An Interesting Job Application Experiment

sunnyisandsingapore

In my recent experiment, I applied to two different positions at the same company: one junior role and one senior role.

Junior role:
I wrote a well-crafted resume and cover letter, showing my relevant experience and skills. I did not indicate my expected salary. After one month of application submission, I didn't hear back from them.

Senior role:
Subsequently, I applied for the senior role, which required two years of experience, through a job portal with minimal effort. I did not send my resume and cover letter, simply stating my desired salary (which was $1000 lower than what the company was offering) and indicating one year of experience.

Result:
The results were surprising. Within a day of submitting my application for the senior role, the company reached out to express their interest in interviewing me :ROFLMAO: . This prompt response was in contrast to the lack of response to my carefully crafted application for the junior role.

So, what did I learn from this experiment?

Despite the minimal effort put into my application for the senior role, the lower salary expectation seemed to capture the company's attention. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Asy1um

Which company is that senior role?
i want apply as CEO, 50% pay cut ok

chaiscool

More like got work to dump, can't dump to junior role ones but senior role one can dump.

Moi know someone who didn't have much experience in x products cuz his experience was with y products but his new role was as SME, so the manager kpkb everyday and keep mentioning that he as SME should know or learn about the product. He was like in his 1st month and a lot of the task already get thrown to him with no senior guidance. Then again in his same team got 2 ppl who were hired as developer(they earn developer pay which is like 30% higher than the team) tio forced to be engineer cuz no replacement.

HumJiBeng

In my recent experiment, I applied to two different positions at the same company: one junior role and one senior role.

Junior role:
I wrote a well-crafted resume and cover letter, showing my relevant experience and skills. I did not indicate my expected salary. After one month of application submission, I didn't hear back from them.

Senior role:
Subsequently, I applied for the senior role, which required two years of experience, through a job portal with minimal effort. I did not send my resume and cover letter, simply stating my desired salary (which was $1000 lower than what the company was offering) and indicating one year of experience.

Result:
The results were surprising. Within a day of submitting my application for the senior role, the company reached out to express their interest in interviewing me :ROFLMAO: . This prompt response was in contrast to the lack of response to my carefully crafted application for the junior role.

Despite the minimal effort put into my application for the senior role, the lower salary expectation seemed to capture the company's attention. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
The more senior u are, the less cumbersome the application process.

I remembered being a fresh graduate. Must do written test, personality test, iq test, 5 rounds interviews. Write cover letter to explain why u interested to join

Then i applied experienced managerial role. One round interview with cfo. Officially offered the role after a background check.

Nowadays I run my own business. Even easier. I hand out name cards in sme/business events. Client interested they just call me and can prepare proposal and sign contract liao

Lchlch

Junior role:

Senior role:

Result:

Probably the coy look for min salary expectation first.
Nothing else matters.

Ethan_

Probably the coy look for min salary expectation first.
Nothing else matters.
Think alot tend do that bah. Imagine those who apply would be at least qualified somewhat, but is willing to get lesser for it. Who don't want a good bargain. So, it all boils down to the money. All the talk about qualification can seems like just cover for the money. How little willing to pay for the qualification. :s22:

sunnyisandsingapore

everyone just wanna pay the minimal amount of salary but expect maximum effort n result from u
Sad, isn't it?

From my experiment, it seems that expecting $1000 less, with no resume and no cover letter will land me a job interview for a senior role.

tokong

Junior role:

Senior role:

Result:

Normal. If it is a good position, just accept it lor. For example if Full Stack Dev Ops down there put 10k, you can grab it by quoting them 9k. I think it is still worth it.

shodan99

Its a medical industry. A specialised position.
Device or pharma? How specialised? Engineering, chemistry, regulatory, clinical? All these are not specialised. There are many people out there with these kinds of experience. Most likely have skills in 2 or more areas.

nogizaka46

Senior roles usually cut to the chase.
Just state your offer, what results you have brought for your ex-companies and your testimonials (if any).

sunnyisandsingapore

Senior roles usually cut to the chase.
Just state your offer, what results you have brought for your ex-companies and your testimonials (if any).
As mentioned in my post, I did not submit my resume and cover letter. All I did was mention a year of fake experience with a particular company, with no indication of responsibilities/ results. Nothing. This was what I sent for the senior role:

Name: xxx (fake)
Education: Diploma from a poly (fake)
Previous company: xxx
Date of employment with x: Jan2023 to Jan 2024 (fake)
Expected salary: $2000
Weekend/ public holidays availability: Yes

This type of limited info which took me 3 minutes to write, can land a job interview. :ROFLMAO:

sunnyisandsingapore

As mentioned in my post, I did not submit my resume and cover letter. All I did was mention a year of fake experience with a particular company, with no indication of responsibilities/ results. Nothing. This was what I sent for the senior role:

This type of limited info which took me 3 minutes to write, can land a job interview. :ROFLMAO:

Oh, I forgot to add, that I also gave a fake mobile number. Within 2 hours of viewing my resume, the owner of the company (small company) wrote me an email stating that they tried to call me on that number but couldn't reach me and would like to have my alternative number so we can arrange for an interview meet up :ROFLMAO:

I am shocked beyond understanding that a lousy, effortless 3-minute job application can make the employer so desperate to get me, while a well-crafted resume, with an inspirational cover letter received no response.

If anyone has any insight into this case, please feel free to share.

tokong

This can get you into trouble, bro. I broke into cold sweat for you. Better don't do such things in the future.

You don't have to go through that extent, really. In fact it is common sense. Who doesn't want a cheaper worker assuming the capability is not that important and can be picked up over a short time? If I am an employer I would also pick the cheaper quote. Your job nature is not that specialized; many foreign nurses can be trained to do that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.