AMD Zen 4 Discussion Thread (31% faster than ADL)

Daty41

gamernexus pattern now more than badminton.
miw will call them like oppositions only know fault findings, and not fact findings, give no solutions.

unbearable to watch gn first voltage video, machiam like ET COI make selective leading tests to arrive at their narratives bashing. asus become caught llst like prata singh :o
Actually he was quite ok (alternative view) and he did made a lot of ppl (including NVidia) very happy about solving the 12vhpwr issue (mostly blame it to good old human installer issue). Which is why i dont know why he never go hard after AMD yet....he keeps harping about the coverup effort, no doubt being caught with a coverup scandal make a much more juicier video (and more clicks anr subscribers) than news of technical issues with AMD or MSI hack.

Which i sad cause i actually like his other video more
gamernexus pattern now more than badminton.
miw will call them like oppositions only know fault findings, and not fact findings, give no solutions.

unbearable to watch gn first voltage video, machiam like ET COI make selective leading tests to arrive at their narratives bashing. asus become caught llst like prata singh :o

Bashing Asus = 888K views in 3 days, 53k likes

Extremely detailed and expensive analysis of the CPU failure point = 520k views in 5 days, 37k likes

guess which one is cheaper and easier to produce and get them more clicks, likes and likely more subscriptions

Sad cause i really like their detailed breakdowns..but if doing the puff piece gets them paid so they can afford to do detailed analysis, then i guess i am for it.

BlackWing1977

Actually he was quite ok (alternative view) and he did made a lot of ppl (including NVidia) very happy about solving the 12vhpwr issue (mostly blame it to good old human installer issue). Which is why i dont know why he never go hard after AMD yet....he keeps harping about the coverup effort, no doubt being caught with a coverup scandal make a much more juicier video (and more clicks anr subscribers) than news of technical issues with AMD or MSI hack.

Extremely detailed and expensive analysis of the CPU failure point = 520k views in 5 days, 37k likes

guess which one is cheaper and easier to produce and get them more clicks, likes and likely more subscriptions

Sad cause i really like their detailed breakdowns..but if doing the puff piece gets them paid so they can afford to do detailed analysis, then i guess i am for it.

Sometimes you need people like him around so that manufacturer can improve.. and come out with better products, services.. and better customer support...

kimsix

bth just bashing also can get 888K. no wonder i see other influzensers do their live streamings always have scolding and arguing and super guailan.

actually hor, asus got release statement say they cover this case problem before his 888K videos was uploaded. :o

matique

cant stand him senselessly bash my friend asus x amd ♥️ :o
Some points are valid :p Asus & MSI both have been overvolting setups for a long time, it's just that now it found a cpu that can't take it. Come over to the blue side lah :)

kimsix

Some points are valid :p Asus & MSI both have been overvolting setups for a long time, it's just that now it found a cpu that can't take it. Come over to the blue side lah :)

come to think of it, he never bashed amd enough. scared lisa su sue him? :o

amd was one who set the 1.4v soc in firmware. amd expo and intel overclocking warranty disclaimers even more satki.

https://www.igorslab.de/en/statt-ag...ibt-es-jetzt-agesa1-0-0-7a-mit-3-aenderungen/
[PMFW-13058] Change SOC max Voltage limit in FW to 1.3V from 1.4V

calm headed people also mentioned about readings at different measurement points can influence. my favourite asus ♥️ also open up many bios options to tune their voltages and llc for different levels of cooling.

asus am5 bios still best for amd fanbois like moi. steve should know that, but he acted as if DIY must be hand holding.

kaixax555

cant stand him senselessly bash my friend asus x amd ♥️ :o
Aiyo

OK let me reveal my stance: generally brand neutral but would avoid Asus if I can, prices are kind of high for what you actually get anyway.

I haven't forgiven Asus for sweeping the Hololive incident under the rug and pretending nothing happened.

come to think of it, he never bashed amd enough. scared lisa su sue him? :o

amd was one who set the 1.4v soc in firmware. amd expo and intel overclocking warranty disclaimers even more satki.

https://www.igorslab.de/en/statt-ag...ibt-es-jetzt-agesa1-0-0-7a-mit-3-aenderungen/

calm headed people also mentioned about readings at different measurement points can influence. my favourite asus ♥️ also open up many bios options to tune their voltages and llc for different levels of cooling.

asus am5 bios still best for amd fanbois like moi. steve should know that, but he acted as if DIY must be hand holding.
He bash a lot liao, but is mainly Asus behavior that is quite shady.

Newegg was open to video to show they wanna change processes, Asus aren't.

Also I won't quote Igor's Lab, to me they are FAR worse than Gamers Nexus ever is and usually the one that fans the unnecessary panic (i.e. 12VHPWR connector saga, 3090 capacitor saga). Gamers Nexus will tell you what they did, the methodology and how they got there, and the failure analysis is actually a very good insight.

Buildzoid commented Gamers Nexus conclusion is generally correct though yes, the measurement method does have some problems, since the read point is probably connected to the VRM which shows target voltage + drop

Daty41

Plus Asus ROG boards are the best looking....MSI dragon is a bit tacky, but some of their boards pulled it off nicely (the MEG Godlike series). Ugliest is AsRock

TanKianW

Sometimes you like someone or not is really just plain old chemistry. The same goes for YTber Influencers. I personally cannot stand GN host (and his long hair flipping), not the content. His narration slang is not the type I can listen to long though I have been working in North America for a while. I will normally click the time stamp and get to the conclusion and get the gist of it.

Between GN and LTT, I will prefer LTT. More IT Pro stuff, I go with ITPro podcast, Lawrence Systems, Servethehome, David Bomba, Darknet Diaries and Level1tech.​

kimsix

Aiyo

OK let me reveal my stance: generally brand neutral but would avoid Asus if I can, prices are kind of high for what you actually get anyway.

I haven't forgiven Asus for sweeping the Hololive incident under the rug and pretending nothing happened.

He bash a lot liao, but is mainly Asus behavior that is quite shady.

Newegg was open to video to show they wanna change processes, Asus aren't.

Also I won't quote Igor's Lab, to me they are FAR worse than Gamers Nexus ever is and usually the one that fans the unnecessary panic (i.e. 12VHPWR connector saga, 3090 capacitor saga). Gamers Nexus will tell you what they did, the methodology and how they got there, and the failure analysis is actually a very good insight.

Buildzoid commented Gamers Nexus conclusion is generally correct though yes, the measurement method does have some problems, since the read point is probably connected to the VRM which shows target voltage + drop

dont think igor will fabricate the 1.4v he saw on amd internal docs, lisa su will pogma his ass already.
the other comes down to limitations of influencers, they give their findings with limited sample sizes. for viewers discretion to sarpork igor or steve findings. :o

steve also shady mah, his videos i see at 1.25x-1.5x speed, never detailed how he tested asus ocp and he can do air quotes for his unnamed sources but asus tio bash because of it.

watch in totality, the gist of his videos is the asus warranty disclaimer. like this also can get 888k views. in the real world, got a saying about, it's illegal but not actively enforced, like poke pigu laws here from our experience :o

as a asus mobo fanboy, my biased is on shamino and team, got lots more experience on mobo and bios and dealings with amd intel, more than bullzoid and Steve combined

hwzbee

Looking for DDR5 6000 Expo for my build. Just noticed local shops only stock CL32 and above while overseas have CL30. Any particular reason for this? Distros avoiding CL30 cos have issues? Or local shops just can't get stock from Distros ?

kimsix

Looking for DDR5 6000 Expo for my build. Just noticed local shops only stock CL32 and above while overseas have CL30. Any particular reason for this? Distros avoiding CL30 cos have issues? Or local shops just can't get stock from Distros ?

local ram most mark up too high, limited demand and waiting to clear old stock :o

BlackWing1977

I only saw Bizgram listing G.Skill CL30... can check with them... I went with CL32 as I bought all the parts from Dynacore...

BlackWing1977

For AMD Zen 4 on Asus MB users.. what do you think about this setting??

Currently I am running on the level 3... but if you just set that it will literally cap your max temp at 70 degrees.. so I go over to set the overall max at 85 degrees... and I get about 17.3k on Cinebench... if I never set... I get around 16.7k only... and it is due to the higher all cores boost speed... I can never reach it if I never set.

kimsix

For AMD Zen 4 on Asus MB users.. what do you think about this setting??

Currently I am running on the level 3... but if you just set that it will literally cap your max temp at 70 degrees.. so I go over to set the overall max at 85 degrees... and I get about 17.3k on Cinebench... if I never set... I get around 16.7k only... and it is due to the higher all cores boost speed... I can never reach it if I never set.

never really use but if works for you, just leave enabled. another performance enhancer in asus mb is medium load boost it, it should help in conjection with it. may cause instability if you already pushed curve optimiser manually hard. :o

can say asus mb are pioneer to try new features, some helpful long term, some may need a refresh like their single sided ram locking.

i saw am4 time when asus got more serious to make mb for amd, they intro teamed vrm, now almost everyone am5 mb used teamed vrm :o

its striking a balance between trying new stuff at their engineer side and overpricing in their sales side and disclaimers in their legal side. so i cannot sarpork gemernexeus condescending behavior towards asus engineer team using age old matter of warranty grey areas :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.