Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Noted that CFM drops quite a bit if humidifying function is turned off.
With both at 40 dBA, CFM of 177 (A80 @ medium) and 99 (A40 @ medium w/o humidifying) is quite a big difference!

Any reason why CFM drops when humidifying function turned off?
The only exception I see is the model KC-D40E... Based on the specs on Sharp's website, it is the only model with CFM increase when humidifying function turned off.

Moreover, "applicable room size" is decreased quite a bit with humidifying on, even though CFM increases. Sounds contradictory ?

Don't know leh, maybe internally got some flaps that move around to direct air from outside or something.

Yes, 40dBA for 177 CFM vs 99 CFM is 1.77X in airflow.

Just that we must also understand that usually the recommended way to clean is actually to switch it on at the highest for 15 mins or so, then throttle down. The cleaned air stays with you usually, not like air-conditioning in which heat can get into the room via the floors/ceilings/walls "continuously".

So ultimately, just size the machine according to the room and save yourself some money. A40 for the bedrooms or MBR, A80 for the living room. Perhaps A50 for those who hack the wall and join MBR + 1 BR together or those with humongous MBRs. :D

Note, my master bedroom of about 17 sqm x 2.8m sqm (after deducting the cabinets, console and bed, a bit of false ceiling for the down lights and stuff) still gets 3.5 air changes per hour on this 99 CFM medium mode of the A40. After the initial cleaning on turbo or max, this is more than enough to maintain the air quality.

As in, after the air has been scrubbed clean of this "PM2.5" and ultrafine particles, you won't notice the difference between 177 CFM of clean air and 99 CFM of clean air even if outside is PSI 500 for a few days. :D But if gan cheong about the initial cleaning, can get the biggest/best that you can afford.

PS. Of coz, I don't know perhaps one may have special environment/needs....like if you have a few kids + carpeting, and the kids do play on the carpet in the air-con room hence constantly kicking up dust particles and stuff like that, then maybe you could up-spec the machine accordingly?

mikeeeey

^ good info.

I usually turn on the shower mode, which max the cleaning for an hour and it reverts back to the low mode.

WussRedXLi

2nd wave ai lai liao. PM 2.5 @ 80 for northern part.

Actually think about it, PSI 401 is for that 1 hr period nia. But if constantly for a few months the PM2.5 is that bad (say in the future we might have > 100 for a few months), that'd be much worse for our health.

WussRedXLi

in sg, humidifying is zero use la...

sg need dehumidifying instead.

Got use lah, there are some with eczema problems or severe allergic rhinitis, in which they cannot stand any period of time in which the air is dry.

They travel to countries like Beijing during winter is CMI one, I have witnessed before. Maciam anytime can go hospital A&E one, lup anti-histamine like nobody's biz. They don't use moisturizing lotions, but moisturizing CREAMS, coz lotion does not stay there long enough.

AceSpitz

hahahaha... IIRC = If I Remember Correctly :D

Haha.. So that's what it is.. Too old already to remember the short forms.. LoL.

"oversized" is fine if you don't mind the price.

Clean up the air faster and/or don't need to use "High" speed.. just medium will do, thus quieter also.

Thanks bro for the advise.. Appreciate it..

Well, yeah....this is the spec of the A80 vs the A40. Price is about 1.4X.

55dBA is definitely way too loud for sleeping (compare with the Honeywell 50250 at 57dBA) and I can assure you that it's also too loud to watch TV.

40dBA is just ok, might still be a tad loud for some folks with sensitive ears. Just decent for watching TV at low volume.

So yes, A80 can do 177 CFM at 40dBA, so it's somewhat able to move more air at the same SPL.

Sharp A80
Air Flow CFM (Max/Medium/Silent): 318/177/71
Noise Levels (Max/Medium/Low): 55/40/23

Sharp A40
Air Flow (Max / Med / Low)
Without Humidifying (CFM) 127 / 99 / 28
With Humidifying*1 169 / 127 / 53

Without Humidifying (dBA) 46 / 40 / 16
With Humidifying*1 42 / 35 / 20

** For the A40, I have converted the m^3/hr to CFM

This is good info.. Thanks Bro..

WussRedXLi

Itchy hand again.... purchased 3 qty of this 2-pack Honeywell H type True HEPA filter to fit into my Sharp KC-840E. Coz got current unshipped order with Amazon so added on the Honeywell filters.

The Sharp KC-840E and Sharp KC-A40E (latest incarnation is KC-D40) have a filter size of 9.25 inch by 14.5 inch by 1.25 inch. Both have an additional activated charcoal filter of 1cm depth, so that's 1.25" + 0.394" = 1.64 inch total before your pre-filter cover hatch cannot close properly.

The Honeywell H has a depth of 1.6". Will slice up the 10.1 inch portion down to 9.25", and fit in 3 of them. Then scotch tape up the edges. Anyway, presently with the Sharp HEPA filter I am also taping up the edges to prevent bypass... :)

This way via Amazon, I am getting my True HEPA filter replacements 3X cheaper! (S$33 Amazon vs S$99 local retail @ Best Denki)

And assuming that the number of pleats is the same, I am getting 28% more depth, hence that's another + 28% value and + 28% more dust holding capability which means +28% longer filter replacement period. Also more depth/deeper pleats = more surface area = slightly more airflow/increase in CADR due to less air resistance.

Honeywell True HEPA Air Purifier Replacement Filter 2 Pack, HRF-H2 / Filter (H)

Amazon.com - Honeywell True HEPA Air Purifier Replacement Filter 2 Pack, HRF-H2 / Filter (H) -

51%2BAFb-%2BlzL._SY300_.jpg

shokbakgoc

Itchy hand again.... purchased 3 qty of this 2-pack Honeywell H type True HEPA filter to fit into my Sharp KC-840E. Coz got current unshipped order with Amazon so added on the Honeywell filters.

The Sharp KC-840E and Sharp KC-A40E (latest incarnation is KC-D40) have a filter size of 9.25 inch by 14.5 inch by 1.25 inch. Both have an additional activated charcoal filter of 1cm depth, so that's 1.25" + 0.394" = 1.64 inch total before your pre-filter cover hatch cannot close properly.

The Honeywell H has a depth of 1.6". Will slice up the 10.1 inch portion down to 9.25", and fit in 3 of them. Then scotch tape up the edges. Anyway, presently with the Sharp HEPA filter I am also taping up the edges to prevent bypass...

This way via Amazon, I am getting my True HEPA filter replacements 3X cheaper! (S$33 Amazon vs S$99 local retail @ Best Denki)

And assuming that the number of pleats is the same, I am getting 28% more depth, hence that's another + 28% value and + 28% more dust holding capability which means +28% longer filter replacement period. Also more depth/deeper pleats = more surface area = slightly more airflow/increase in CADR due to less air resistance.

please show picture after you finished the whole thing.
what you using to slice? penknife?

NWT1978

Anyway, if anyone is interested in how the air purifier perform in real life, during last year's haze night time with PSI above 200 and in the 300 range (you know, that time...the panic mode and PM comes out with a press conference :D), it just takes about 15 minutes for a Sharp KC-840 with E10 (HEPA-10, ie 85% @ 0.3) for it to clean the air from LED = Flashing Amber + RED to double solid green.

Room size is your typical MBR, I got a 8 foot long custom cabinet from floor to ceiling, king size bed, and TV console taking up the space/volume.
With air-con blowing, so that assist in mixing the clean air about I guess.

Now I have changed to the H13 "True HEPA" filter that's used for the A40 liao. Definitely less than 15 mins.

As you can see, it's plenty fast. Probably an A80 would cut it down to 5-6 minutes?

mine dont have led to show whether the air clean or not...basic model only =:p

WussRedXLi

please show picture after you finished the whole thing.
what you using to slice? penknife?

Cardboard would be easy, but this one has some of those PET or some hard plastics at the edges. Shouldn't be too difficult though.

I'll be using my hobby knives, really tough ones. :D

581_SKU.jpg

michaelang88

I am a big fan of air filters. I got both Honeywell and sharp ones. The latest I bought is the A80. One thing to point out for the A80 is that the filter is in front of the machine while the rest of the models are behind.

The benefit of this is when the machine has to be placed very closed to the wall. Other models would have been a bit difficult to place in such circumstances.

Nothing beats the Honeywell ones. You can literally see the haze being sucked in. But it is noisy and bulky.

WussRedXLi

I am a big fan of air filters. I got both Honeywell and sharp ones. The latest I bought is the A80. One thing to point out for the A80 is that the filter is in front of the machine while the rest of the models are behind.

The benefit of this is when the machine has to be placed very closed to the wall. Other models would have been a bit difficult to place in such circumstances.

Nothing beats the Honeywell ones. You can literally see the haze being sucked in. But it is noisy and bulky.

Yep, the Sharp models that have intakes at the back need to leave at least a 3 inch gap.

WussRedXLi

PCW a bit...

Damn this year's haze is really interesting. Right now I am looking towards the direction of Batam, and I cannot see Batam. It's really super clear here in SG southern part right now, but Batam is 100% obscured. There is one blanket of haze cloud that is sitting halfway on the body of water between SG and Batam, Indonesia. Very distinct cloud that extends to about 500m above the ground/sea.

Never seen this before, ever.

WussRedXLi

amazon.de selling Honeywell HA010E4.

Permanent HEPA filter, washable. so no need to worry about filter replacement. 230V 50Hz, no need transformer.

with shipping ~S$190. if buy two units ~S$170 each. Direct ship to SG.

Honeywell HA010E4 Mini-Säulenreiniger, weiß: Amazon.de: Baumarkt

US review.

good for bed room, but not for living room.

That's the Honeywell Quietclean series. This series does not use HEPA as filtration. (HEPA makes use of the diffusion principle to capture particles that are much much smaller than the physical gap of the fibres, HEPA does not operate as a "physical sieve"). Hence I believe even a E10/H10 filter performs much better.

http://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-Qui...479&sr=8-11&keywords=honeywell+permanent+HEPA

http://www.honeywellstore.com/store...010-quietclean-compact-tower-air-purifier.htm

•C AHAM CADR Rating (smoke): 40 * The fid filter helps capture airborne particles that are 2 microns or larger in size from the air that passes through the filter.

This unit is only good down to 2 microns. Not sure how it handles the ultrafine particles.

I posted a few pages earlier, that the majority of the haze particles are 0.2 microns and below, stretches to about 20 nm or 0.02 microns.

E10/H10 to H13 is able to handle that.

-----------------------------------

Was looking through this. HEPA is still v efficient at 0.01 microns.

https://www.sy-klone.com/mm5/graphi...ence/Comparison_EU_Standards_vs_ASHRAE_52.pdf

Changzhou Airrex Co., Ltd

Size of haze particles
http://www.google.com.sg/url?sa=t&r...E-_J_Fm9sToVFahqw&sig2=OrZJCBeKPz9rEVDs2vupEg

Size of haze particles is also predominantly below 0.2 microns!!

Size Haze Clean Photochemical Smog Haze/Clean Photochemical smog/Clean
10-20 nm 1665 1622 2642 1.03 1.63
20-50 nm 6591 3580 9791 1.84 2.73
50-100 nm 4702 1389 8178 3.39 5.89
100-200 nm 2678 631 2704 4.25 4.29
200-500 nm 1030 317 579 3.25 1.82
0.5-1 μm 114 6 20 17.78 3.19
1-10 μm 14 2 5 8.78 3.23
10 nm-10 μm 16797 7547 23920 2.23 3.17

chuanz

Yeah I noticed about the Sharp... I flipped my A28E around since day 2 (didn't think about it in day 1)... Haha

Marcus

Sharp A80 like not bad. Anyone know where to get? Parisilk at $490 (no stock?) anywhere cheaper:D

I already have a honeywell 50150, thinking to get a spare one to place inside my mbr.

s3856

Still unable to decide getting just Air purifier or Air purifiers with Humidifying functions.:spin::spin::spin:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.