quite a solid prefilter that can stand the intake pressures.

The point is to change the filter so you get clean air

It's just not worth the time to customize.

Obviously you can't run it at full blast when you are sleeping.
So at hepasilent it performs very well which Samsung can't even do

And btw, I use blueair in my room and unless you are right next to it, you can't hear anything. I use 200 series mod

Please lah, blueair has the best filter then sumsung

Lucky177

I bought Honeywell that time, was pretty long ago...before sg experiencing annual haze issues.

That time, purifiers still isn't that popular and many as compared to nowadays. I don't see Blueair available at the shop that time. Also not aware of this brand at that time.

Honeywell serves me very well, especially the model with charcoal inside. During that super high psi year, the smell was so strong outside. But is almost smell free when I switched on this with all windows closed and with aircon on.

Only thing is, ya... the "wind" sound is there. Quite noisy. But maybe after so many years, get used to it liao. Sleep without even really aware it is switched on. LOL

I heard Blueair is good. But do not know what's the pros and cons as compared to Honeywell.

Perhaps if my Honeywell spoilt, I might switched one to Blueair. Don't mind changing the filters every 6mths.

Thank you for sharing. :)

Sent from Android Mobile using GAGT

chuanz

Sounds like a HardCore_BlueairFan... :s13:
Well, I personally don't really buy marketing hype over facts and just wanna get the best value out of money.

WussRedXLi

The point is to change the filter so you get clean air

It's just not worth the time to customize.

And btw, I use blueair in my room and unless you are right next to it, you can't hear anything. I use 200 series mod

Please lah, blueair has the best filter then sumsung

Seriously, I don't think you even know what are you even talking about dude.
That's ok if you would like to recommend a certain brand, but please do not mess up the thread without proper links/data which means misinformation. Thank you.

If you are happy with your SGD99 cash to be spent every 6 months for your Blueair 200 series replacement filter, then power to you. MAybe you can accept it being pushed to 12 months. That's also fine, personal choice. But how about the 400 series and 600 series users? Their filters run up to SGD 350, every 6 months (or if you don't care about the warranty, 12 months). Honestly any filter smells once past 12 months. Alright, you can argue that you don't mind the smell of the trapped particulate matter. Then power to you also.

But I don't think many others appreciate that as they operate multiple units, from the many PMs I have been getting (I think > 300 PMs past 2 years). Actually I have already mentioned. You only operate 1 air purifier the entry level Blueair 203 right? That's just entry-level usage. I have 2 kids, aged parents, great grandma also. MIL long last time have heart op, now she helps take care of the kids at my place over the weekend. I literally purify the whole darn house since the 2013 biggie event.

Most of my posts in this thread regarding different APs and different filters, including electrostatic aircon filters, have been verified in real world settings with anemometers, laser particle counters. I have a SPL meter as well (Hifi hobby) but I don't really go around measuring the stuff (maybe shd do it)

The 203 guns at about 200 m3/hr airflow and 56dBA.
The Samsung AX40 guns at 323 m3/hr airflow at 45 dBA.
2 units of AX40 would be at 45 + 3dBA = 48dBA. You get ~ 640 m3/hr airflow. Below SGD600 price. You already can see the relationship.

Just for the record, all the Samsungs, LGs, Sharps, whatever brand all have lower speeds as well. Most are extremely silent.

WussRedXLi

Speed 1 so-called HEPASilent would not do nuts for cleaning. I have already done tests with a laser particle counter (goes down to 0.3 microns, verified sensitive to that low by using cigarette smoke which is really fine PM) with regards to such low airflows, the particle count would just rise in an air-conditioned room coz of some air exchanges at the door gaps etc (room is probably not totally airtight, please do not do that coz CO2 ppm levels would rise to above 1000ppm and that's bad).

Do check out what is this preferred 5 ACH or Air Changes Per Hour airflow for residential homes. Or for pete's sake at least 3 ACH....
Just a quick google : Info from Blueair, Blueair says the 503 can deliver 5 air changes per hour (ACH) in the AHAM 580 ft2 room. ......rates the 403 for mid-sized rooms of 365 sq. ft., for 5 air changes per hour (ACH).
You get it way below this 5 ACH, you might not get the desired results. Eg, the allergic rhinitis sufferers would not get relieve as they turn and toss in bed and the mite droppings gets churned around and not filtered ASAP.

And the higher the external PM concentration, the worse it'd become in the room. The effect is bigger than one would think, even a simple 10 seconds door opening would spike/pollute the air inside quite quite noticeably. With a low airflow just because you want it to be silent and the only to do it is to switch to low speeds, that's literally useless on days which are hazy. <-- how do I know this in real life other than relying on my personal test on the laser particle counter and getting some "lab numbers" only? Read the below 2-3 paragraphs.

I actually had participated in the thaivisa forum (Chiang Rai forum) regarding their NE Thailand haze thread for this year 2015. One guy had 2 x Blueair 650Es, that's some serious firepower with a total airflow of 1600 m3/hr ++. The guy needed it as his girl is asthmatic. He only could get it best down to about mid 10s ug/m3 on better days. The worst days it would be hovering around 50-60 ug/m3. The worst PM10 record spike in areas like Mae Hong Song and Chiang Rai peaked at about 550+ ug/m3.
Those areas got no PM2.5 measurements, only Chiang Mai got 2 x PM2.5 stations. But the second picture would show that PM10 and PM2.5 levels are neck-to-neck, so you don't really need a PM2.5 measurement to confirm that the air was extremely hazardous.

I wasn't being boliao and go there to stir, folks without masks/air purifiers/3M Filtrete were choking up the A&E. I was getting PMs and posts asking me for advice on how to protect the young kids in their childcare and kindergartens etc at the least possible cost and best implementation.
And the natural answer would 3M Filtrete electrostatic filter, if air purifiers are out of their budget.

Simply put, it was slightly worse than our 2013 PSI 401, but prolonged period of about 6 weeks. We only suffered for ~ 5 days.

159445991.gmye6UwY.thai1.jpg

159444670.zQKvDxL5.36ta.jpg

More info :
In SGH burns unit, they spec it till 20 ACH. I have been to SGH Haemathology specialist clinic and some procedure beds inside. All HEPA filtered with good airflow (the 20-seat waiting area already got 5pcs of 600mm x 600mm and probably 50mm thick HEPAs on the ceiling). Same for negative pressure AIIR or Airborne Infection Isolation Rooms which specs bare minimum 6 ACHs, you probably saw that in action during SARS/MERS. Same for ICU, certain ACH. Procedure rooms, 15 ACH minimum, positive pressure.

So, this is not just a figure that's plucked from the air.

WussRedXLi

Read this
http://www.pureairsupply.com/blueair-203-air-purifier-review/

Look at all the reasons why the air filter is replaceable

Look outside the box...

Really don't know what is the point you are bringing across leh.

The filter is supposed to be replaced regularly.

I know what Blueair is trying to do and it's -ve regarding the noise levels, my dear friend. In 2006 I was already looking at Blueair, due to my chronic allergic rhinitis. You can trust me that I have done many weeks of checking and reading around and operating/demo it in the retail stores.

Just 2 weeks ago I chanced on gumtree someone trying to sell the 650E for $600 including a full set of 3 smoke stop filters inclusive . Still, without a prefilter, it's no go. And if you see the design, it's very difficult.

Though I'd admit that for your 200 series, a pre-filter can be done up easily.

Really don't know what is the point you are bringing across leh.

The filter is supposed to be replaced regularly.

I know what Blueair is trying to do and it's -ve regarding the noise levels, my dear friend. In 2006 I was already looking at Blueair, due to my chronic allergic rhinitis. You can trust me that I have done many weeks of checking and reading around and operating/demo it in the retail stores.

Just 2 weeks ago I chanced on gumtree someone trying to sell the 650E for $600 including a full set of 3 smoke stop filters inclusive . Still, without a prefilter, it's no go. And if you see the design, it's very difficult.

Though I'd admit that for your 200 series, a pre-filter can be done up easily.

It's a more complete product then the rest, that's why I ask you to read.

It's not about one or two things, it's the entire design..

That's why.. Look outside the box..

WussRedXLi

Also, I think it'd be helpful to state once again that they have determined the lower size distribution range of biomass haze that we get from Sumatra/Kalimantan to be 0.15-0.4 microns range.

We do not suffer from photochemical smog, coz (1) Singapore weather does not really allow serious temperature inversion and (2) our emission laws for both vehicles and industries are pretty strict, unlike many other countries.

WussRedXLi

It's a more complete product then the rest, that's why I ask you to read.

It's not about one or two things, it's the entire design..

That's why.. Look outside the box..

Up to you man, power to you. Like I have said, I have already checked it out in ~ 2006 including sites like the air-purifier-power . :s13: Same $588 price range then. It's pretty noisy in speed 3.

I find it weird, coz it's not as if the Samsung AX40 or Sharp APs do not have easy filter changes etc. Or are the filters unavailable in retail shops here/online.
Don't like to customise coz one afford yearly costs of 1k or so with multiple units, then don't customise. If you can afford, power to you.

I think I have more than enough answered in depth in the above posts. Up to you to believe.

Up to you man, power to you. Like I have said, I have already checked it out in 2006. :s13: Same price $588 then also.....

People just buy the product expecting it to work as intended. Without modifications.

Don't get too bogged down in your own data.
Look macro, not micro.

Look outside the box dude..

Also, purifiers with ionizer function is bad..

Look at what blueair is doing with their design..
Keyword design..

WussRedXLi

People just buy the product expecting it to work as intended. Without modifications.

Don't get too bogged down in your own data.
Look macro, not micro.

Look outside the box dude..

Also, purifiers with ionizer function is bad..

Look at what blueair is doing with their design..
Keyword design..

Ionisation function can turn off leh.

You are very interesting my friend. Maybe those 300+ PMs in my inbox and 2013 AP thread and this 2014-2015 thread regarding posts asking for good deals are all bogus....

You like the design, that's great....your choice.

I'm just doing what others are asking me, where to get good deal stuff and cut down on the running costs.

No offence intended bro, do some of that in this thread first. It's not my thread and the forum is free for all. Others would truly appreciate your help in recommending Blueair.

If there are replies to your blueair stuff, feel free to answer.

I'm out....sleeping liao.
Cheers! :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.