[AMA] I am a veterinarian. Ask me anything :D

lycans

why is renal failure a common prob in dogs?

Its usually more common in cats. Reasons are multifactorial if its chronic. Sometimes if your dog consume certain poisons then it may trigger renal failure instantly

lycans

Thank you for your recommendation for the ct scan. Had brought my daschund to gaia and was diagnose with ivdd. However he is still able to walk just abit wobbly, I'm not sure If surgery is really the best option. Please advice :(

If your dog is fit for surgery, then go for it but always keep in back of your mind that surgery always got risk. They can lower the risk but cant remove it completely.

IVDD is quite painful and it obviously impinge on your pet's QoL (no pun intended)

Will it be Dr Claire or Dr Arman doing the surgery?

angy

Hi, if cat is moulting, do you need to brush the fur to remove the hair? If yes, what brush do you recommend? Can you show some links please?

piyozz

I just got a new dog and he will always wag his whole body when he is excited. Is that normal? I'm suspecting that it could be a neuro problem?

Powerfulll

Hi. My female dog is not spayed but 2 years ago been to check up. She is fine. Previously she had been urinating blood and clear up by anti biotic. That was 2 years ago. Today she pee blood again. Suspect is uti again. As she is quite prone it. How to deal w it? Any home remedy. Tq

lycans

Hi, if cat is moulting, do you need to brush the fur to remove the hair? If yes, what brush do you recommend? Can you show some links please?

If its those long haired cat, should be done daily. Just be gentle and dont rake too hard. You can ask those pet shop for recommendations

lycans

I just got a new dog and he will always wag his whole body when he is excited. Is that normal? I'm suspecting that it could be a neuro problem?

My old dog used to do that when he is excited, its normal

lycans

Hi. My female dog is not spayed but 2 years ago been to check up. She is fine. Previously she had been urinating blood and clear up by anti biotic. That was 2 years ago. Today she pee blood again. Suspect is uti again. As she is quite prone it. How to deal w it? Any home remedy. Tq

Go see your vet, run some urinalysis and blood test. Also please desex your dog.

blah

Neighbours dog is 'crying' constantly. I can see the dog sometimes and hes very elderly, legs are very stiff and hobbles around slowly and pitifully.

The sound that the dog makes is very distressing and seems that he is suffering or in pain. I suspect that the family either doesn't know or doesn't care, as usually only helper is around most of the time and ignores the dog.

How do we know when it would be more humane to put the dog down, and is there anything I can do as a third party neighbour in this process? I've not spoken to my neighbour yet.

harky

elderly dog very trick le..

if ask AVS = AVA to check, later owner pts :/
is best u talk to neighbour (e.g when they bring down the dog.. and act act and ask... )

lycans

Neighbours dog is 'crying' constantly. I can see the dog sometimes and hes very elderly, legs are very stiff and hobbles around slowly and pitifully.

The sound that the dog makes is very distressing and seems that he is suffering or in pain. I suspect that the family either doesn't know or doesn't care, as usually only helper is around most of the time and ignores the dog.

How do we know when it would be more humane to put the dog down, and is there anything I can do as a third party neighbour in this process? I've not spoken to my neighbour yet.

Chat with the neighbour loh...not much else u can do

Losing QOL is a big indicator that the dog should be put down

harky

I back from vet, did a x-ray, it stifle (knee joint) slightly shifted so he abit pain when walking. Vet give 5day med (meloxicam), less walk for him.

But he like very emo le.. :/

My dog had early stage of cataract, i asked for eye drops. She give me KARY UNI Ophthalmic Suspension 0.005%

Did blood test, found nth wrong le. Do u think get braces will help a not?

A7XvuI6.jpg

BCGYCpE.jpg

Tl6HIxj.jpg

harky

cataract no choice unless i OP but he 13yr old liao..

now is the leg... he emo, i also sian..
ask him to eat, he like sian sian...

lycans

I back from vet, did a x-ray, it stifle (knee joint) slightly shifted so he abit pain when walking. Vet give 5day med (meloxicam), less walk for him.

But he like very emo le.. :/

My dog had early stage of cataract, i asked for eye drops. She give me KARY UNI Ophthalmic Suspension 0.005%

Did blood test, found nth wrong le. Do u think get braces will help a not?
Blood works appear to be unremarkable

Is it cruciate strain or a cruciate rupture?

Early cataract can trial eye drops, if bad then go for surgery....not many vets in Singapore know how to do that surgery, need to ask around
Thats some poor radiation safety habit, should wear the lead lined gloves...

harky

Blood test is to check got other issue a not lo.

What is the cruciate strain or a cruciate rupture?

Vet say only say slightly not inline. She only do X-ray.. and say that Lo.

The cataract, I just left it and use eye drop. My dog 13 Liao.. Now I worry his leg.

The vet quite new.. So I also a bit worry

want to buy this for him. dunno ok a not
O1CN01AOKinC1fJdFGI7I2J_!!359053986.jpg_400x400.jpg

Blood works appear to be unremarkable

Is it cruciate strain or a cruciate rupture?

Early cataract can trial eye drops, if bad then go for surgery....not many vets in Singapore know how to do that surgery, need to ask around

Thats some poor radiation safety habit, should wear the lead lined gloves...

Uy2328Jy

My dog suddenly had a lump after shower on the left side of the body . Around the kidney area . She seems fine . Eating well , playing well , and she doesn’t feel pain . What could it be ? No hair lost no redness .

harky

if keep growing... better see vet.

my dog got one the chest there... vet say near nip so dont want to pok and test.. but if grow bigger must bring to see vet.

My dog suddenly had a lump after shower on the left side of the body . Around the kidney area . She seems fine . Eating well , playing well , and she doesn’t feel pain . What could it be ? No hair lost no redness .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.