All go report this hao lian blantantly drinking water in MRT.

Encouragesome1

he drinking pure water....

actually is there a leeway on this? i recall long ago there was some incident whereby commuter need to take medicine with water. can't rmb if SMRT made an exception to this
The rule of thumb is , the rule is there for some reason: to prevent a certain mischief. Here no drinking or eating is to prevent littering whether food bits or spilling water or drink etc etc. but if you don’t sip that few sips of water or that med eg a pill or a sweet u r going to faint u can discreetly sip it - but if someone complain u, the mrt staff will still ask u if u can abstain till u get out the mrt. Thats the way it is. He blatantly go n challenge the rule then great, let mrt escort him out of mrt premises lo

sAVaGEmP5

Think every human beings can tell that guy in video isn't your fragile elderly so no need to stir and gaslight.

If u not happy u go write in to SMRT, lawfirms, ministers and SPF to protect that PRC lor, no one care nor is stopping u from acting herotic keyboard warrior. Have some pride, if want be HERO own and prove that with actions.

HAVE some critical thinking like these users too:
U the only 1 who small small thing report this report tat.

Nobody cares abt u

A police report has been lodged against a man who filmed himself challenging the rules on the MRT in Singapore by blatantly drinking plain water next to a "No Drinking" sign.

wanderandwondered

he trying to start some internet challenge is it

just go set up full hotpot dining setup inside the train la knn
Mainland Visitors Eating On A Hong Kong Train Caused A Huge Fight

Recently, a dispute between Mainland visitors and Hong Kong residents caused by Mainland visitors eating on a Hong Kong MTR train was captured on video. Video was then viewed extensively on the Internet and caused heated discussions amongst Hong Kong and Mainland netizens.

This video captured the incident happened on January 15, 2012, on a Hong Kong MTR (Mass Transit Railway) East Rail line train departing from Hung Hom, Hong Kong to Luohu, Shenzhen, Guangdong. Carrying their luggage, eight Mainland visitors including children were departing from Hong Kong. 30-year-old Hong Kong resident Mr. Wei and his girlfriend were on the same train.

A Mainland mother poured some dried instant noddle onto her daughter’s hands, the little girl started to eat the noodle from her hands, during which some noodle spilled onto the floor. Because eating and drinking are not allowed on the MTR, Mr. Wei spoke to them in not so standard Mandarin, “I am sorry, you can not eat here.”

Due to the video only captured when after the shouting had started; also when one MTR staff was brought to the scene, no one knew what had happened before. Mr. Wei stated on the Internet on January 17, “After I told them, the kid stopped eating, however the mother accused me of making trouble. Her companions also laughed at my bad Mandarin, said they couldn’t even understand.”

Mr. Wei when interviewed by Xinhua News Agency reporter on January 18 admitted his Mandarin was not good, but at the time he could not stand how the other party made fun of it. “I suddenly was so furious, that was looking down on me, disrespecting me.” Mr. Wei yelled back in Cantonese, his girlfriend also joined the fight.

Some Hong Kong passengers tried to stop them, saying the Mainland visitors did something wrong and also started yelling and asked the MTR staff to resolve the dispute. Then, the MTR staff came to learn about the situation. The little girl said, “Mother should be at fault.” “It’s all my fault.” Finally the MTR staff asked both parties to get off the train at the third stop to resolve the disputes.

Caption:

Mainland woman: Just tell us clearly, right? Not a big deal.
Hong Kong woman: It is not a big deal, but even it is a small thing, it is still not good.
Mainland woman: Not good, we know now, isn’t it enough? What else do you want?
??: Don’t fight, no use arguing with them.
Hong Kong woman: Tell them all to get off the train.
Hong Kong man: We are not afraid of wasting time.
Hong Kong man to staff: They are eating noddle here, spilling all over the place. I told them you can not eat on the train.
Mainland woman to staff: Because children just got on the train and the children don’t know.
Hong Kong man to staff: Then they started yelling. This is Hong Kong.
Little girl: Mom should be at fault, sister.
Hong Kong man to staff: We told them can not eat here. Then they started yelling at us. You should ticket them.
Staff: Which of you will apologize.
Mainland woman: sorry (in English)
Staff: Don’t say sorry to me.
Hong Kong Man: Speaking English sorry, so smart!.
Mainland woman: I don’t understand Cantonese.
Staff to Mainland woman: Are these yours? Get off the train in a moment.
Hong Kong man: Ok I don’t have a problem.
Staff: Are you all together?
Mainland woman: I don’t understand.
Staff: (in Mandarin) How many of you? Get off next stop.
Mainland woman: Ok, get off.
Staff: We do not allowing eating here.
Mainland woman A: let me explain.
Mainland woman B: please let her explain.
Mainland woman A: we just got on the train, the children do not know, I stopped her right the way.
Staff: OK get off next stop.
Little girl: Not my fault.
Mainland woman to little girl: not your fault, not your fault.
Hong Kong man: I saw adults were also eating, you should be punished.
Mainland woman B: I didn’t know.
Mainland woman: Please stop.
Hong Kong man: Get off together, do not need to talk to them, all Mainland people are like this. Get off.
Mainland woman: Curse you to death after we get off!

Apple Daily’s version:

Here is Hong Kong tv.on.cc’s version:

Hongkonger’s resentment towards Mainlander continue to escalate and now it reaches an uncontrollable level…

Stay tuned for more controversy developed because of this incident. A Beijing University professors said “Hongkongnese are dogs” on a TV program in a discussion of the above incident. This video clip went viral again and created even more stirs…

https://www.businessinsider.com/mai...-on-hong-kong-train-cause-a-huge-fight-2012-1

wanderandwondered

he trying to start some internet challenge is it

just go set up full hotpot dining setup inside the train la knn
Viral video sparks debate on public behavior in Chinese subways

A viral video from China has ignited a debate on social media regarding uncivilized and peculiar behavior on public transportation. The footage captured an elderly man in the Suzhou subway system of Jiangsu province, Eastern China, placing multiple dishes on a train seat next to him and indulging in his meal.

According to reports, the incident occurred on June 18, with the man nonchalantly placing three bowls of different dishes and a bowl of steamed rice on the vacant seat. Despite the presence of other passengers nearby, the man seemed unfazed as he enjoyed his meal during the journey.

An official from the city’s metro operator acknowledged that eating and drinking are prohibited on subway trains. However, as the route the man was on is currently undergoing a trial operation and offers free rides to passengers, there is no regular staff patrolling the carriages. The official urged passengers to report any improper behavior to their customer service hotline, and they would send personnel to intervene and discourage such actions.

The video has gained significant attention on mainland Chinese social media platforms. On Douyin alone, it has been viewed by four million people, generating around 2,000 comments. While many users criticized the man’s behavior, citing the need for consideration towards fellow passengers, some defended him or suggested a more tolerant approach.

The incident is not the first time inappropriate behavior on Chinese subways has garnered online attention. In a previous incident, a woman in Eastern China crawled on all fours in a subway train while her companions filmed the act, claiming it was performance art. In Shanghai, a young boy repeatedly bothered passengers, encouraging them to engage in hand-holding and swing games while his mother stood by, encouraging his actions.

These incidents serve as reminders of the ongoing challenges faced in maintaining proper etiquette and civility on public transportation systems. While some argue for stricter enforcement and adherence to rules, others advocate for a more understanding and tolerant society. As such, discussions surrounding public behavior on subways continue to attract attention and spark conversations in China.

https://beijingtimes.com/culture/pe...debate-on-public-behavior-in-chinese-subways/

Milodrink

U the only 1 who small small thing report this report tat.

Nobody cares abt u

U mean nobody care abt u.

So many 50+ ppl condemning and reported that prc guy on Reddit, HWZ and many other online platform.

Only U reacted way too triggered fuming mad and crying on behalf of that reported guy over your so called "small small" thing.

Can anyone explain Y ah

Mountainnodew

Really throw face. Why want to eat in the train in the first place? And is not polite to talk down someone because of the language. The child is watching you.

eAtNeAt

Why other countries allowed to eat and drink but not sinkies.

PiKa

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20250922-7553428?ref=today-news-section-card-6

police report liao

Man drinks water on subway, films video, defies eating and drinking rules; SMRT reports to police​

Kwong Yu-wai
Published / September 22, 2025, 10:18 PM
A young man, standing in front of the gate at Chinese Garden Station, declared in Mandarin that he would challenge the ban on drinking water on the subway. Before the video ended, he said on the platform at Outram Park Station: It turns out that you can drink water freely in Singapore subway stations. (From a social media platform)

A young man, standing in front of the gate at Chinese Garden Station, declared in Mandarin that he would challenge the ban on drinking water on the subway. Before the video ended, he said on the platform at Outram Park Station: "It turns out that you can drink water freely in Singapore subway stations." (From a social media platform)

A man filmed a "challenge video" on the East-West Line train, openly drinking water in front of a "No Eating or Drinking" warning sign. SMRT said it has reported the matter to the police.
In a video circulating online, the young man, standing at the gates of Chinese Garden Station, declared in Mandarin that he would challenge the ban on drinking water on the subway. He then pointed to a sign inside the train carriage warning of a ban on eating and drinking and a $500 fine, then gulped down his bottle of mineral water and gave the camera a thumbs-up. Before the video ended, he said on the platform of Outram Park Station, "It turns out that drinking water is allowed freely in Singapore subway stations."
The video sparked widespread online outrage and criticism. SMRT CEO Lam Xiaokai responded to inquiries from Lianhe Zaobao on Monday (September 22) stating that the company had been notified of the incident. According to MRT regulations, eating and drinking on trains is strictly prohibited. SMRT has filed a police report.
Lan Xiaokai also said: "SMRT takes this irresponsible behavior seriously. We strongly encourage passengers who witness similar incidents to report them to our staff immediately."

ZETMAN

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/singapore/story20250922-7553428?ref=today-news-section-card-6

police report liao

Man drinks water on subway, films video, defies eating and drinking rules; SMRT reports to police​

Kwong Yu-wai
Published / September 22, 2025, 10:18 PM
A young man, standing in front of the gate at Chinese Garden Station, declared in Mandarin that he would challenge the ban on drinking water on the subway. Before the video ended, he said on the platform at Outram Park Station: It turns out that you can drink water freely in Singapore subway stations. (From a social media platform)

A young man, standing in front of the gate at Chinese Garden Station, declared in Mandarin that he would challenge the ban on drinking water on the subway. Before the video ended, he said on the platform at Outram Park Station: "It turns out that you can drink water freely in Singapore subway stations." (From a social media platform)

A man filmed a "challenge video" on the East-West Line train, openly drinking water in front of a "No Eating or Drinking" warning sign. SMRT said it has reported the matter to the police.
In a video circulating online, the young man, standing at the gates of Chinese Garden Station, declared in Mandarin that he would challenge the ban on drinking water on the subway. He then pointed to a sign inside the train carriage warning of a ban on eating and drinking and a $500 fine, then gulped down his bottle of mineral water and gave the camera a thumbs-up. Before the video ended, he said on the platform of Outram Park Station, "It turns out that drinking water is allowed freely in Singapore subway stations."
The video sparked widespread online outrage and criticism. SMRT CEO Lam Xiaokai responded to inquiries from Lianhe Zaobao on Monday (September 22) stating that the company had been notified of the incident. According to MRT regulations, eating and drinking on trains is strictly prohibited. SMRT has filed a police report.
Lan Xiaokai also said: "SMRT takes this irresponsible behavior seriously. We strongly encourage passengers who witness similar incidents to report them to our staff immediately."
can eithad airways also file a suit against this AT for doing bring negative publicity to their brand :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.