[AMA] Thanks to the ND Rally 2024, my interview is going to be screened at Channel 8's Frontline at 8.30pm tonight!

Calis_Yoda

I said, there must be acceptance, be it socially and politically, that wages for the T in the PMET must rise to a point where it is attractive for Singaporeans call it as a career....
Agree! But imho, wages is only part of the solution, not the only factor.

DarkStarer

Ts how much are you paid in salary and dividend for your current job?

The reporter like not very realistic to paint you as blue collar worker when actually you are taking over family business.

DarkStarer

Also, gxgx on being the government propaganda mouthpiece to have degree to do blue collar jobs.

charleslee1989

What kind of sales and workshop for EVs do you do? Can cite your services? Thanks.
What I meant is that I want to sell and repair EVs, HEVs and FCEVs in the future lah as my skillset is very much in that area.

Right now, our services are servicing of HEVs' ICE engine, battery cell check on HEVs and EVs, replacement of powertrain parts and brake master pump on HEVs and EVs.

charleslee1989

Ts how much are you paid in salary and dividend for your current job?

The reporter like not very realistic to paint you as blue collar worker when actually you are taking over family business.
My salary is low lah...So far no dividends yet...

I am hybrid collar in a sense but it is slanted towards the blue side....

Also, gxgx on being the government propaganda mouthpiece to have degree to do blue collar jobs.
Wah lau eh...Dun rub it in leh......It is literally two times that Mediacorp used me for this idea liao...

PhantomOpera

What I meant is that I want to sell and repair EVs, HEVs and FCEVs in the future lah as my skillset is very much in that area.

Right now, our services are servicing of HEVs' ICE engine, battery cell check on HEVs and EVs, replacement of powertrain parts and brake master pump on HEVs and EVs.
Look for you in future after my warranty ends ;)

yves

Keep it up ts!

Calis_Yoda

Oh well, it will really require an upheaval of changes though.....
Definitely. The most difficult to change is what you said - the perception or rather, the mindset.

Example:
I've been through so many interviews in which interviewers asked me why I applied for a position in healthcare which includes a lot of practical/hands-on tasks when what I studied and graduated was in chemistry.

They all stared at me when I replied:
1. Why do I have to restricting myself to work in a job just related to what I studied? Nobody and there's no laws stating that I have to work in what i studied.

2. I have 1st aid certificate, the skillsets, experience, plus I also have the academic/knowledge in pharmaceuticals as part of the curriclum in the chemistry course I studied. Both can be Integrated and supplement each other, so I don't see why not.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.