Air purifier?

bullfrog

Ok! But really no need to do spot readings with a laser particle counter (ug/m3 models, not the xxxxx particles meters) this time round, waste money also + nobody would believe non-accredited equipment.

NEA is releasing the 1-hr average PM2.5 concentrations since Apr 2014. Just use the online calculator. :D

That stings. The portable instrument I used last year for my indoor measurements, uses the same measurement principle as its bigger outdoor brother (Grimm EDM180) that is accredited with US EPA..But yeah, we have to rely on NEA's archaic Beta attenuation method of measuring instruments this time round.

WussRedXLi

That stings. The portable instrument I used last year for my indoor measurements, uses the same measurement principle as its bigger outdoor brother (Grimm EDM180) that is accredited with US EPA..But yeah, we have to rely on NEA's archaic Beta attenuation method of measuring instruments this time round.

I know what are you talk about.
Beta attenuation not too bad lah.

Cheapest PM10 + PM2.5 capable laser particle "counter" on taobao. :D
Don't think it'd be accurate though, but it will give you a decent idea of the particulate air quality, definitely.

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?sp..._id=&am_id=&cm_id=140105335569ed55e27b&pm_id=

一般说来,对于PM2.5的检测,主要有三种方式:

一种是β射线法,这种方法是根据β射线通过颗粒物的能量衰减,计算出颗粒物的浓度。

一种是微量震荡天平法,这种方法是根据颗粒物导致滤膜震荡频率的变化,测试出颗粒物的浓度。以上两种计算专业性强,测量结果精确,但是存在着投入费用高,维护费用高,体积大,需要专业人员操作等问题,无法进行空气质量的现场监测,只能应用在政府的空气质量监测站或专业实验方面,不可能用于寻常百姓家。

而激光测试法基本原理是激光为测量光源,激光经颗粒物散射后,对光学传感器输出的脉冲信号进行数字信号处理,汉王霾表采用的是激光测试法。

T2chlzXOhXXXXXXXXX-675810330.jpg

T2KY8xXIBaXXXXXXXX-675810330.jpg

WussRedXLi

Wuss tio smoked max...131

I think my latest photo towards the South and Western part of SG captured that.

Anyway, 1819h south side, I think slightly better liao. But it can go either way.

Lets wait for the satellite pics.

jimboyboy

I think my latest photo towards the South and Western part of SG captured that.

Anyway, 1819h south side, I think slightly better liao. But it can go either way.

Lets wait for the satellite pics.

Hi WussRedXLi,

Can you kindly create a thread to guide newbies on the best air purifiers out there with the prices and your expert opinions?

This existing thread is too long and it is very difficult for me to retrieve your comments on all the good air purifiers.

I think many others will appreciate it.

I am looking for a Samsung AX41 or 40. Hope you can mention this in your new thread.

Cheers!

chuanz

Hi WussRedXLi,

Can you kindly create a thread to guide newbies on the best air purifiers out there with the prices and your expert opinions?

This existing thread is too long and it is very difficult for me to retrieve your comments on all the good air purifiers.

I am looking for a Samsung AX41 or 40. Hope you can mention this in your new thread.

Cheers!

Wuss (and myself) using AX40. Recommended but caveat is no "middle" setting... either high or low (or auto). Air flow and power consumption best in class.

bullfrog

Wuss (and myself) using AX40. Recommended but caveat is no "middle" setting... either high or low (or auto). Air flow and power consumption best in class.

Agreed. I have this too. Love it cos its quiet and efficient.

WussRedXLi

Hi WussRedXLi,

Cheers!

It's ok, the "guide" actually changes quite constantly due to $$ deals and ease of getting filters etc.

Currently, it's the cheap $99 Sharp A28 available on qoo10.
168 m3/hr airflow, HEPA 10. 48W consumption. A wee bit noisy.
It will be sufficient to bring for eg current peak levels of 131 ug/m3 PM2.5 down to more moderate levels (say PSI less than 80) in a big living room within 1 hour. It is insufficient to give you clean air, but seriously from Aug 31 till now Oct 6 there have been less than 7 days of "clean air".
Expect better performance in a master bedroom.

Samsung AX40 is SGD290 thereabouts shipped on qoo10. Replacement filters are available also from there (ship 1 together with the unit)
Very quiet as far as airflow vs dBA goes, I would recommend this. 34W consumption.

That's about it.

Haze will stop in 2 weeks time. What you are preparing will be for next year. Dense haze of above PSI 250 is really a very remote possibility.

WussRedXLi

1900h

3-hr moving average PSI = 153. (PM2.5)

1-hr average PM2.5 concentration = 116 ug/m3 for EAST
1-hr AQI PM2.5 = AQI 182.

157715157.BPykvj12.4.jpg

157715391.r69xGE2i.asmc1.jpg

jimboyboy

It's ok, the "guide" actually changes quite constantly due to $$ deals and ease of getting filters etc.

Currently, it's the cheap $99 Sharp A28 available on qoo10.
168 m3/hr airflow, HEPA 10. 48W consumption. A wee bit noisy.
It will be sufficient to bring for eg current peak levels of 131 ug/m3 PM2.5 down to more moderate levels (say PSI less than 80) in a big living room within 1 hour. It is insufficient to give you clean air, but seriously from Aug 31 till now Oct 6 there have been less than 7 days of "clean air".
Expect better performance in a master bedroom.

Samsung AX40 is SGD290 thereabouts shipped on qoo10. Replacement filters are available also from there (ship 1 together with the unit)
Very quiet as far as airflow vs dBA goes, I would recommend this. 34W consumption.

That's about it.

Haze will stop in 2 weeks time. What you are preparing will be for next year. Dense haze of above PSI 250 is really a very remote possibility.

Thanks WussRedXLi for the tips!

What about Samsung AX41? Is it ok to get this instead if AX40 is not available?

But even if haze is no more, it is still helpful to put inside room for old folks, right?

chuanz

U can't get AX40 locally, not thru official distribution channels anyway... AX41 is the local version. Price also $$$ more.

WussRedXLi

What about Samsung AX41? Is it ok to get this instead if AX40 is not available?

But even if haze is no more, it is still helpful to put inside room for old folks, right?

Samsung AX41 is get from stores, Best Denki @ SGD439. Taka Best Denki got, but I am not sure if there are still stocks tomorrow. :s13: Lelong a bit now, used to be sgd479.

Mmm, usefulness depends on your perception lah.
I have a colleague whose spouse and her drive 200k car. But when asked to get an air purifier due to infants + present pregnancy, she said wasteful coz use for at most 1 month per year. Eg this year March 1 week. Sep 1st to Oct 7th. :)

WussRedXLi

Looks like it's like aided by the haze from Palembang (South Sumatra). Can't see much for Jambi region. The wind did a curl shot.

Too much clouds obscuring the true hotspot count and haze track. But no rain.

psi-outlook-06oct14_suma.png

jimboyboy

Samsung AX41 is get from stores, Best Denki @ SGD439. Taka Best Denki got, but I am not sure if there are still stocks tomorrow. :s13: Lelong a bit now, used to be sgd479.

Mmm, usefulness depends on your perception lah.
I have a colleague whose spouse and her drive 200k car. But when asked to get an air purifier due to infants + present pregnancy, she said wasteful coz use for at most 1 month per year. Eg this year March 1 week. Sep 1st to Oct 7th. :)

Now there is a qoo10 seller who says he will upgrade order from AX40 to LG LA-Q370S if AX40 no stock. Is it a good deal?

mikeeeey

Now Honeywell not popular anymore?

Always had the impression that they are the one of the best in the market especially when you see them in clinics

WussRedXLi

Now there is a qoo10 seller who says he will upgrade order from AX40 to LG LA-Q370S if AX40 no stock. Is it a good deal?

They are around the same.

Try to get 1 replacement air filter if possible, tag on to the purchase coz shipping all in liao.

Next time you can DIY cut some HEPA filters that you can get on taobao, then scotch tape the sides to eliminate bypass. They have been measured to perform at around HEPA 11 (95%) and HEPA 12 (99.5%) efficiencies. The stock one is H13, or 99.95%.
All will work, not much diff in the real world.

In essence, replacement filters availability not an issue. Just need some art n craft work, and on TB they are very cheap.

Oh yah, daily usage of 12hrs nets you about 12 months of filter life over here in SG apartment size and air quality particulates level.
You can push to 18 months, but airflow slowly drops.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.