AMD new R7 5800X3D and mainstream processor

Koenig168

Street price needs to go below USD400 for the 3D. At USD449, I think there are better options.

poooooo

Both launch too late, anyone who is not in urgent needs to build our replace their system might as well just wait for zen 4 and raptor lake.

xonix

Same here. Will wait for next gen unless there's significant price cuts to the processors.

transparos

i think it will be good performance but it would be similar like the 11th gen intel, come out a while only new 12th gen processors come out le making consumers who buy the 11th gen looks stupid.

i am one of the ppl who considering buying new rig last year but due to GPU shortage and current rig still good to use have been waiting. now that GPU is readily available and dropping price, i also dun wanna buy now as i know new GPU and CPU will launch by 3rd quarter of this year. want upgrade, upgrade to latest product ma(assuming new product stocks are readily available this time).

Phen8210

i think it will be good performance but it would be similar like the 11th gen intel, come out a while only new 12th gen processors come out le making consumers who buy the 11th gen looks stupid.

i am one of the ppl who considering buying new rig last year but due to GPU shortage and current rig still good to use have been waiting. now that GPU is readily available and dropping price, i also dun wanna buy now as i know new GPU and CPU will launch by 3rd quarter of this year. want upgrade, upgrade to latest product ma(assuming new product stocks are readily available this time).

true story

11th gen buyers really got the short end of the stick

I know someone spent like 4k on his 11th gen build and that person kept bragging about his money.

watzup_ken

Considering the price, I certainly won’t recommend it, especially if you are planning to buy a new rig. It is still based on Zen 3, and I don’t think the extra cache will miraculously make it run significantly faster. You may see performance boost in selected games and apps, but for the same money, I feel either the Ryzen 9 5900X or i7 12700 are better deals.

gld998

Peasant like moi just hooted i7 10700f and b560m mortar at SGD435... cheaper then alderlake 12700f cpu alone which now is ard SGD550. moi need to save money to hoot rtx 3080ti... :(

btw 13th gen is by year end. and 14th and 15th next year.. how to follow? Every year change pc? Future proofing is not possible as 14th gen i5 is more powerful then 13th gen i9 and so on...

NightRaven49

how to follow? Every year change pc?
really dont understand why people need to be on the bleeding edge of tech for the sake of it, unless u got too much money to throw away. just get whatever is adequate for today, upgrade only when its too slow/breaks. if i didnt game that much i would honestly have just stuck to my 200ge, even my rig now would still be considered entry level and somewhat outdated but i dont plan on upgrading for the forseeable future.

transparos

Peasant like moi just hooted i7 10700f and b560m mortar at SGD435... cheaper then alderlake 12700f cpu alone which now is ard SGD550. moi need to save money to hoot rtx 3080ti... :(

btw 13th gen is by year end. and 14th and 15th next year.. how to follow? Every year change pc? Future proofing is not possible as 14th gen i5 is more powerful then 13th gen i9 and so on...

No la I change every 5 years. Current rig on the 5th year liao. Of course if can change to latest one to use for long term lor.

I know will keep refresh new tech one so is see your own comfortable level. There is some rumours of rtx4000 is a great leap in performance comparing to current gpu so of cos I would want to wait..

DaNuker

I recall AMD has disabled overclocking for this CPU and it has lower peak CPU clocks vs the 5800X. I am anticipating it should be much faster in games but it might lose performance in long pure number crunching tasks like rendering.

I would be more interested if they were going with a 5900X3D like what they announced last year but adding more vCache on top of one hottest Zen 3 CPUs might be a bit tricky.

gld998

I recall AMD has disabled overclocking for this CPU and it has lower peak CPU clocks vs the 5800X. I am anticipating it should be much faster in games but it might lose performance in long pure number crunching tasks like rendering.

I would be more interested if they were going with a 5900X3D like what they announced last year but adding more vCache on top of one hottest Zen 3 CPUs might be a bit tricky.
It's just marketing stunt against alderlake. It be on limited run like 3900xt variant before 3000 series ryzen ended. I be on a lookout for ryzen 5950x for final upgrade for my am4 build

gld998

No la I change every 5 years. Current rig on the 5th year liao. Of course if can change to latest one to use for long term lor.

I know will keep refresh new tech one so is see your own comfortable level. There is some rumours of rtx4000 is a great leap in performance comparing to current gpu so of cos I would want to wait..
the challenge here is ddr5. How much are u willing to pay? it's 4x the price of ddr4 for now.if I were upgrading again,i would delay my upgrade until ddr5 prices stabilizes.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator

If you can wait, then go for intel raptor lake or AMD 7000 series. Both are coming later half of this yr. If you can't wait and die die need a cpu now, just get the 12700K or 12900K.

Phen8210

really dont understand why people need to be on the bleeding edge of tech for the sake of it, unless u got too much money to throw away. just get whatever is adequate for today, upgrade only when its too slow/breaks. if i didnt game that much i would honestly have just stuck to my 200ge, even my rig now would still be considered entry level and somewhat outdated but i dont plan on upgrading for the forseeable future.

5800X3D is not worth it.

I rather buy 12th gen. 12400f, 12600k, and 12700f are super good value for money.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.