Air purifier?

Dew36

The earlier rain did wash the particles off. The pm2.5 and pm10 are only about 8-15ug/m3 for both. I took the opportunity to air my house.

Sent from GAGT Android App

WussRedXLi

The heavy rain from earlier hopefully can wash away some dust particles!

The earlier rain did wash the particles off. The pm2.5 and pm10 are only about 8-15ug/m3 for both. I took the opportunity to air my house.

Sent from GAGT Android App

The rain was extremely heavy. Whole island from affected from north to south (quite a large area) sweeping from West to east direction. I saw quite a lot of dark red + a few small dots of magenta portions on the weather.gov.sg weather radar (not the NEA one).

Flood risk rises after thunderstorms on Sunday evening - Singapore Environment News & Top Stories - The Straits Times

WussRedXLi

Been using almost every night since last week riaos.

When the alert thing tell you to change filter means time to change filter liao?

Since my DIY sucks, I think I need to hoot the original filters from Qoo :( :(

Missed you reply.
No lah, alert is just a timer. Can disregard.

A HEPA filter can hold X number of grams of total particulates. However that is useful only for say heavy polluting situations like in NE China or even like the conditions in NE Thailand (posted graphs before). For us, we probably won't hit that, hope not. Not even our PSI 401 coz the heavy pollution was only for 3 days actually.

WussRedXLi

I really try not to take panadol as much as possible. Yesterday my head like going to explode I also lun. Finally lun until after dinner then it went away.

You got try those aromatherapy rub boh? Not bad leh for headaches n to clear airways.

Cannot lun lah, suffer for what. But just try not to take that many/too long.

WussRedXLi

NEA reading for 1800-1900h avg = 72 ug/m3 PM2.5 South

My laser particle counter is zhun for both low end (that I was testing against NEA at 4 ug/m3) and also high-range.

159488202.u0eeyBNV.SG2.jpg

Real-time measurement from my PM2.5 laser particle counter, PM2.5 shot to high 70s, low 80s range. 1840h though. South Side.

Hmm........

tmkedmw

Your explanation is plausible, I actually have thought about it last few pages but I didn't go into details but just say that it's relative low wrt PM2.5. PM2.5 literally shot all the way up. It may be a contributing factor, but I don't think it explains the whole thing 100% because it's way out. (I have been eyeing my meter and it actually corresponds to the ground level sitation much better)

Check out the 24-hr PM10 here. Wednesday. It shd be 28 thereabouts. That was a fine day. Confirm with the wunderground.com link below, 10-12km visibility throughout the 24 hours. Compare with current or on Friday which shot all the way up to 40. The range is just too small to try to explain such a large variation on the ground + our meters.

Edit - Also, I just cant find fire sources in Peninsula Malaysia (not to this degree). 72 hours.

Ho Chi Minh is like 500km farther than East Kalimantan and you remember. It is impossible for PM10 to reach here.

Yeah, I agree that pm10 does not fully explain what u observed in readings and how you feel having been exposed outdoors (headache).

I am beginning to wonder whether PM is being generated locally (eg by industries) and also quite localised that it does not get picked up by the official monitoring stations but could be picked up by your monitor when u were there.

NEA in their comments on their website were not conclusive either when we hit unhealthy range.

Here's recent news on new standards to tighten industrial emissions:
NEA tightens industrial emissions standards to improve air quality - Channel NewsAsia

WussRedXLi

Yeah, I agree that pm10 does not fully explain what u observed in readings and how you feel having been exposed outdoors (headache).

I am beginning to wonder whether PM is being generated locally (eg by industries) and also quite localised that it does not get picked up by the official monitoring stations but could be picked up by your monitor when u were there.

NEA in their comments on their website were not conclusive either when we hit unhealthy range.

Here's recent news on new standards to tighten industrial emissions:
NEA tightens industrial emissions standards to improve air quality - Channel NewsAsia

Of coz...not any biggie also lah since the values arent super high. The other regions concentrations are ard there.

I think this year could be quite happening. Must continue to monitor El nino. Yesterday some private property ard the central areas and YCK etc got ponding. Happenig weather nowadays.

PSI 401 might not happen (quite difficult actually), but i think PSI 150 to 200 for 1 month is possible.

WussRedXLi

plasticpistola

Missed you reply.
No lah, alert is just a timer. Can disregard.

A HEPA filter can hold X number of grams of total particulates. However that is useful only for say heavy polluting situations like in NE China or even like the conditions in NE Thailand (posted graphs before). For us, we probably won't hit that, hope not. Not even our PSI 401 coz the heavy pollution was only for 3 days actually.

No prob, bro!

So actually how to know when to change the filter? My usage damn intermittent one, only when got haze then I on :s34:

Btw the AX40 also has Virusdoctor function - that means if got flu virus in the air it can also help clear?

I kena cough n cold lor so I keep telling my parents to turn on their air purifier in the MBR. but they using the Honeywell round round model (50250). Damn ******* noisy lol.

WussRedXLi

So actually how to know when to change the filter? My usage damn intermittent one, only when got haze then I on :s34:

Btw the AX40 also has Virusdoctor function - that means if got flu virus in the air it can also help clear?

I kena cough n cold lor so I keep telling my parents to turn on their air purifier in the MBR. but they using the Honeywell round round model (50250). Damn ******* noisy lol.

If you don't have access to the taobao HEPA filters and wanna keep your budget low, just change when there is any slight smell coming from the outlet. The smell between a fresh filter and even a moderately used one is quite telling. But most people would not know coz "gotten used to the smell liao".

HEPA can filter the aerosolised droplets containing the viruses/germs. No issue. Flu virus matter (eg the widest spread H5N1 is 0.1 microns), HEPA can also filter to a decent degree even if its Taobao ones (Samsung ones tested to do 99% @ 0.1 micron). That's why I recommend people to oversize their air purifiers whenever possible if budget allows. Don't worry if the HEPA does not catch all during the first pass, it would bring it down to below threshold for infection after some time.

50250 damn noisy lah.

WussRedXLi

NEA 5PM PM2.5 reading (1600-1700h) = 27ug/m3 = clean air :)
PM10 (24hr) = 32 ug/m3

Still can't see Batam for nuts, not even any hint of the hills' outline silhouette..

159517267.TkY6omFE.DSC_0008.jpg

BrOwnTeddy

I think its about time for me to buy an air filter. Anyone knows the effect of Plasmacluster Negative IONS on babies? :s11:

WussRedXLi

I think its about time for me to buy an air filter. Anyone knows the effect of Plasmacluster Negative IONS on babies? :s11:

Sharp models have way below permitted limits for Ozone. For babies, seriously just don't turn it on lah.

Remember, for babies, you can practically just times 2 of the current ug/m3. ie 35 ug/m3 wouldn't bother healthy adults.
But it'd be like 70 ug/m3 for them + during their growing up phase. Which is like PSI 110.

BrOwnTeddy

Sharp models have way below permitted limits for Ozone. For babies, seriously just don't turn it on lah.
Hmm.... The Plasmacluster Ion will affect babies? I thought it would be good for them since it eliminates all the viruses and whatnots? :s11:

WussRedXLi

Hmm.... The Plasmacluster Ion will affect babies? I thought it would be good for them since it eliminates all the viruses and whatnots? :s11:

Flu viruses on aerosolised droplets can remain in the air for hours, say due to an infect pax's sneeze.

The HEPA filter would already filter off practically all the viruses and bacteria, coz they travel by aerosolisation. The virus material does not float around by itself suspended in the air.

However, if the droplets sneezed out by an infected person reaches you first before being filterd off and at a concentration that is enough to induce an infection, then all bets are off.

These Plasmacluster thingy claim to deactivate the viruses anytime they are in the air even away from the Air Purifier, that's their main draw. No need to get a pass through the HEPA.

Of course, you'd also need to include regular hand washing for all people.

This is also how N95 masks dramatically reduce the risk of getting influenza etc.

Flu virus: One sneeze can infect entire room for hours | Daily Mail Online

How to stop the flu | MIT News

◾Installing air filters. High-efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filters can remove nearly 98 percent of virus particles. Portable air purifiers can also help, as well as pointing a window fan out the window of the sickroom.

BrOwnTeddy

Flu viruses on aerosolised droplets can remain in the air for hours, say due to an infect pax's sneeze.

The HEPA filter would already filter off practically all the viruses and bacteria, coz they travel by aerosolisation. The virus material does not float around by itself suspended in the air.

However, if the droplets sneezed out by an infected person reaches you first before being filterd off and at a concentration that is enough to induce an infection, then all bets are off.

These Plasmacluster thingy claim to deactivate the viruses anytime they are in the air even away from the Air Purifier, that's their main draw. No need to get a pass through the HEPA.

Of course, you'd also need to include regular hand washing for all people.

This is also how N95 masks dramatically reduce the risk of getting influenza etc.

Flu virus: One sneeze can infect entire room for hours | Daily Mail Online
Hmm.... Ok thanks!

Maybe I'll start looking at Sharp Plasmaclusters air purifiers. I think there are new models coming in to replace the old models. Japan is already selling the new models liaoz.

WussRedXLi

Hmm.... Ok thanks!

Maybe I'll start looking at Sharp Plasmaclusters air purifiers. I think there are new models coming in to replace the old models. Japan is already selling the new models liaoz.

Filters can get from taobao. Ready made, so no need ALWW seller for customisation. You'd need to get the dimension and model number from searches on taobao and then search in this seller's space as he does not list the dimensions.

Ê×Ò³-¾»»¯Æ÷ºÄ²ÄÅú·¢É̳Ç-ÌÔ±¦Íø

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.