Alot of MOE teachers are dissatisfied about their Salary

danguard

premium also to wages as its a management role of sorts and global role as well

jimmy

Let’s put it this way. We are not exactly unsatisfied with our salary. But we are not satisfied with hiw much we could reasonably buy, including house, using our salary.

Philipkee

true also

mabbe can work wonders
Reminds me of a Dilbert and dogbert comic. Dilbert asked the same question of a new hire who got paid a lot for doing nothing. So Dilbert asked what wonders can he do.

The new hire replies," I sxxt gold."

Potato_Wedges

Parents can sue teachers for negligence.
But teachers cannot sue parents for chia siew kids.

danguard

Reminds me of a Dilbert and dogbert comic. Dilbert asked the same question of a new hire who got paid a lot for doing nothing. So Dilbert asked what wonders can he do.

The new hire replies," I sxxt gold."

what does that mean de ?

danguard

Let’s put it this way. We are not exactly unsatisfied with our salary. But we are not satisfied with hiw much we could reasonably buy, including house, using our salary.

cause housing price increase rate a lot higher than our pay :cry:

arsenalfc85

Teachers do not have annual leave la, dun anyhow bomb la...

ya. true. teachers dont have annual leave. their annual leave is their school holidays. which is not too bad also.

march holidays 1 week minus half a week to do some work= 0.5 weeks
june holidays 4 weeks minus 2 weeks to do some work plus meetings plus cca etc= 2 weeks
september hols 1 week minus half week to do some work= 0.5 weeks
december holidays 6 weeks minus 2 weeks for year end meeting n start of year meeting= 4 weeks

total got 7 weeks= 35 days
add teachers day n youth day n childrens day (for pri sch)= 37-38 days of leave every year

not bad wor. most jobs only 21 days annual leave. they got extra 16 -17 days. but of cuz if u minus the number of weekends they burnt marking worksheets maybe sama sama la..

except pe teachers, since holidays they also dont need to mark. smelly smelly 45 days of leave in a year

arsenalfc85

moe teacher is earn how much a month ar? bonus leh? benefits leh? no more free parking right?

depends on their grade/rank like in all gahment sectors.

normal teachers of geo grade starting about 3k, hit ceiling about 7.5k (gross salary, havent deduct cpf n havent add bonus). when hit ceiling depends on how fast the teachers are promoted. some hit ceiling by early to mid 40s, some maybe 50 years old plus then hit ceiling.

if go up to seo grades (usually the hods), probably starting 7k, hit ceilng about 9k? (gross salary, havent deduct cpf n havent add bonus).

bonus are the usual- performance bonus, mid year, year end n 13th month

benefits are the usual medical n dental benefits...they got extra $500-$700 every year too, n every 3-5 years got a lump sum of about 10-15k.

no more free parking.

all in all, its decent income. not super high, but definitely not super low either. for singles will be more than enough. to get married n hv children should be enough too. but to stay high end condo n get expensive cars might be a stretch, unless the teacher is single n hit at least hod level.

Cryophoenix

depends on their grade/rank like in all gahment sectors.

normal teachers of geo grade starting about 3k, hit ceiling about 7.5k (gross salary, havent deduct cpf n havent add bonus). when hit ceiling depends on how fast the teachers are promoted. some hit ceiling by early to mid 40s, some maybe 50 years old plus then hit ceiling.

if go up to seo grades (usually the hods), probably starting 7k, hit ceilng about 9k? (gross salary, havent deduct cpf n havent add bonus).

bonus are the usual- performance bonus, mid year, year end n 13th month

benefits are the usual medical n dental benefits...they got extra $500-$700 every year too, n every 3-5 years got a lump sum of about 10-15k.

no more free parking.

all in all, its decent income. not super high, but definitely not super low either. for singles will be more than enough. to get married n hv children should be enough too. but to stay high end condo n get expensive cars might be a stretch, unless the teacher is single n hit at least hod level.
Can supplement with tuition income. :s12:

rathalos

salary.sg is a toxic place where people make up imaginary salaries and b**ch about being underpaid for a simple brainless job..

Courage

Teachers are paid peanuts. They mostly work in non aircon environment, work long hours and highly stressful. They should be paid more. We should invest in our future generations and not lose the best teachers due to pay

jinmuddy

not all bah, some is really good and pour heart in teaching one
my generation one cfm have. The teachers i had were focused on fixing us. Maybe then can vent on stewdents unlike now.

Same like our cabinet, now its all money talk.

jinmuddy

like that still not contented...

teachers really strawberries..
handled a few parents .. they stress already.

u go outside pte sector.. u handle many many grown adults who have no qualms in mincing you and eating you for lunch
exactly. U tell me which job outai ish no stress de.

Even bosses are ******* stress.

at least teachers have more or less iron rice bowl which doesnt apply anywhere else except maybe for cibil serbice nowadays.

tanakow

quitters will be quitters everywhere.

wait till they enter the real working world.
Like that our Ministers, mayors , justices etc, how?. They don’t want to quit but they kpkb salary low ; less than one plate of CKT.

en_8_en

I think Youtube or elearning platforms provide so much more knowledge than traditional teachers.

Plus assuming if you digitise exams / assignments, where got need to really mark papers?

Another self preservation job by the old stagnant brains.

Cannot expect to rise up by doing the same sxxt everyday right. These are the toxic people in the workforce.
"I work hard, I work X hours, I work X years, how come I never promote, how come never salary increase" , which speaks the boomer mindset that hog alot of positions in companies and not value adding.

Only behkan people use "effort and time" to justify a salary.

LoUsyGamER

TS is teacher? I have seen teachers very hard to change career unless he or she had gone to moe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.