Air purifier?

NWT1978

156679878.hZUlhaRu.haze22july0800.jpg

wow...lucky we have got it yet...hopefully it keep on blowing in the same direction and not towards us... :s12::s22:

chuanz

BERNAMA - Haze Forces Closure Of 15 Schools In Perak's Manjung District

Haze Forces Closure Of 15 Schools In Perak's Manjung District

IPOH, July 22 (Bernama) -- The Manjung coastal district in Perak was enveloped in haze at a 'very unhealthy' level at 1 pm today, forcing the cancellation of the afternoon session of 15 schools there.

The six primary and nine secondary schools, with an enrolment of 5,945, were ordered to close their afternoon sessions after the Air Pollutant Index (API) rose to 247, said Perak education director Mohd Idris Ramli.

Tomorrow's morning session at the schools would be cancelled if the API remained above 200, he told Bernama.

Mohd Idris named the primary schools as Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK) Seri Manjung, SK Kampung Dato Seri Kamarudin, SK Methodist (ACS), SK Methodist, SK Convent and SK Simpang Empat.

The secondary schools were Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan (SMK) Seri Manjung, SMK Ahmad Boestamam, SMK Seri Samudera, SMK Nan Hwa, SMK Methodist, SMK Methodist (ACS), SMK Tok Perdana, SMK Ambrose and SMK Dato Idris, he said.

Mohd Idris said he had instructed the district education officer to close the afternoon sessions of the schools until further notice.

The portal of the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment reported 'unhealthy' levels of the haze in Kampung Air Putih, Taiping (117), Jalan Pegoh, Ipoh (114) and Tanjung Malim (115).

An API reading of between zero and 50 indicates good air quality; between 51 and 100, moderate; between 101 and 200, unhealthy; between 201 and 300, very unhealthy and over 301, hazardous.

-- BERNAMA

tmkedmw

Riau sees yet more hotspots
Rizal Harahap, The Jakarta Post, Pekanbaru
Tue, July 22 2014, 10:24 AM

The presence of hotspots indicating spreading forest and peatland fires has caused increased concern in Sumatra.

Satellite images on Monday morning detected 570 hotspots in Sumatra, 417 of which are scattered over 11 regencies and cities in Riau.

It was found that the number of hotspots had risen rapidly during the previous two days, from 75 on Saturday to 154 on Sunday, and then to 417 on Monday.

On Monday morning, the highest number of hotspots, amounting to 327, was in Rokan Hilir regency, followed by Bengkalis (27), Rokan Hulu (21), nine each in Pelalawan and Kampar (9), six each in Dumai city and Kuantan, Sengingi (five), Indragiri Hilir (four), Indragiri Hulu (two) and one in Meranti Islands.

As many as 273 of the hotspots are believed to be fires, with a certainty level of 70 percent.

Head of data and information at the National Disaster Mitigation Agency (BNPB) Agus Wibowo said the dry weather increased the potential for fires.

“The chances of rain are very slight, so every effort must be made to prevent the recurrence of haze. If we fail to respond immediately, the number of hotspots will further rise and people will celebrate Idul Fitri in the middle of a haze,” he said.

He said that to date, the haze in Riau was still tolerable with a drop in visibility taking place in Rengat and Pelalawan, each to only between 4 and 5 kilometers.

“However, we must anticipate the recurrence of thicker haze, especially now when the wind direction has the potential to carry haze over to Malaysia,” Agus said.

The Riau Haze Disaster Response task force is still carrying out fire-fighting efforts by deploying more than 300 military and police personnel, three helicopters for water bombing and weather modification efforts to create rain.

Separately, Riau Governor Annas Maamun urged all the regencies and mayoralties in Riau to take swift measures. “I’ve instructed the Riau BPBD [disaster mitigation agency] to contact regents and mayors whose regions are affected by hotspots to immediately conduct fire-fighting, especially Rokan Hilir which is the worst-hit area,” Annas said.

He said he would immediately go to Rokan Hilir to conduct a coordination meeting with the police, the military, village chiefs, district heads and the regent.

Annas denied his administration was halfhearted in taking measures to prevent forest and peatland fires.

Source: Riau sees yet more hotspots | The Jakarta Post

Joelleyuan

Hi all, just wish to borrow this thread to ask for advice on air coolers cos alot of experts in here.
i had an EuropAce air cooler used for a few yrs liao, last week suddenly spoiled. its those type where u put iced water or ice cubes below, then the wind will be quite cooling.
quite useful for my living room last few weeks, in this terrible weather.

now suddenly spoiled, so i intend to buy a new one but cant find similar one from EuropAce,
for price n functions, im looking at this

ifan IF7860
selling for $189 at Qoo10,
you all think can buy anot huh?

it gives longer warranty compared to other brands.

Thankssss

chuanz

Hi all, just wish to borrow this thread to ask for advice on air coolers cos alot of experts in here.
i had an EuropAce air cooler used for a few yrs liao, last week suddenly spoiled. its those type where u put iced water or ice cubes below, then the wind will be quite cooling.
quite useful for my living room last few weeks, in this terrible weather.

now suddenly spoiled, so i intend to buy a new one but cant find similar one from EuropAce,
for price n functions, im looking at this

ifan IF7860
selling for $189 at Qoo10,
you all think can buy anot huh?

it gives longer warranty compared to other brands.

Thankssss

Dunno this brand/model good or not, but u can check with GAB price or wait for Rakuten SG 10% or more coupon code (got one seller @ $188). Rakuten SG got new coupon code every day, but dunno they will continue to do this till when.

Fairprice Xtra @ $169 w delivery http://www.whatsupatfairprice.com.sg/wuafp_modules/Specials/pdf/1405525742.53945_1.pdf

Joelleyuan

thesingingbard

yep. cadr is not something that's missed out in here definitely :s13:

true but i still see a lot of guys enquiring about air-purifiers with no certified CADR ratings...

and a proper CADR rated air purifier isn't a simple mathematical CFM * particulate removal (although on surface it does seem to suggest that).

It is much more involved. It requires a measurement according to a procedure specified by ANSI/AHAM AC-1. (see quoted text below)

personally, i wasted money on 2 different brands (of which one is v popular) of air-purifier before i appreciate the importance of CADR... :o hope the rest don't make the same mistake. :o

"The CADR for each particulate is determined by a separate test sequence in the test chamber. It is necessary to measure both the natural decay (air cleaner turned off) and the measured decay (with air cleaner turned on) separately for smoke, dust and pollen. Prior to the start of the test, the chamber must be thoroughly cleaned. The air cleaner is then set up in the chamber. Air cleaners under test are normally placed in the center of the chamber on a table. A separate test stand is provided for mounting plug-in and wall-mounted air cleaners.
The chamber’s environmental system, the recirculation fan and the ceiling mixing fan are turned on. The background concentration of particles is monitored, and when an acceptable low background concentration level is obtained, the chamber’s environmental control system is turned off. Particles are then injected and monitored to obtain a natural decay.
Next, a measured decay test is conducted. The particulate matter being tested (smoke, dust or pollen) is injected into the room to the required concentration level specified in the standard. The air supply used to inject the particulate matter is then turned off and the injection valve for the pollutant closed. The pollutant is allowed to mix for one minute via the recirculation fan and the ceiling mixing fan. The mixing fan is then turned off and one additional minute is provided for the mixing fan blades to stop. The particle counter sampling and the data acquisition then begin. There are slightly different sequences for the smoke, dust and pollen. The data acquisition is done through a 20 second sampling at one minute intervals. The test for smoke and dust is 20 minutes. For pollen, the test is 10 minutes. The minimum number of acceptable data points must be obtained (at least 9 for dust and smoke, 5 for pollen). Following completion of the test sequence, the data analysis is performed."
I only cut/paste a small fraction, for more information on the test: http://www.aham.org/ht/action/GetDocumentAction/i/13886

(^@^)"

true but i still see a lot of guys enquiring about air-purifiers with no certified CADR ratings...

and a proper CADR rated air purifier isn't a simple mathematical CFM * particulate removal (although on surface it does seem to suggest that).

It is much more involved. It requires a measurement according to a procedure specified by ANSI/AHAM AC-1. (see quoted text below)

personally, i wasted money on 2 different brands (of which one is v popular) of air-purifier before i appreciate the importance of CADR... :o hope the rest don't make the same mistake. :o

"The CADR for each particulate is determined by a separate test sequence in the test chamber. It is necessary to measure both the natural decay (air cleaner turned off) and the measured decay (with air cleaner turned on) separately for smoke, dust and pollen. Prior to the start of the test, the chamber must be thoroughly cleaned. The air cleaner is then set up in the chamber. Air cleaners under test are normally placed in the center of the chamber on a table. A separate test stand is provided for mounting plug-in and wall-mounted air cleaners.
The chamber’s environmental system, the recirculation fan and the ceiling mixing fan are turned on. The background concentration of particles is monitored, and when an acceptable low background concentration level is obtained, the chamber’s environmental control system is turned off. Particles are then injected and monitored to obtain a natural decay.
Next, a measured decay test is conducted. The particulate matter being tested (smoke, dust or pollen) is injected into the room to the required concentration level specified in the standard. The air supply used to inject the particulate matter is then turned off and the injection valve for the pollutant closed. The pollutant is allowed to mix for one minute via the recirculation fan and the ceiling mixing fan. The mixing fan is then turned off and one additional minute is provided for the mixing fan blades to stop. The particle counter sampling and the data acquisition then begin. There are slightly different sequences for the smoke, dust and pollen. The data acquisition is done through a 20 second sampling at one minute intervals. The test for smoke and dust is 20 minutes. For pollen, the test is 10 minutes. The minimum number of acceptable data points must be obtained (at least 9 for dust and smoke, 5 for pollen). Following completion of the test sequence, the data analysis is performed."
I only cut/paste a small fraction, for more information on the test: http://www.aham.org/ht/action/GetDocumentAction/i/13886

So which 2 air purifiers you bought that is not good? Share leh, so we don't make the same mistake too. Thanks.

WussRedXLi

Got mention many times in the 2013 thread and also this thread before lah.... but too much info ard here so most who are just passing by in this thread doing a cursory read would miss it.

In the real world, some of us keep it simple, as I also need to factor in budget, power consumption, noise levels etc. Some others would find warranty to be very impt, while i don't find it so important (as long as it's way cheaper, in fact ~ 2X cheaper! :D). A good portion of this thread esp starting from 1-2 months ago, quite a few of us also concentrated on the HEPA replacement costs/availability.

I think the keyword is what is proper ? Some trust AHAM, some are ok as long as CASE/the Koreans or China folks done some testing coz they don't need that exacting a need.

Actually, if you go check against those "certified" AHAM air purifers which are mainly "western based", the CADR is always pretty close to the airflow (they use CFM instead of m3/hr) X HEPA filter efficiency.

On paper, H13 is very very close to 100% and H10/E10 is about 85%. Just a few models in the Sharp range are H10/E10. Other unknowns would be whether or not the airflow specs are correct, whether or not the HEPA got cut corners, whether or not bypass is significant.

CADR just that they are measuring the appliance in a test chamber.

Whether or not the manufacturer is "rubberbanding" a bit only or a lot from the specs, this one i leave to the individual.

Of coz if one is that *exact* and have no problem with budget, then it's always good to get tested/certified air purifiers. :)

They do similar testing in China also ... Someone and me discussed this a few pages ago (pg 122/123)

Top Air Purifier Review - ????? chinaconsumerreport.org

2222b_640.jpg

* * Tested by Shanghai Institute of Measurement and Testing Technology (SIMT) in 30m3 chamber according to GB/T18801-2008, cigarrette smoke used as the particle pollutants

* ** Tested by SIMT in 30m3 chamber according to GB/T18801-2008 and GB/T18883-2002, inhalable particles of size smaller than 2.5um as particles pollutants sampled in mass concentration, initial concentration 5.0¡À0.5mg/m3, testing time 1hr

* *** Tested by Shanghai Institute of Measurement and Testing Technology (SIMT) in 30m3 chamber according to GB21551.3-2010, (Staphylococcus albsp) 8032 as testing bacteria

WussRedXLi

AHAM is also mainly an american + consumer thingy. Brands like Sharp and Coway (SK) are inside.
About This Program

Actually if one wants to dig into the details, IQAir is not in this program. In fact it is against it, you can search some FAQs regarding why is that so.

But I put a disclaimer here first, i am not dissing AHAM (American) and its developed CADR (CFM) with ANSI (American) standards. Fundamentally, It is a good spec. The Smoke portion of the CADR spec is most useful for us (dust and pollen maybe not so useful for the majority, either that or we locals don't appreciate much of that).
Just that applying it here in Singapore + local retail scene + local internet retail scene here would have its difficulties. Wanna ship in a USA model so that you expand your options? Perhaps then you gotta play with voltage transformers (another can of worms).

So in summary, you won't see an AHAM/CADR cubic foot per minute figure on stuff from Samsung or IQAir, local Sharp models like A40/50/80/D40/D50, local Coway models, Philips etc. As far as i am aware, you'd be confined to (1) Honeywell (2) Blueair over here in Singapore.

Austin Air (high-end air purifiers) also does not join AHAM, no CADR there.

Maybe this would give the readers here another view :
http://www.air-purifier-power.com/cadr.html

The China folks do test for Ozone, formaldehyde (and various VOCs), "surprisingly". That is importaint in the air purification realm (say you have a new house and you have a need for the first year in it esp if you have compressed boards stuff and you have a newborn etc), while for Haze purposes then that's not as impt for some. Some even get formaldehyde monitors. So it depends....

WussRedXLi

Okie... Post this vid again :D This is how the BJ and SH folks do their tests in China. Ok enough or not, you are the judge.
(posted in page 52 onwards....wah i myself also took a while to dig this out again)

Spam one more...don't mind.

chuanz

Little typo. Should be 329 hotspots.
More worrying is the appearance of those hotspots to the south which the prevailing wind can carry to Singapore.
Really lai liao.

The exact number depends on the area u defined ba. No right or wrong. More importantly is the trend of the number of hotspots you are monitoring yourself.

WussRedXLi

Little typo. Should be 329 hotspots.
More worrying is the appearance of those hotspots to the south which the prevailing wind can carry to Singapore.
Really lai liao.

Maybe my one is smaller area. But seriously I think I gotta cut down and define only Peninsula Malaysia and Sumatra, take out Borneo. :s13:

For us, these public domain free data is limited. Govt agencies buy the data from a bigger array. With that, they can see the smoke plumes and size of it, ie check how big it is + intensity of the fires.

Singapore Weather Information Portal - Satellite Imagery

But for the current SSW and S, SSE winds, yea we are more interested in the South Riau, Jambi and Southern Sumatra areas. They are much further from Dumai area in northern part of Riau, so they'd need to be much more intense to cause any high-level haze effect here. But also coz they are farther away, the smoke gets dispersed to a bigger area before hitting us, so in a way it's also easier to hit us.

sumatera.png

Haze.gif

WussRedXLi

In 1997's PSI 226, it was the haze from Borneo island (Indonesia's Kalimantan province, particularly Kalimantan Barat portion of Kalimantan) that hit us with easterly winds. Sept - October occurrence then. I read that it actually extended into Dec and also 2008 (it was super El-nino year), the NE monsoon was quite severely affected.

1997 Southeast Asian haze - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Just be mindful of El Nino, for it to be confirmed and declared as El nino (be it weak or moderate, strong-extreme El Nino is practically ruled out for this year liao), it needs rolling average of 3 months. So prior to that already could be pretty dry.... + need the folks there to start the BBQ and we huat liao. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.