Air purifier?

alvinalf

Thanks Pandaeyed.

I was going thru the past posts on where to order the custom taobao filter when i chanced upon your post - i missed that out the prev time when the forum was moving fast.

will print your solution and paste beside my AX40.

Thanks!

Thanks Goni for finally solving my problem. To be fair they took 3 working days to reply to my video.

Samsung Singapore (Commonwealth branch) checked my purifier, then they t old me my motherboard is spoilt (just because they want to earn my money $200 to change motherboard SG! ) its either they are very clueless or dishonest and greedy

Samsung Korea and Goni global told me the reason why lights are blinking and not functioning.
Here is the solution
The reason all the lights are just blinking is because the options is unset.

This problem can be solved by
1) Unplug the purifier,
2) Connect the plug,
3) press Menu button + Lock looking button for 3 seconds (it will make a "ting" sound),
4) Press menu button + power button for 3 seconds (it will make a "ting" sound),
Thats your option set.
5) Unplug your purifier and connect, it will work normally.

Hope it helps everyone

mindgamey

What the....

I think tio liao lah...there shd be some mixing of external unfiltered air to the output. It feels pretty strong.

Bu if you'd check out the replacement filter at BEST, it is pretty small and thin (abt 25mm thick).

Ya it's limited by size/diameter of the whole fan.

So what can filter pm0.1 better than others.

Cadr is a joke, what a waste, I won't mind paying for a 2 in 1 device cos all the clean air from the ap is wasted by not directing the air at people like a fan.

Was tempted by it until I saw figures.

Dyson Pure cool is good for normal operation, haze is no no.

wizardundo

Good Afternoon, the AX40 filter ordered from Happy Call is here. It took about 1 week. (24/10 - 02/11)

front.jpg

IMG_20151102_153906.jpg

rearjpg.jpg

Although they claimed that the filter is vacuum packed and sealed in vynyl (referring to their claim in F&Q below), it is not true as you can see from the 3rd picture where the red circle denotes a punctuated hole which can be found on both side. (I've since use paper to cover the hole and tape over it)

Anyway, it looks authenticate to me. (I've not opened the black plastic as I want to keep this filter for next year):s13:

It's currently selling at $58/- (dropped $6/-) instead of $64/- ($54 for me as I used the $10/- discount)

Pandaeyed

No worries Alvinalf, i was just thinking if i should do just that too! Print and paste is a Gd suggestion. Cos for some reason. This special reboot setting is not in the manual at all

laeticia

The ax40 filter price really not bad.

I wonder if they overstocked...was kicking myself for missing last's week's promo but this week's promo even cheaper @$58 before coupons

already have 1 spare per machine but gonna stock up

dqwong

Filter smell coz adsorbed molecue escaped as carbon filter is fully loaded. Or poor quality carbon...not as activated

if shaking or heat can cause the molecules to escape, then it is possible for us to use heat from the sun and vibration to degas the activated carbon?

kandinsky

if shaking or heat can cause the molecules to escape, then it is possible for us to use heat from the sun and vibration to degas the activated carbon?

Doesn't sound easy...

Reactivation and regeneration

The reactivation or the regeneration of activated carbons involves restoring the adsorptive capacity of saturated activated carbon by desorbing adsorbed contaminants on the activated carbon surface.

Thermal reactivation
The most common regeneration technique employed in industrial processes is thermal reactivation.[47] The thermal regeneration process generally follows three steps:[48]
  • Adsorbent drying at approximately 105 °C (221 °F)
  • High temperature desorption and decomposition (500–900 °C (932–1,652 °F)) under an inert atmosphere
  • Residual organic gasification by an oxidising gas (steam or carbon dioxide) at elevated temperatures (800 °C (1,470 °F))
The heat treatment stage utilises the exothermic nature of adsorption and results in desorption, partial cracking and polymerization of the adsorbed organics. The final step aims to remove charred organic residue formed in the porous structure in the previous stage and re-expose the porous carbon structure regenerating its original surface characteristics. After treatment the adsorption column can be reused. Per adsorption-thermal regeneration cycle between 5–15 wt% of the carbon bed is burnt off resulting in a loss of adsorptive capacity.[49] Thermal regeneration is a high energy process due to the high required temperatures making it both an energetically and commercially expensive process.[48] Plants that rely on thermal regeneration of activated carbon have to be of a certain size before it is economically viable to have regeneration facilities onsite. As a result, it is common for smaller waste treatment sites to ship their activated carbon cores to a specialised facility for regeneration, increasing the process' already significant carbon footprint.[50]

Other regeneration techniques[edit]
Current concerns with the high energy/cost nature of thermal regeneration of activated carbon has encouraged research into alternative regeneration methods to reduce the environmental impact of such processes. Though several of the regeneration techniques cited have remained areas of purely academic research, some alternatives to thermal regeneration systems have been employed in industry. Current alternative regeneration methods are:

• Chemical and solvent regeneration[51]
  • Microbial regeneration[52]
  • Electrochemical regeneration[53]
  • Ultrasonic regeneration[54]
  • Wet air oxidation[55]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Activated_carbon#Reactivation_and_regeneration

WussRedXLi

Time sales now the ax40 filter is $49.9.

Wah....cheong!

Bought 2pcs.
I believe they are clearing this 2014 model and stuff for the slightly more powerful 350 m3/hr 2015 model.

2016 - Use Taobao 60mm if there is any haze. Was using the 60mm for 3 weeks, now will changed back to 45mm as there is a slight TCM smell.
2016 Normal non-hazy month usage use the 25mm or 35mm HEPA and cut into size (RMB26 or RMB respectively).

If there are any moderate haze episodes, will take out 1pc the Samsung AX40 original to use.

Remaining 1pc Samsung AX40 keep for next moderate to strong El Nino. :D

WussRedXLi

Thanks! Bought another 1 more for next year..

Now just need to find 25/35mm.. :s13:

I use the AX40 in the comp room, so it's also used as a fan that the airflow is directed at my body, so 28 deg C aircon is also very comfy.

I use a small piece of plastic to raise the backside so the flow is aimed down a bit more. :s13:

25mm works ok, it sucks 19W power (down from about 28W) and pumps around 220-240 m3/hr. Just nice for a 12 cu metre room during non-haze months. More than enough to reach 0 ug/m3 on the meters.
(a few months ago I and others had a debate with a Blueair user saying that the Taobao/Samsung original filter cannot match Blueair's electrostatic hybrid ones, end up the filtration efficiency/CADR of the Blueair 203 is so much lower when tested in China :s22:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.