Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Another good 11 mins video with regards to Air Purifiers testing in China in their standard 30 cu metre test chamber.

Samsung AX40 and IQAir Healthpro tested inside!

Samsung AX40
Result : Slightly above 1000ug/m3 (!!!!) got filtered to 1 ug/m3 within 35 mins
Power consumption : 27.5 watts as measured (official spec is 34W)

IQAir Healthpro (not sure which model but I don't think got any below SGD2,200)
Result : Slightly above 1000ug/m3 (!!!!) got filtered to 1 ug/m3 within 28 mins
Power consumption : 139.1 watts as measured :D :D

Difference in electrical cost is SGD117 per year.

Video in the details section.
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?sp...=43954500555&ns=1&_u=51u0hciba683&abbucket=10

159955322.o0iDsLrG.1.jpg

WussRedXLi

Ok, before I get flamed by an IQAir fanboy, I better disclaim that the special HEPA (they brand it as HyperHEPA) used in the IQAir can filter till PM0.001 at a high efficiency of 99%.

The Samsung has been measured to do PM0.1 at 99%.
(that means that it will do PM0.05 pretty ok as well, just takes more time)

Both filters all types of vehicular exhaust just fine (ultrafine particles are PM0.1), and handles Indonesian biomass haze also just as well. RNA virus particle matter do not float in the air by themselves, they need to ride on a big few microns aerosol or something (by sneeze/cough). etc

WussRedXLi

Actually from the above test, you can see that the last Yadu AP having an airflow spec of about 180m3/h and using China HEPA also works. Not too shabby in terms of performance. China HEPAs do work.

Remember, the laser particle counter is a 5 fig Dustrak. Cigarette smoke does not have much PM10 at all, if there's any in the first place.

Quote:
Size distribution for six cigarettes of each type was measured, CMD and GSD were determined from a computer-generated log probability plot, and MMD was calculated. The size distribution parameters obtained were similar for all cigarettes tested, with an average CMD of 0.1 micron, a MMD of 0.38 micron

WussRedXLi

Someone just lit the petrol station. 2 x strong typhoons (very much confirmed will develop into strong typhoons) and 1 x Invest system (still developing) in the Western pacific. This is very unusual for May.
That's creating westerly winds bursts that will fuel more warming and develop the El Nino.

NEA and Straits Times rely on overseas agencies for GPGT. I think they will be breaking their silence soon with regards to El nino.

Watch this space.

zuoom

Is there something in the air of late? My unit is working overtime. Seldom see the red light comes on. But for this week it is showing quite often.

WussRedXLi

Is there something in the air of late? My unit is working overtime. Seldom see the red light comes on. But for this week it is showing quite often.

Very slightly haziness, on off on off type. Pls read the past 2-4 pages.
West seems to be the most affected.

how much is the samsung ax40?

About SGD290 delivered.

WussRedXLi

ya the past few days west side hazy hazy and weather is damn humid and sticky :(

Show's not even started. Just priming up the explosive base.

Can u imagine a baseline of 50+ ug/m3 or PSI 95+, 10 days of PSI 120, 10 days of 3hr PSI 150 and 10 days of PSI 180 from late Aug to late Nov 3 months? Maybe 1 day of PSI 199 as peak? With weather peaking 36.5 deg c and more 34/35 deg c days.

Will have a v large effect on us. Anybody who gets "sick" wont exactly recover fully withough hardcore filtration to get it "well below threshold" for the upper respiratory tract to recover FULLY.

Shopping malls or swimming pools isnt the solution.

plasticpistola

Show's not even started. Just priming up the explosive base.

Can u imagine a baseline of 50+ ug/m3 or PSI 95+, 10 days of PSI 120, 10 days of 3hr PSI 150 and 10 days of PSI 180 from late Aug to late Nov 3 months? Maybe 1 day of PSI 199 as peak? With weather peaking 36.5 deg c and more 34/35 deg c days.

Will have a v large effect on us. Anybody who gets "sick" wont exactly recover fully withough hardcore filtration to get it "well below threshold" for the upper respiratory tract to recover FULLY.

Shopping malls or swimming pools isnt the solution.

i seriously cannot imagine 36.5deg leh.......this kind of weather is oredi :s22::s22::s22:

WussRedXLi

i seriously cannot imagine 36.5deg leh.......this kind of weather is oredi :s22::s22::s22:

Those in Grade A and possibly Grade B offices ok lah. Likely the AC and AHUs are decked with F7 to F9 quality filters. The usual big datacentres like Expan/Kim Chuan/Equinox and big coy firms DCs also ok obviously. :)
Then go home switch on APs and aircon.

For kids, the premium infantcare/childcare are ok usually. If not, donate some 3M Filtrete and/or fan with Filtrete lah. :D Home care by parents etc, you DIY liao.

Other childcares, on the other hand.... :(:(

tanahgu

air quality sucks at circuit road area today

strong exhaust smells

Lucky177

Thank you for your input, definitely helpful towards my understanding.

Seems like Sharp A80 is the choice. Just wondering, nobody mention Novita, is there a reason why?

I had use their AirCare Air Sterilizer (free gift) in the past, spoilt after a few months later. I believe it is the fan motor. Not sure. Perhaps mine was an exception. Have no experience with their puriclean air purifier.

I have been using Honeywell purifiers for years. Serves me well. No problem. Very lasting. When the hepa filter is due for change, by seeing how the hepa filter outer rim has turned from white to black, while the inner remains white, it gives u the confidence that the air is being cleaned very well.

Am currently using the 18200 and 18450 models. Only minus point is they aren't 'silent' purifiers as compared to those plasmacluster.

I'm not an expert in purifiers.

Just sharing.

WussRedXLi

http://blogs.news.com.au/heraldsun/...ing_herald_hype_yet_another_el_nino_disaster/

08 May 2015 (11:29am)

Our Bureau of Meteorology announces an El Nino disaster is coming - one the Sydney Morning Herald hypes into a drought disaster for “the world”:

The world is headed into a major drought-bringing El Nino event, which will lift global temperatures and lead to bushfires and water shortages in eastern Australia, climate scientists have confirmed.

Fairfax Media understands that Australia’s Bureau of Meteorology will announce next Tuesday that the El Nino event is all but certain.

“All but certain.” Is that more certain that last year’s dud prediction of a “90% chance” of an El Nino?:

The global El Niño weather phenomenon, whose impacts cause global famines, floods – and even wars – now has a 90% chance of striking this year, according to the latest forecast released to the Guardian.

We actually got no El Nino and floods instead.

The 2012 predictions of an El Nino also turned out to be duds:

The leading provider of seasonal forecasts in Australia is the Bureau of Meteorology, who issue a bi-weekly ENSO update. The most recent BoM ENSO update came on 5th June 2012, and states:

… All seven models surveyed indicate conditions are likely to approach, or possibly exceed, El Niño thresholds during the late winter to early spring period. Large parts of eastern Australia are typically drier and warmer than normal in winter/spring as El Niño events develop. No climate models favour a return to La Niña…

Indeed, the BoM’s manager of climate monitoring, Dr Karl Braganza, seemed very certain of a coming El Niño this week when he spoke to ABC’s Radio National. While the strength of the coming El Niño was as yet unknown, Dr Braganza said, the modelling left little doubt it is on its way:

Look, it’s looking reasonably straight forward now in terms of the way the models are going. When you get a whole lot of models going in one direction that increases your confidence that they’re doing something real.

Once again, we got more floods instead.

Maybe the Bureau is right this time, and we really will get the El Nino that keeps not turning up. Or maybe its climate models are biased too much to catastrophe.

UPDATE

The Age is gloating that a natural fluctuation could panic voters into punishing Tony Abbott for not believing more in man-made global warming:

While it is still early days – and unclear how severe the El Nino will be – weather could soon become a problem for Tony Abbott…

The Abbott government faces a test this year as it heads into global climate talks in Paris. The international community has made it clear Australia should bring strong post-2020 emissions reduction targets and policies to the table.

A change in the weather could see that pressure grow at home.

(Thanks to reader Mark M.)

WussRedXLi

I have been playing with the China Taobao HEPAs.

The thing abt the Samsung AX40 is that the Taobao HEPAs vs original HEPAs, it's a bit difficult to match the originals.

Eg Samsung AX40 original HEPA (used for 8 months, 2014 haze) airflow speed = 15+ to 16kph. I am not sure what is the airflow of a brand new Samsung filter.
Taobao 45mm thick HEPA that's about 97% efficient = 15kph.
Another seller's HEPA that's 25mm thick but having more folds @ 82 segments instead of 65 segments which is what the 45mm depth HEPA is having....I got 13kph.

LG PSR459 original HEPA, brand new..37mm. 21 kph
Taobao 45mm thick HEPA (same seller as above) = 22kph. :eek:

Same thing goes for the FZ-31 and Sharp A28, good airflow with other sellers' taobao HEPAs.

Seems like the Samsung motor is geared for speed/airflow rather than "torque", if you know what I mean. A more restrictive filter would bog it down.

But granted, it's drawing a pretty low wattage and very low in noise, so I am happy to take a hit in the airflow. Can't be helped when I can't afford to use originals in the long term esp I usually change 6 months time for every AP that's used daily.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.