Air purifier?

mikeeeey

^ interesting

Didnt know that increasing the thickness will help in increasing airflow. Learnt something new

chuanz

^ interesting

Didnt know that increasing the thickness will help in increasing airflow. Learnt something new

If you look at a HEPA media, it's pleated, like a folded paper fan. So increasing the thickness = more surface area when unfolded = less restrictive to airflow (all else being equal)

Ximple

9am today: PM2.5 >150 (Unhealthy levels) in West and North.

mmWAtj8.jpg

BzEZLc3.jpg

Sauce: http://aqicn.org/city/singapore

BrOwnTeddy

BrOwnTeddy

Wonder if the filter can be readily available. Looks good.
The filter is also available from the online TMall Official Xiaomi shop. Think in addition to the air purifier, get an additional 1 or 2 filters as backup. Then dun have to buy filters for the next.... 1.5yrs to 2yrs at least?

WussRedXLi

Xiaomi in high speed 406m3/h is 75dBA at 1m hor.....like your vacuum cleaner

Honeywell 50250 chuanz already sold away and replaced with a Novita 620. 50250 ish 58dBA. About 450m3/h.

Samseng AX40 45 dBA. 323m3/h

LG LA-Q379SB 47dBA. 318m3/h

WussRedXLi

Morris i think Giant sell 19.90.

PowerPac Japan Home selling 16.90. I think wee bit weaker than Morris.

BrOwnTeddy

Xiaomi in high speed 406m3/h is 75dBA at 1m hor.....like your vacuum cleaner

Honeywell 50250 chuanz already sold away and replaced with a Novita 620. 50250 ish 58dBA. About 450m3/h.

Samseng AX40 45 dBA. 323m3/h

LG LA-Q379SB 47dBA. 318m3/h

Yah. Got people complain about the sound at hi-speed.

But Honeywell is the only one with a true head on head fight with Xiaomi in terms of airflow? Maybe the only point of contention is the sound at hi-speed.

Honeywell is easily twice d price of d xiaomi?

Sigh...

WussRedXLi

Yah. Got people complain about the sound at hi-speed.

But Honeywell is the only one with a true head on head fight with Xiaomi in terms of airflow? Maybe the only point of contention is the sound at hi-speed.

Honeywell is easily twice d price of d xiaomi?

Sigh...

Due to the sound of the Xiaomi, give me $200 incld 4PX -> SIN forwarding, i also need to consider. $99 i will buy for fun. :D Basically it's a 250+ m3/hr AP with a turbo mode @ 406 that needs to wear ear plugs during operation. :)

This 480 m3/hr one (CADR somemore) used to be $399. Including 1 extra filter. (filters can be purchased locally)
Can PM them if can discount. 58 dBA.
http://list.qoo10.sg/item/CNY-CRAZY-SALE-NEVER-AGAIN-PREMIUM/421450063?sellerview=on
The 3M brand HEPA filter is high quality enough to filter PM0.1 Ultra Fine Particles and give a measured CADR of 480m3/h or 282 CFM.

Blueair 650 is 860m3/hr i think. Another US Brand Airgle also v powerful. All are ex.

Or go Taobao get the China models AX60 and AX70. 700-800 m3/hr. About $800-900.

Most powerful one i have ever seen is a Coway (South Korea) model AP3xxxx on taobao. 1200m3/hr.

But seriously for our normal use for Indon biomass smoke, taobao filter and a 300m3/h original spec machine is more than enough. Unless the patient is like 2yrs old with operation due to Congenital Heart Block etc.

SIM37_

moi humble and taobao hooted 2x HEPA filter taped behind a fan

10501592_10152340452817797_470214919451510291_n.jpg

10402391_10152340452697797_1134917221800307274_n.jpg

10639521_10152340452757797_8169403884472756973_n.jpg

Great airflow, make sure the tape is done up nicely.

Advantages??

2 filters with good surface area to trap particles.

Fan blades don't get dirty.

Best part, pricing is 1/4 of any conventional filter you buy with less surface area.

I've been using this over a year. It works well. If a/c is on during hazy day, I turn this on in the room. You can smell the difference outside where its hazy, the air is different.

Filter is already dark grey now. Gonna change a new set.

Asakura

air purifier is not like vacuum cleaner when the job is done you can turn it off after like say 30-45mins..

or at least for me, i leave them on thru out the night or few hours to work on the air quality in the house. so i can't imagine having a 'vacuum cleaner' volume turned on for so long. watch tv or trying to slp will be a problem.

WussRedXLi

air purifier is not like vacuum cleaner when the job is done you can turn it off after like say 30-45mins..

or at least for me, i leave them on thru out the night or few hours to work on the air quality in the house. so i can't imagine having a 'vacuum cleaner' volume turned on for so long. watch tv or trying to slp will be a problem.

Yes...must be constantly on, as measured and confirmed by a laser particle counter. If not serious use, can thottle down speed.

Asakura

is your living room fit with aircon?

new BTO has like dozens of constructions going on for at least the next 5years even if you get ur keys, other BTO will rise, maybe just opposite your block. so im considering whether to fix up aircon in living room and on air purifier.

like not healthy to my pocket. lol

WussRedXLi

is your living room fit with aircon?

new BTO has like dozens of constructions going on for at least the next 5years even if you get ur keys, other BTO will rise, maybe just opposite your block. so im considering whether to fix up aircon in living room and on air purifier.

like not healthy to my pocket. lol

No AC. Its not cost effective as the area to be cooled is relatively large in addition to the 2 small corridors which are like dead areas. Would rather AC the rooms for long periods.

Will need at least 20k btu/h for 4 rm and mid 20k btu/h for 5 room living room.

chuanz

But if you didn't fix AC (living room, etc), once move in cannot regret liao...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.