Air purifier?

s3856

Nope.... Sharp 840/A40 needs 14.1 inch for one of the side. It's basically a 9.75 x 14 inch filter. (1.25 inch depth)

A50 lagi longer and slightly wider.

Brother, can recommend me which one is suitable for A50? Tks.

NWT1978

fwah, why now all purifier so ex huan?

any lecommendation for $200~ range HEPA filter purifier? no need big coverage, for bedroom usage only

got mine from Ajunied area... order through FB msg lol...

around that price... now should have other models too

T.S. Yong Trading

WussRedXLi

bro.......................wrx.......................suitable 4 moi.............nap501?????????????????????? knn................moi wan HOOT moar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, suitable for nap501. But need to cut both the height and width instead of only the height.

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

Brother, can recommend me which one is suitable for A50? Tks.

this one shd be suitable for the A50 (SGD109 @ Taka Best Denki).
Unfortunately it crosses the Freeshipping SG threshold (one dimension too long) and it's a usd27 shipping to SG. So total price is usd50 or S$65.

You'd need to bring your tape measure to Taka Best Denki, go to the HEPA filter section and measure the filter and confirm that it's shorter than 16.4 inches. From what i googled, it should be. If you already have the A50 then just pull it out and measure.

Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 1.2 x 16.4 inches

Amazon.com: Fellowes HF-300 True HEPA Filter, for use with Fellowes AP-300PH Air Purifier (9370101): Home & Kitchen

Or you can opt for this... usd45.51/S$59 with and free shipping eligible. (usd5 cheaper than the above)
Amazon.com - True HEPA 9287201 Filter with AeraSafe Antimicrobial Treatment for AeraMax 300 Air Purifier - Air Purifier Replacement Filters
Product Dimensions: 1.2 x 12.6 x 16.3 inches

Not as attractive as the usd29.99 HEPA filter Free ship options, but still some decent savings i guess. Actually it recently rose in price, i got mine filters at usd24.99 only so really no brainer to use as the Samsung AX40/NAP501 replacements.

The Fellowes HEPA filters are Made in Korea.

s3856

this one shd be suitable for the A50 (SGD109 @ Taka Best Denki).
Unfortunately it crosses the Freeshipping SG threshold (one dimension too long) and it's a usd27 shipping to SG. So total price is usd50 or S$65.

You'd need to bring your tape measure to Taka Best Denki, go to the HEPA filter section and measure the filter and confirm that it's shorter than 16.4 inches. From what i googled, it should be. If you already have the A50 then just pull it out and measure.

Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 1.2 x 16.4 inches

Amazon.com: Fellowes HF-300 True HEPA Filter, for use with Fellowes AP-300PH Air Purifier (9370101): Home & Kitchen

Or you can opt for this... usd45.51/S$59 with and free shipping eligible. (usd5 cheaper than the above)
Amazon.com - True HEPA 9287201 Filter with AeraSafe Antimicrobial Treatment for AeraMax 300 Air Purifier - Air Purifier Replacement Filters
Product Dimensions: 1.2 x 12.6 x 16.3 inches

Not as attractive as the usd29.99 HEPA filter Free ship options, but still some decent savings i guess. Actually it recently rose in price, i got mine filters at usd24.99 only so really no brainer to use as the Samsung AX40/NAP501 replacements.

The Fellowes HEPA filters are Made in Korea.

Thanks very much brother.

WussRedXLi

u all think this year the haze will be as bad as last year's one boh?

It's extremely difficult to predict, buy Singapore Pools ibet better chance. :s13:

But predicting El Nino is easier, and more based on science. That is a phenomenon that predicts extended and extreme dry weather, depends on the severity of the El Nino.

Currently the probability of a strong El Nino happening is 70%.....give it 2-4 more weeks and we could get a clearer picture. 4-8 more weeks and a very good forecast can be gotten. Could happen starting July.

This July till end of the year is a crucial one. In fact if it's extremely severe, it could very well stop the NE monsoon and screw up the whole weather system. In 1997, a strong El Nino delayed the monsoon rains till end November, that was when we experienced PSI 226 in 1997.

In 2006 we also hit a high PSI of 150. Compare this with about PSI 80 (if I rem correctly) during mid March 2014. This PSI is mainly PM10 based.....cannot compare with the current PSI. This was also an El Nino year.
Of coz as we all know, over here in EDMW we usually check aqicn AQI PM2.5.

Another thing is also the length of the haze. In 1997 the haze lingered for many months. And over a few weeks the PSI stood above 100.
Actually this is worse as the period was much longer.

Last year we had crazy dense haze, but the dense episode lasted only 3 days. 2 other days were pretty ok (still got haze).

WussRedXLi

Singapore[edit]

While the haze largely spared Singapore with 24-hour Pollutant Standards Index readings within the "Good" range for 15 days in September and the rest in the "Moderate" range and no higher than a reading of 66,[29] its harmful effects became more prevalent in October.

On 7 October 2006, the 3-hour PSI reading breached the 100 mark at 8 a.m. and entered unhealthy levels for the first time in the year, as winds from neighbouring Sumatra blew the haze to Singapore.[30] At 10 a.m., it hit 130, the highest in three years, before subsiding to 80 at 4 p.m. and climbing rapidly to 150 at 9 p.m.,[31] the worst since 1997, before ending the day at 136, still in the unhealthy range.[32]

Although the air quality was set to improve with the arrival of the Northeast monsoon rains in mid-October, southeasterly winds extended the hazy season.[33] A mild El Niño effect delayed the starting of the showers to late October or early November,[22] or even until the end of November. The prolonged haze could be attributed to the extended dry season, which put the rains on hold and affected wind patterns which brought the haze to Singapore. Intermittent showers could occur in the pre-monsoon period, but these would do little in increasing air quality. The unpredictable winds in the pre-monsoon period could bring haze from either Sumatra or Kalimantan.[34]

Air quality remained in the moderate range for the next week[29] until 14 October, when the 3-hour PSI readings gradually increased from 53 at 6 a.m. to peak at an unhealthy 116 at 10 p.m.[35] This time, majority of the haze came from Kalimantan.[36]

Similarly, on 15 October, the PSI readings increased from 69 at 6 a.m. to 98 at 3 p.m. and 4 p.m.,[37] 3 points short of reaching the unhealthy range. This eased to 82 by midnight.[38] As winds remained southeasterly, haze from Kalimantan blew across the South China Sea to Singapore.[39]

The next day, on 16 October, the PSI stayed in the 80s in the morning, before shooting up once again into the unhealthy range, hitting a high of 130 at 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. The 3-hour PSI remained in unhealthy levels for 8 consecutive hours, between 2 p.m. and 9 p.m.[40] The haze obscured the sun, and symptoms of exposure to haze resurfaced in the general population.[41] The 24-hour PSI for 16 October reached 98,[29] just 3 points short of unhealthy. Visibility dropped to as low as 1 km in some areas, compared to the usual 20 km.[40]

The PSI on 17 October gradually increased from the moderate range in the morning to slip into the unhealthy range at 4 p.m., reaching 106,[42] before declining back to 100 in the moderate range at 10 p.m.[43] The hazy conditions were expected to persist.[42]

On 19 October, the PSI crept into the unhealthy range at 106 at 2 p.m.,[44] peaking at 113 at 4 p.m. The National Environment Agency reported that the situation would not improve the next day.[45]

Throughout the early morning on 20 October, the PSI kept in the 90s, before reaching a high of 103 at 8 a.m.[34] This dropped to 74 by 7 p.m., although the PSI remained in the 90s in the afternoon.[46] Even though rain fell in some areas, this was not enough to "alleviate the haze situation". The NEA forecast thunderstorms over the weekend, but the southeasterly winds would continue to prevail.[47] The 24-hour PSI on 20 October also reached the unhealthy range at 102.[29]

Later in October, though, the situation began to improve, with the PSI hitting a low of 11 at 2 p.m. on 26 October.

However, in early November, intermonsoonal winds brought slight haze back to Singapore, with the 3-hour PSI in the moderate range most of the time.

The highest 3-hour average PSI recorded prior to that point 226 in September 1997.[48]

clementiboy

those who bought Honeywell air purifier from amazon what types of transformer u bought? can this transformer use it for other electrical appliances in the future??what are the things to look out for?watts???

i finally get to reply you after a 1-week ban.

i got the honeywell 50250-s and the Power Bright VC500W Voltage Transformer 500 Watt Step Up/Down converter 110/120 Volt - 220/240 Volt.

if you do not want to get the transformer from amazon get from sim lim tower.
Super brand from Japan, about $65 from one of the shops on the top floor of SLT.

InnovaIQ

Bro.......moi go tb..........hoot oem..........pm2.5................filtration paper............eh sai bor????????????

WussRedXLi

Don't recommend that. You might as well get the 3M Filtrete. It does bring down the PSI 3 times. Eg if the PSI outside is 300, it goes to 100.

Not too bad, still can tahan. Just have to hoot a few packets so that you can use on both the fans (multiple fans) and air-con for max effect. The more you use, the more the PM1 and PM2.5 gets filtered.

This was done during last year's haze in June. GPGT and in tested under real life situation.

Air+Quality+in+my+Dining+Room+++www.hardwarezone.com.sg.png

InnovaIQ

Don't recommend that. You might as well get the 3M Filtrete. It does bring down the PSI 3 times. Eg if the PSI outside is 300, it goes to 100.

Not too bad, still can tahan. Just have to hoot a few packets so that you can use on both the fans (multiple fans) and air-con for max effect. The more you use, the more the PM1 and PM2.5 gets filtered.

This was done during last year's haze in June. GPGT and in tested under real life situation.

Air+Quality+in+my+Dining+Room+++www.hardwarezone.com.sg.png

Steady rah!!!!!!!!!! Moi see e tb.......:.::...sellin oem rike 3M leh.............:/so moi tot.......agar agar same.....

WussRedXLi

Haze likely to return to Singapore from next month | TODAYonline

Singaporeans now better prepared to deal with situation: Balakrishnan

NG JING YNG
Published: May 19, 4:14 AM

Updated: May 19, 4:15 AM

(Page 1 of 2) - NEXT PAGE | SINGLE PAGE

SINGAPORE — The haze is possibly returning to shroud our skies from next month and the El Nino effect — characterised by severely dry and hot conditions and anticipated in the second half of the year — could worsen the air quality. However, Environment and Water Resources Minister Vivian Balakrishnan is confident Singaporeans are better prepared to deal with the situation.

That the haze will hit Singapore earlier than usual this year signalled a warning that Singaporeans have to be prepared, he said.

However, pointing to developments since the Republic weathered its worst haze episode last June, Dr Balakrishnan said just being prepared makes a world of difference.

A new air-quality reporting system that better reflects visibility levels during a haze has been in place since last month and, earlier this month, free N95 masks were distributed to all 1.2 million households here, as part of a community programme by the philanthropic arm of Temasek Holdings to get Singaporeans better prepared for emergencies.

Commenting on the effect of these moves, Dr Balakrishnan told reporters on the sidelines of a community event yesterday: “We got all the systems in place to keep people informed, up to date — literally on an hourly basis. There won’t be a mad rush for masks this time because literally every household already has masks.

“If you are prepared, you are in a much stronger frame of mind to deal with whatever that comes our way,” he added.

When Singapore was in the throes of the haze last year — it hit a record-high Pollutant Standards Index reading of 401 on June 21 — many flocked to stores to buy masks, leading to a supply crunch.

Since then, the Republic has been pushing countries — including Indonesia — to share the land use and concession maps needed for the Association of Southeast Asian Nations’ (ASEAN) haze-monitoring system to work, but to no avail.

The S$100,000 system, developed by Singapore, aims to identify responsible parties using hot-spot data and satellite images to pinpoint illegal burning activities.

However, it requires accurate concession maps that can specify the companies or entities with rights to carry out logging or plantation activities on a particular piece of land.

At a haze meeting attended by ASEAN environment ministers in Brunei last month, Dr Balakrishnan expressed his frustration over little headway being made on that front, adding that negotiations had been tough, with “contentious moments”.

Although outgoing Indonesian President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyonohad, in March, given soldiers and local officials in Riau three weeks to extinguish forest fires — a move welcomed by Singapore — Jakarta has yet to ratify the ASEAN agreement on transboundary haze pollution.

Most recently, at the ASEAN Summit earlier this month, Foreign Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam again urged Jakarta’s cooperation in ratifying the agreement.

Yesterday, Dr Balakrishnan said Singapore must make its own preparations despite all the efforts on the diplomatic front.

“On the environmental front, it is not possible to make sure nothing ever happens to Singapore. There will be problems from time to time, whether it is haze or dengue, there will be these challenges,” he added.

WussRedXLi

Shd be ok...300m^3 per hr airflow.

Samsung AX40 is S$289 shipped via EMS. DOA warranty (seller covers return shipment). Original Samsung filter is available from them also, or you can use the Fellowes (Made in Korea) HEPA from Amazon. usd29.9 now.
It is also extremely quiet. ~ 350 m^3/hr max.

Novita NAP501 is S$269, free 1 filter (and free 1 pitcher, but we take that out of the equation). Depending on how you look at it, it's a S$230 air purifier to a S$160 air purifier. 250m^3/hr max. It's pretty quiet.

The room coverage area is a bit over the place, don't use.
Use the airflow.

The filter is decently small, maybe the Fellowes usd29.90 True HEPA can use.
The tiong unbranded HEPA filters, well it's probably alright if you trust them.

T2vs1hXHxaXXXXXXXX-108346960.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.