Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Think I'll hoot this during BF. thanks WRX bro!

And you know what? I just found out that my sis forgot to put the pre-filter into the Honeywell AP ever since she set it up for my parents *facepalm*

So they've been using the filter for a mth without the pre-filter :vijayadmin:

Will it damage the AP ah?

1 month during Oct - Nov haze period, is quite siong.

If 1 month for the excellent air quality thatvwe are getting nowadays, is a piece of cake. :s12:

Nevetheless, just vacuum out all the visible dust on the surface. You won't be able to get all out I guess, but majority. Shd be somewhat ok lah.

If you touch any HEPA filter, you'd find a rough surface on one side and a smoother surface on the other side. The rough surface is like a hard netting that allows the other side's smoother "ultra fine polyethylene fibres" to bind to it. So in effect, this hard surface is like another prefilter. But it's not a prefilter, and it cannot hold much dust before clogging and it's difficult to remove the dust.

The fine particulate matter say PM2.5 would easily get past this hard layer but will be caught by the ultra fine fibres.

WussRedXLi

P6215104.jpg

WussRedXLi

Our haze due to biomass burning of peat is predominantly (> 90%) 0.15 to 0.4 microns.

Study shows PM1 air pollution is most harmful|Society|chinadaily.com.cn

Study shows PM1 air pollution is most harmful

Updated: 2013-10-28 00:30
By Wang Hongyi in Shanghai (China Daily)

A recent study led by Chinese scientists shows a strong link between smaller air pollution particles and a range of serious health conditions.

Scientists said the smaller the airborne particles, the more likely they are to cause illness, suggesting the need for monitoring of particulate matter of 1 micron or less in diameter — a category of pollution rarely monitored.

In recent years, many locations across the country have been blanketed with heavy air pollution, raising concerns for public health. Among the main categories of pollutant measured is PM2.5, which can enter the respiratory system and contribute to a range of illnesses, including cardiovascular disease.

Now, in a new study published in the public health journal Environmental Health Perspectives, researchers from the School of Public Health at Fudan University in Shanghai have demonstrated correlations between PM2.5 pollution and the incidence of particular illnesses.

Researchers spent about two years collecting data in a medium-sized city in northern China, measuring the levels of particulate matter in 23 size categories ranging from 0.25 microns to 10 microns. They then plotted the health conditions of residents in the city against the concentrations of particles of different sizes found in their locations.

Among the key findings was that those areas with larger concentrations of smaller particles showed higher incidences of particular illnesses.

"Our study, based on epidemiological investigation, showed that fine particles in the air measuring between 0.25 to 0.5 microns in diameter have a closer relationship to human health, especially an increased risk of cardiovascular diseases," said Kan Haidong, a professor at the School of Public Health at Fudan University.

The fine particles measuring between 0.25 to 0.5 microns in diameter accounted for about 90 percent of the total number of particles found in the air during the study.

Kan said the smaller the particle, the higher the concentration in any given volume of air and so the greater the number of particles coming into contact with tissues inside the human body.

"Besides that, there may also be a relationship with the settlement of particles of different diameters in the lower respiratory tract." Kan said.

Kan said the smaller particles can also pass through the blood-air barrier in the lungs, entering the blood as toxins, and causing cardiovascular disease. Larger particles are not able to pass through the blood-air barrier so easily. He also said that smaller particles in the body can harm the regulation of the human nervous system.

Among the conclusions of the research is that the smaller the particle size, the more danger the pollution poses to public health, suggesting that more research is needed on PM1 pollution — particles of 1 micron or less in diameter.

"The significance of the study is that it has provided a new direction for the prevention and control of atmospheric pollution," Kan said. "What we need to focus on is particles of smaller sizes, rather than PM2.5."

Some scientists have already suggested more studies on PM1 pollution, citing its potential role in causing illness on a large scale.

"In Shanghai, for example, about 80 to 90 percent of the mass concentration of the city's PM2.5 is PM1. So it would be more effective to carry out studies on PM1 than PM2.5," said Yang Xin, professor at the Department of Environmental Science and Engineering at Fudan University.

PM2.5 is the main category of pollution monitored by government departments.

Yang said he has already approached government departments on the environment and related fields to suggest monitoring of PM1 levels, but he has yet to receive a response.

ipaq4444

Philips 4025 @ SGD199 (or is it 189?). Best Denki Taka got. Get it NOW.
It's a HEPA-11 filter...if i rem correctly. (95% at 0.3 microns maximum penetrating particle size)

Or go to qoo10 and get the Sharp A28. SGD99 for pink, SGD109 for black.
Self Collection at Liang Court "Audio House". It's listed under House Revolution on qoo10. Need to wait. It's HEPA-10, ~85% at 0.3 microns.

Can switch off the ions feature, no worries.

Again - this year's haze is really done deal. You are preparing for next year.

The Philips is damn noisy btw. 54dB. Better test before buying.

bro, need your advice again. between ax/40ax 41 and also Philips 4014

ax40/41 can filter 0.1micron? Philips 4014 can filter 0.3 micron?
can check if there any third party filter with 0.1 micro can use on Philips?

which you will buy if got small kids at home?

ConXero

Got a question for the bros here, will KOOLAIR help prevent dust from accumulating on computer table if i put one there? My room quite dusty every weekend need to wipe down very troublesome.

WussRedXLi

Got a question for the bros here, will KOOLAIR help prevent dust from accumulating on computer table if i put one there? My room quite dusty every weekend need to wipe down very troublesome.

It will reduce somewhat. Unless you get a really big purifier wrt room size and 24/7 operation... you will not experience anything v significant.

WussRedXLi

bro, need your advice again. between ax/40ax 41 and also Philips 4014

ax40/41 can filter 0.1micron? Philips 4014 can filter 0.3 micron?
can check if there any third party filter with 0.1 micro can use on Philips?

Fast ans....samsung ax40 or 41 true HEPA can handle 0.1 microns. Suspect in real life its still at a v high efficiency ie over 90%.

In MRT...detail ans later.

The Samsung AX40 has somewhat better performance, $$ value and noise performance vs the Philips. It's among the best if purchased from qoo10.

If you are concerned with PM0.1 performance (which you shd for young kids), really need to get H13 "True HEPA" filters. This would ensure a good enough performance for 0.1 microns.

Replacement Samsung AX40 H13 filters are a bit tricky. You'd need a 1.5" or 35mm thick 11" by 12" filter for the Samsung AX40. Qoo10 sells for S$88 shipped. That is stock depth for the HEPA filter. The samsung ax40 can take a max depth of 2.0 inches.

Taobao has high quality H13-H14 filters. They also have U15 ULPA filters which are DOP tested for 0.12 microns performance at extremely high efficiencies. These filters meant for cleanrooms are very likely to be significantly higher in quality compared to the typical consumer based ones from say Sharp or even Honeywell, even if you factor in the "small risk" that they are MIC and sold on taobao.

A 600mm by 600mm by 50mm thick panel is 5.4kg shipping weight. Go to taobao site for help.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.98.eVudF3&id=37663842547&_u=k1u0hcib92ec

铝框无隔板高效过滤器结构:
外框:铝型材,表面阳极处理
过滤效率:99.97%-99.999%(H13、H14) MPPS
滤料分隔: 热熔胶
出厂前逐台激光计数扫描检测
滤料:玻璃纤维滤纸 MPPS=最易穿透粒径
密封胶:聚氨酯连续运行温度:≤ 80°C
密封垫:聚氨脂/闭孔氯丁橡胶压条
耐湿性:≤100% RH
保护网:钢网喷塑,白色RAL9016,
进出风面均有金属护网。 .
专业制造技术保证气流均匀、阻力低、寿命长;
铝型材外框、表面阳极处理;
进/出风面带金属护网;
可提供69mm、80mm、90mm、96mm、110mm等多种厚度;
可提供垫片干式密封,刀口液槽密封等结构型式;
逐台激光扫描计数MPPS(0.1-0.2um)效率:85%-99.9999%(EN1822);

U15 ULPA. You can ask them to customise a size. Also, ask if they can omit the aluminum edges...as it's heavy. You'd need to IM them via Aliwangwang.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm...547&pvid=ed1bdd19-b682-4dc5-9ffb-98f68c5680a7

美国进口玻纤滤纸
99.9995%
@0.12UM

WussRedXLi

This 14th Oct 2014 report compiles and summarizes recent studies and research programs that have been conducted on the effects of air pollution particulate matter on human health.

http://www.meca.org/resources/PM_Health_Studies_Update_1014.pdf

Nice article....

Actually i dont think this has been mentioned before but those who are living within a certain distance from major roads and eway, they are even at higher risks.

Many epidemiological large scale studies have been done before in US and Europe with regards to traffic pollution with regards to living within say 150m from a major road.

We have quite a few residential blocks that are close to CTE PIE which have daily jams.

Of coz in JKT ho chi minh beijing....the folks there get it more jialuck. :(

Luckily we have Euro 4 and 5. Diesel gives off a lot of Ultrafine particles....below 0.1 microns.

Edit -
From your article "They found that BC exposure from biomass smoke is more strongly associated with blood pressure, which directly impacts cardiovascular risk, than total PM mass, and that co-exposure to motor vehicle emissions may strengthen BC’s impact."

Looks like for those who are living near expressway or major roads, the effect of haze + traffic pollution (however light) combined together may have a pretty strong effect here in SG. Remember, haze = 70 days above WHO recommendations for 24-hr mean this year liao, without the effect from traffic.

WussRedXLi

Hence, for those who are living near major roads especially espressways like West Coast near AYE, PIE Sims Ave/Aljunied/Bedok, take note. Esp for those with cardio and infants, kids, pregnant etc.

I think it's a must to get air purifiers for those folks.

"In addition, the researchers found that women living closer to highways and exposed to both wood smoke and traffic emissions had three times higher blood pressure than women who lived away from highways."

stonefish35

Nice article....

Actually i dont think this has been mentioned before but those who are living within a certain distance from major roads and eway, they are even at higher risks.

Many epidemiological large scale studies have been done before in US and Europe with regards to traffic pollution with regards to living within say 150m from a major road.

We have quite a few residential blocks that are close to CTE PIE which have daily jams.

Of coz in JKT ho chi minh beijing....the folks there get it more jialuck. :(

Luckily we have Euro 4 and 5. Diesel gives off a lot of Ultrafine particles....below 0.1 microns.

Edit -
From your article "They found that BC exposure from biomass smoke is more strongly associated with blood pressure, which directly impacts cardiovascular risk, than total PM mass, and that co-exposure to motor vehicle emissions may strengthen BC’s impact."

Looks like for those who are living near expressway or major roads, the effect of haze + traffic pollution (however light) combined together may have a pretty strong effect here in SG. Remember, haze = 70 days above WHO recommendations for 24-hr mean this year liao, without the effect from traffic.

My office room is overlooking a slip road to a major expressway in the west. Despite closed sliding windows, just need 2 weeks, and there will be a layer of black dust on my table and shelves.... I guess, I will need a purifier more in my office room than at home...

WussRedXLi

My office room is overlooking a slip road to a major expressway in the west. Despite closed sliding windows, just need 2 weeks, and there will be a layer of black dust on my table and shelves.... I guess, I will need a purifier more in my office room than at home...

That sounds bad!!! Esp since we spend many hrs at work.

Somore yours is aircon + siding windows. Imagine if its a HDB.

Could v well be many many times worse than the shiat we get in our food.

lifeishard

sigh...dun know if i wanna get dehumifier or air purifier.

now my aircon has musty smell. smell has somewhat reduced after using jackie cleaner+lysol neutra air but not happy smell not totally gone and my system3 was only installed less in march...do u guys think it's clogged pipe that causes the smell?

read that aircon can dehumify so i think i should spend $ on AP instead of dehumifier? cheapest AP seems to be novita 501,is it still a good buy?

saw the qoo10 samsung model..it's now $365 after confirmation with no warranty...so i'm leaning more towards novita as it's about $299 with warranty...correct choice?

Bro Wrxli,pls advise :(

WussRedXLi

sigh...dun know if i wanna get dehumifier or air purifier.

now my aircon has musty smell. smell has somewhat reduced after using jackie cleaner+lysol neutra air but not happy smell not totally gone and my system3 was only installed less in march...do u guys think it's clogged pipe that causes the smell?

read that aircon can dehumify so i think i should spend $ on AP instead of dehumifier? cheapest AP seems to be novita 501,is it still a good buy?

saw the qoo10 samsung model..it's now $365 after confirmation with no warranty...so i'm leaning more towards novita as it's about $299 with warranty...correct choice?

Bro Wrxli,pls advise :(

Interesting, air con is new installed during March 14. Used Jackie aircon foam cleaner before. Perhaps the musky smell is from your carpet/rug/wallpaper/curtains/bedsheet? Can you stand in front of the aircon FCU and smell?

I'd still recommend the Samsung AX40, it has 2X the volume of HEPA. NAP501's HEPA filter portion is just 0.75 inches thick.

I thought it's S$292 cheapest now. It got as cheap as S$270 i believe.

Qoo10 - Samsung AX40 Search Results : (Q·Ranking)

You can get those cheap thermo and humidity meter from ebay. Bring the aircon temperature to about 25 and 24 deg C. The humidity will be lower.

WussRedXLi

Not trying to fear-monger, but just be mindful and read those areas that may apply in your case. For your long-term planning.

After all, 4pcs of Samsung AX40 + 1pc H13/H14 610mm x 610mm x 50mm HEPA filter from taobao + forwarder shipping via 4PX = the cost of the cheapest LV monogram canvas tote (Neverfull MM) at LV.

The 1pc of taobao filter can cut into 4pcs Samsung AX40 size (11 inches by 12 inches).

PM Effects on Respiratory and Cardiovascular Systems
• Study Finds Black Carbon Linked to Increased Cardiovascular Risk (p.2)
• A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Outdoor Particulate Matter Exposure and Lung Cancer (p. 3)
• Exposure to Particulate Pollution Associated With Lung Cancer (p. 3)
• HEI Publishes Two Comprehensive Studies on Health Effects of PM (p. 4)
• China Study Shows PM1 Air Pollution Most Harmful (p. 5)
• Air Pollution Linked With Thickening of the Arteries, Cardiovascular Problems (p. 6)
• Detailed diesel exhaust characteristics including particle surface area and lung deposited dose for better understanding of health effects in human chamber exposure studies (p. 7)
• Study Finds Increasing Emergency Room Visits for Stroke by Elevated Levels of Fine Particulate Constituents (p. 8)
• Cell Cycle Alterations Induced by Urban PM2.5 in Bronchial Epithelial Cells (p. 8)
• Air Pollution and Hospital Emergency Room and Admissions for Cardiovascular and Respiratory Diseases in Dona Ana County, New Mexico (p. 9)
• A Case-Crossover Study on Ambient Fine Particulate Air Pollution Triggers ST-Elevation Myocardial
Infarction (p. 9)
• Study Associates Air Pollution to Irregular Heartbeat and Lung Blood Clots (p. 10)
• Study Finds Living in Areas Polluted with Fine Particles Raises Lung Cancer Risk (p. 11)
• Increased Ultrafine Particles and Carbon Monoxide Concentrations Are Associated with Asthma Exacerbation Among Urban Children (p. 12)
• New Study Finds Strong Association between Exposure to Fine PM and Cardiovascular Mortality (p. 13)
• Effects of Concentrated Ambient Particles on Normal and Hypersecretory Airways in Rats (p. 13)
• WHO Releases Report on Health Effects of PM (p. 15)
Ultrafine PM
• Researchers Publish Study on PM2.5 Constituents and Hospital Visits in Shanghai (p. 15)
• Epidemiological Evidence on Human Effects of Ultrafine Particles (p. 16)
• HEI Releases New Report on Health Effects of Ultrafine Particles (p. 16)
• Study Identifies Toxicity of Fine and Ultrafine PM from Specific Sources (p. 17)
• Predicting Primary PM2.5 and PM0.1 Trace Composition for Epidemiological Studies in California (p. 18)
• Researchers find Ultrafine Particles Have Independent Health Impacts from Larger Particles (p. 19)
PM and Premature Mortality
• SCAQMD Releases Latest Air Toxics Study, Concludes 57% Drop in Cancer Risk Since 2005 (p. 19)
• NASA Map Shows Deadliest Places on Earth Associated with PM2.5 Air Pollution (p. 20)

• New Study Finds Association Between Reductions in PM2.5 Levels and Improved Life Expectancy in U.S. (p. 21)
• EPA Research Finds Exposure to Ozone and PM2.5 Can Lead to Premature Death (p. 21)
• Modeling Source-Attributable Health Impacts of Ambient Particulate Matter Exposure: Global Premature Mortality from Surface Transportation Emissions in 2005 (p. 22)
PM Effects on Cognitive and Neurological Functions
• Study Warns on Possible Air Pollution Link to Neuroinflammatory, Alzheimer and Parkinson’s Pathologies in Children (p. 23)
• Study Links PM2.5 Exposure to Physical Changes in Brain (p. 23)
• Neurotoxicity of Traffic-related PM on Human Brain Structure (p. 24)
• Exposure to Vehicle Emissions Results in Altered Blood Brain Barrier Permeability and Expression of Matrix Metalloproteinases and Tight Junction Proteins in Mice (p. 25)
• New Study Finds Air Pollution Linked to Cognitive Decline in Later Years (p. 26)
• Study Links PM Air Pollution to Autism, Schizophrenia (p. 27)
• Associations between Traffic-Related Black Carbon Exposure and Attention in a Prospective Birth Cohort of Urban Children (p. 27)
• Convergence of Human, Animal, and In Vitro Studies on the Effects of Air Pollution on the Brain (p. 28)
PM Effects on Human Reproduction
• New Study Concludes that Carbon Nanoparticles in PM2.5 Can Lead to Miscarriage (p. 29)
• Study Finds Air Pollution Exposure in Second Trimester May Increase Asthma Risk in Children (p.29)
• Adverse Reproductive Health Outcomes and Exposures to Gaseous and Particle Matter Air Pollution in Pregnant Women (p. 30)
PM from Alternative Fuels
• Study Reports that Biodiesel PM May Have Greater Adverse Health Effects Than Diesel (p. 31)
• Study Characterizes PM Toxicity from Diesel Passenger Cars Using DPF and Biodiesel Fuel (p. 32)
• Characteristics of Particulate Matter Emissions from a Current Technology Natural Gas Engine (p. 33)
U.S. EPA and California ARB Funded Research Projects on the Health Effects of PM
• U.S. EPA Clean Air Research Centers Awarded Funding to Investigate Health Effects of Air Pollution (p. 33)

WussRedXLi

1pc 610x610x50mm taobao filter = 4pc Samsung AX40 (11 inch by 12 inch). 4PX Shipping costs RMB132 from SZ to SIN.

The filter is legit built, there is even a black colour flexi plastic = HEPA seal (not that you'd use it anyway).

156881016.YTx1rENZ.1.jpg

WussRedXLi

I'd get 2 x Samsung AX40. 1 for the kids room and 1 for the living room.
If there is a need, get the 3rd purifier. (eg PC room)

During the 2014 episode, we had an extended period of haze, albeit levels not as high as 2013. The interesting thing about extended period is that there is no way to keep the kids in a single room for very long periods. It'd be unproductive and terrible for the parents as they'd throw tantrums.

tmkedmw

Our haze due to biomass burning of peat is predominantly (> 90%) 0.15 to 0.4 microns.

Study shows PM1 air pollution is most harmful|Society|chinadaily.com.cn

Study shows PM1 air pollution is most harmful

Researchers spent about two years collecting data in a medium-sized city in northern China, measuring the levels of particulate matter in 23 size categories ranging from 0.25 microns to 10 microns. They then plotted the health conditions of residents in the city against the concentrations of particles of different sizes found in their locations.

PM10, then PM2.5 then PM1. Wonder what's next?

There is a category call UFP (ultra fine particles) which are <100nm or <0.1um.
Research on their health impact is still in relatively early stage.

My gut feel is that as the decades roll, more regulations will be introduced to govern the finer and finer particles.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.