Agree

That's why bought air filters and replacement filters this year

Still a bit rush too becoz only did it when haze came

At least not as frantic as last year, running around like mad to get 3M mask

Come to think of it, was more scared last year than SARS

In addition, now with baby, so need to take more precaution

Reminder - do not use extra filters on air conditioners, it will tax the Aircon too much

Get separate air filter 'machine' if want to fight haze

If one is really afraid of the 3M Filtrete spoiling the fan coil unit, I suppose can use it behind a fan then. Air-con is still a must usually, I mean heck the weather is so hot nowadays and you'd need to keep the windows and doors closed.

And the good thing is that literally every home got at least 1 fan. :) If got 3-4 fans then lagi better, get 2 boxes and standby for emergency use.
This is very workable for those lower income families who can't afford an air purifier.

Too bad I did not buy more to stock up last year from Amazon @ 4.95usd (local is the small pack, SGD17.50). Else I can distribute to the eldery at the elderly activity centre when shiat really hits be it this year, next year, next next year coz the thing does not expire mah. They are among those who need it most. N95s is one thing, they can't wear a mask for more than a few hours right?

If got chance again, i'd probably buy 20-30 boxes to stock up. Do some "good". :D Much better than calling 1900 numbers during those TV charity shows and kena taxed left right centre...

satayxp

Yes if really worry about haze, get air filter

Bought OSIM iLife air filter some years ago, used for a while and stopped

Use or no use like not much diff on normal days

Last year's haze condition really bad and worry for family so bought air filter but only manage to Philips and not true hepa

This year bought Novita becoz all other brands no stock and this brand has up to date e store

So far so good in terms of online transaction and self collection

Didn't use air filter yet becoz haze condition not serious now

End of the day, typical kaisu mentality here, scare serious haze so standby, lazy to operates on tolerable days

wats the url ah?

WussRedXLi

Price just went back to $115.99... Grab fast!!!

EDIT: Apparently, price shot back up within a few minutes.. Its $169.99 now!!

Get the 17000. Just a week or two ago they restricted it to sale in the USA only. Now AMZGlobal Eligible as well.

Unless you are trying to clean up the living room, there is no real need for the 50250. It's v heavy, the shipping kills.

Amazon.com - Honeywell Long-Life Pure HEPA QuietCare Air Purifier, 17000 - Hepa Filter Air Purifiers

PS. Remember to get the appropriate voltage transformer.

yixiang1

Get the 17000. Just a week or two ago they restricted it to sale in the USA only. Now AMZGlobal Eligible as well.

Unless you are trying to clean up the living room, there is no real need for the 50250. It's v heavy, the shipping kills.

Amazon.com - Honeywell Long-Life Pure HEPA QuietCare Air Purifier, 17000 - Hepa Filter Air Purifiers

Thanks for the advice... now all cant get free shipping from amazon liao..

very troublesome.. need waiter7 service i think..

Asure7

Hitachi (Made in Japan) looks pretty good if you absolutely do not want ionizer (although that can be turned off for Sharp).
Price range around the same as Sharp, but max airflow rate is higher based on specs.

Only thing is the enclosure does not cover the filter completely (2 big lobangs at the sides). So when not in use, have to use something to cover. It takes in air from the front so it may be a good thing for some people...

For the humidifying function (if u care), there is an light indicator to show when the humidifying filter needs cleaning.

If i remember correctly, for the newer Sharps, the filter is not completely covered too... quite exposed at the back (air taken from back, and the enclosure does not cover that part, only a plastic grid thing which i think is the pre-filter) .... but more effective at "sucking" in air i guess...

WussRedXLi

Hitachi (Made in Japan) looks pretty good if you absolutely do not want ionizer (although that can be turned off for Sharp).
Price range around the same as Sharp, but max airflow rate is higher based on specs.

Only thing is the enclosure does not cover the filter completely (2 big lobangs at the sides). So when not in use, have to use something to cover. It takes in air from the front so it may be a good thing for some people...

For the humidifying function (if u care), there is an light indicator to show when the humidifying filter needs cleaning.

If i remember correctly, for the newer Sharps, the filter is not completely covered too... quite exposed at the back (air taken from back, and the enclosure does not cover that part, only a plastic grid thing which i think is the pre-filter) .... but more effective at "sucking" in air i guess...

The Sharps' prefilter covers all airflow intake alright.

Something like this ... (this is the A28)

If one is worried about those super teeney weeny gaps, then use some scotch tape. I vacuum the prefilter anyway, but i guess for those who wash then that'd preset an issue.

SHARP+Air+Purifier+external.jpg

clementiboy

free shipping or not, amazon's shipping to SG still cheaper than using 3rd party like Vpost or borderlinx.

always choose amazon's direct shipping to SG if possible.

Asure7

The Sharps' prefilter covers all airflow intake alright.

Something like this ... (this is the A28)

If one is worried about those super teeney weeny gaps, then use some scotch tape. I vacuum the prefilter anyway, but i guess for those who wash then that'd preset an issue.

SHARP+Air+Purifier+external.jpg

Yes, thats what I was referring to. For those who do not use it everyday, will have to cover it with a cloth or something when keeping for a period of time, to prolong filter life...... Otherwise air will still get to the air filter, trapping smaller particles even though technically "not in use.

For the older Sharps, the enclosure fully covers the whole thing (filter not exposed, cannot be seen until you take off the cover).
The new D40/60 even has a flap at the air outlet that auto-close when power is turned off so that dust won't get in.

cnotsniw

Sounds like a fantastic deal @ USD89.

May get a few and then hunt for a reliable transformer(s).

Thanks Wuss.

WussRedXLi

Yes, thats what I was referring to. For those who do not use it everyday, will have to cover it with a cloth or something when keeping for a period of time, to prolong filter life...... Otherwise air will still get to the air filter, trapping smaller particles even though technically "not in use.

For the older Sharps, the enclosure fully covers the whole thing (filter not exposed, cannot be seen until you take off the cover).
The new D40/60 even has a flap at the air outlet that auto-close when power is turned off so that dust won't get in.

Don't get you leh bro.... If I am not wrong, you mean dust (big sized) and finer particles like PM2.5/PM10 would still trapped in the HEPA when it is switched off? Coz of that big opening exhaust outlet at the top?

Well, for one, HEPA does not attract (eg electrostatically) particles. Two, there is one big wheel type of fan between that opening and the HEPA filter. No air flow, no worries.

HEPA works like thios
HEPA - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

These particles are trapped (they stick to a fibre) through a combination of the following three mechanisms:
1.Interception, where particles following a line of flow in the air stream come within one radius of a fibre and adhere to it.
2.Impaction, where larger particles are unable to avoid fibres by following the curving contours of the air stream and are forced to embed in one of them directly; this effect increases with diminishing fibre separation and higher air flow velocity.
3.Diffusion, an enhancing mechanism that is a result of the collision with gas molecules by the smallest particles, especially those below 0.1 µm in diameter, which are thereby impeded and delayed in their path through the filter; this behaviour is similar to Brownian motion and raises the probability that a particle will be stopped by either of the two mechanisms above; it becomes dominant at lower air flow velocities.

Diffusion predominates below the 0.1 μm diameter particle size. Impaction and interception predominate above 0.4 μm.

So son't worry too much ba. At most is a wee bit of dust drop into that hole and onto the wheel-cage fan nia, if you are using it nightly then just blow it up/out.

I have been using my Sharp KC-840 for 6 years liao. :D

WussRedXLi

BTW, for those who are interested in such weather "phenomenons" and stuff like this....do check out the near real time hotspot satellite pix.

I get 3 emails per day of update via the rapid fire alert service. No of hotspots etc. Better than weather.gov.sg ASMC regional haze map

https://earthdata.nasa.gov/data/near-real-time-data/firms/fire-email-alerts

You need to sign up hor...
Eg today's pic

Your Area of Interest (Coordinates) : 95.98, -2.75, 111.36, 4.94

Fires detected during the most recent satellite overpass : 20

pso26MsB3tYKfTPsWbMmO_DkAyaZMIB21hof6FdK709R7fSWYa2Yv5SlrRx0fThLqM13HFG9PG60YBALsUGJTlguaURDmAcqK0M32gUVNTXX6vkpXtxOb7qNYIaQFA=s0-d-e1-ft

WussRedXLi

Looks like the Hitachi EPA-A7000 quite tokong. Comfortably outperformed the Sharp A50 in the test with the air particle counter in the test chamber with burning paper. But then of coz, it costs $899. It has a top flowrate of 420m^3 per hr.

Not sure where to purchase though, for those who are interested. There is the 3000, 5000 and then the flagship 7000 model. Saw the 3000 model at HN Centrepoint before @ 399.

Edit - pre-order from GAIN City

WussRedXLi

HN centrepoint branch got 3 pcs of novita nap611i displayed. In stock. 599 w 1pc replacement filter.

But i guess pple not biting coz last yr 499 (but no filter).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.