Android TV Box

Sambuca78

Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2001
Messages
5,555
Reaction score
5
Wow 7 year old boxes and they are still usable! My brother in law had an old TV box with only 512MB RAM and that was too slow. And I recommended him to buy Tanix TX3 Max early 2018 and he likes it.

I did not get into Android TV boxes until early 2018, so my boxes are all 2017 or later models.

Before that I was playing with maker boards like Raspberry Pi boards and Orange Pi boards. Then I started to know that some Android TV boxes, for example Amlogic S905W/S905X based box and S912 based box, offer better specifications (larger RAM size and built-in emmc Flash) than maker boards, easier to use (comes with housing, heat sink, power supply, remote and HDMI cable) and yet at lower cost if we compare the full setup.

Of course maker boards offer better Linux and GPIO support.

I still have a MiniX G4 (Android 4.4 1gb ram) functioning but kinda slow and the some videos in youtube appear blank screen with audio, dunno how to fix it. :(
 

jase07

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2002
Messages
19,542
Reaction score
0
So you have the original Tanix version so it should be okay. My one is OEM Version without Tanix logo.

I can try with my other Creative Bluetooth speakers as well later.

In my case no need to carry out any settings, just need to pair the speakers.

Is the pairing success?

yup it is successful, i'll try again tonight.
 

gregory_choo

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,234
Reaction score
29
I still have a MiniX G4 (Android 4.4 1gb ram) functioning but kinda slow and the some videos in youtube appear blank screen with audio, dunno how to fix it. :(

G4 is a very old stick.

I suggest doing factory reset, then immediately remove playstore and play service before connecting to internet.

If you can't uninstall, disable them will do.

If possible, disable all unessential system apps, you can install/sideload "hideapps" to help you to find out what can be uninstalled.

For youtube, use youtube tv version 1.0.3.1 or 1.0.5.6
 

gregory_choo

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,234
Reaction score
29
yah printed Tanix on the box. i tried with creative woof and B&O beoplay p2.

Is there any configuration i need to do with the audio output? or as per normal just add bluetooth speaker under accessory?

Nothing can be done if you are able to pair the speaker.

Most likely the bluetooth antenna within the box is not connected or no connected properly.

This is the risk we need to take if buying budget brand boxes. It is all about probabilities, better brands have less problems, followed by budget brands, then no brand.

I always like to recommend mibox s because it is more reliable and performing well.
 

Sambuca78

Supremacy Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2001
Messages
5,555
Reaction score
5
G4 is a very old stick.

I suggest doing factory reset, then immediately remove playstore and play service before connecting to internet.

If you can't uninstall, disable them will do.

If possible, disable all unessential system apps, you can install/sideload "hideapps" to help you to find out what can be uninstalled.

For youtube, use youtube tv version 1.0.3.1 or 1.0.5.6

Oic, thanks will try it.

I remember you posted in the previous FB group about disabling some services in 4.4 but I can't locate it anymore. :(
 

gregory_choo

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,234
Reaction score
29
Oic, thanks will try it.

I remember you posted in the previous FB group about disabling some services in 4.4 but I can't locate it anymore. :(

the most important thing is to disable playservices and playstore, the rest are optional.

don't put too much hope because the stick is very old and has only a low speed dual core CPU, nevertheless it should be able to run apps like cartoonhd, newestmovieshd using mx player with hardware decoding.

because of the low spec cpu, don't attempt to use software decoding.
 

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,851
Reaction score
139
yup it is successful, i'll try again tonight.

Nothing can be done if you are able to pair the speaker.

Most likely the bluetooth antenna within the box is not connected or no connected properly.

This is the risk we need to take if buying budget brand boxes. It is all about probabilities, better brands have less problems, followed by budget brands, then no brand.

I always like to recommend mibox s because it is more reliable and performing well.

If that is the case, probably need to open up the box to see if anything obviously wrong.

The Freaktab forum has detailed photos (including PCBA) and reviews of the box.
https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv...x5-max-amlogic-905x2-4-32gb-dual-wifi-lan-bt4

Indeed Tanix is a budget brand, it is better than those generic no brand boxes but definitely less reputable than Xiaomi, Minix and Zidoo. I think it is also less reputable than Beelink. Still the general feedback on HW is not bad, most of the complaints in Tanix Facebook group are on the lack of FW updates for older boxes.
 
Last edited:

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,851
Reaction score
139
My one is OEM Version without Tanix logo.

I can try with my other Creative Bluetooth speakers as well later.

Just FYI only, no issues with my Creative Muvo 2 bluetooth speaker as well with my TX5 Max.

As a stress test, I brought the speaker out of the study room and in the living room and it works fine, then further to the kitchen and the connection became intermittent. So I will say the Bluetooth works well.
 

jase07

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2002
Messages
19,542
Reaction score
0
confirm is my box bluetooth problem, when bluetooth is off, everything runs smoothly. When bluetooth is on, the speaker connect on and off, also affecting the wifi connection.

Will talk to the seller tomorrow.
 

gregory_choo

Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
6,234
Reaction score
29
confirm is my box bluetooth problem, when bluetooth is off, everything runs smoothly. When bluetooth is on, the speaker connect on and off, also affecting the wifi connection.

Will talk to the seller tomorrow.

Try using wifi at 5Ghz .
 

jase07

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2002
Messages
19,542
Reaction score
0
Try using wifi at 5Ghz .

ok, will try tonight.

oh and i think my box is OEM, i thought i saw the Tanix logo on the box but after looking for it carefully last night, it only says TX5 Max. Nothing else.
 

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,851
Reaction score
139
ok, will try tonight.

oh and i think my box is OEM, i thought i saw the Tanix logo on the box but after looking for it carefully last night, it only says TX5 Max. Nothing else.

I see. Just did a quick check, most of the sellers from Lazada are selling the OEM Version, only one seems to sell the version with Tanix logo and the price is way too high at S$123.

Maybe you still want to contact the seller to see if you can get a replacement or not.

I only know Gearbest Tanix shop always sell the original version. In fact Tanix website will point to Gearbest for people to buy their boxes.

http://www.tanix-box.com/

https://www.gearbest.com/top-brands/brand/Tanix.html

https://m.gearbest.com/tv-box/pp_009591888713.html

Others like Geekbuying and Banggood have a mix.

In this particular case, Geekbuying is selling the original version.

https://m.geekbuying.com/item/Tanix-TX5-Max-Amlogic-S905X2-Android-8-1-4GB-32GB-TV-Box-413344.html

Banggood is selling the OEM Version.
https://sea-m.banggood.com/Tanix-TX...IwoeR6ImL4gIViSQrCh09wwR7EAQYAiABEgJJ8PD_BwE&

Lazada, Shopee and Qoo10 mostly sell the OEM Version of Tanix boxes (eg: TX5 Max and TX6) with some exceptions, for example quite some are selling the original Tanix TX3 Max and Tanix TX3 Mini, two of their most popular boxes at the lower end.

Also it is interesting that TX5 Max S905X2 Box and the less known TX28 RK3328 Box are not listed in Tanix website. TX5 Max is also not mentioned in their Facebook page except one teaser of TX5 Plus S905X2.
http://www.tanix-box.com/products_catalog/
 
Last edited:

csc12345678

Master Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2001
Messages
3,083
Reaction score
2
Testing Netflix

Is there anyway to test Netflix setup on my box ? I understand there is a trial account but I don't want to activate it immediately. I don't intend to sign up now. Probably a few months down the road or early next year. But just want to make sure my HW supports it.

I have Mecool M8S Pro. Thanks.
 

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,851
Reaction score
139
Is there anyway to test Netflix setup on my box ? I understand there is a trial account but I don't want to activate it immediately. I don't intend to sign up now. Probably a few months down the road or early next year. But just want to make sure my HW supports it.

I have Mecool M8S Pro. Thanks.

No need to try, all Mecool boxes are banned by Netflix due to the tactics used previously by Mecool to bypass Netflix checks, this ban includes Google Certified boxes like Mecool KM8, KM9 Pro and KM3 which has the Google Widevine Level 1 DRM.

You will still be able to get Netflix 480p from non-certified boxes, including Mecool boxes, through loading some specific versions of Netflix, but I do not think it makes sense to pay for Netflix and get SD quality video.

Ref: Netflix 480p on KM9 Pro and KM3
https://youtu.be/myiH7q7wtvY

BTW, your box is M8S Pro or M8S Pro L? Both are S912 boxes but M8S Pro L got Android TV OS and it was able to run Netflix HD through hacks but later banned by Netflix.

Ref about the ban.
https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv...ng-killed-in-some-of-the-chinese-boxes/page54

If you need a Netflix, get a certified box like Mi Box S.
 
Last edited:

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,851
Reaction score
139
More about the Netflix Mecool ban.

https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv...ng-killed-in-some-of-the-chinese-boxes/page54

To me Netflix has the right to ban Mecool because of the fault by Mecool. But hopefully Netflix will open up more to the smaller manufacturers.

Maybe Google OTT Turnkey solution will help but again you will not get much better device than Mi Box S because the turnkey solution seems to use S905X class of low spec CPU used in Mi Box S.

https://www.cnx-software.com/2019/04/07/google-ott-turnkey-certified-4k-hdr-dongles-netflix/

Edit to add: unfortunately Beelink is also trying to go the unofficial route to get Netflix 4K. I think Netflix will ban them sooner or later.
https://androidpctv.com/review-beelink-gt1a/

Just to help provide some more information.

Android TV Google Certified devices all have Widevine L1, however some of the Chinese manufacturers have had their keys blacklisted by Netflix as they released software updates spoofing other devices in order to get Netflix ATV version working. Dec 18 when Tork24 3.2.2 ATV version stopped working.

I can also say we deal with their so called partnership team and they seem pretty useless or as they put it ?resource constrained?, even when using a Hailstorm approved ODM it would seem they only really want a few specific partners to be able to use their app and provide no real certification path or checklist like Google do in order to get it done.

It would seem that it is also not about volume as one of the Google certified Chinese manufacturers told me they sold 500k units in a year and were told it?s because they(Netflix) are ?operator focused right now? which it is not either otherwise they would add far more telcos and ISP customers using Hailstorm(fast track approval program).

Must be part of their master plan?
 
Last edited:

csc12345678

Master Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2001
Messages
3,083
Reaction score
2
No need to try, all Mecool boxes are banned by Netflix due to the tactics used previously by Mecool to bypass Netflix checks, this ban includes Google Certified boxes like Mecool KM8, KM9 Pro and KM3 which has the Google Widevine Level 1 DRM.

You will still be able to get Netflix 480p from non-certified boxes, including Mecool boxes, through loading some specific versions of Netflix, but I do not think it makes sense to pay for Netflix and get SD quality video.

Ref: Netflix 480p on KM9 Pro and KM3
https://youtu.be/myiH7q7wtvY

BTW, your box is M8S Pro or M8S Pro L? Both are S912 boxes but M8S Pro L got Android TV OS and it was able to run Netflix HD through hacks but later banned by Netflix.

Ref about the ban.
https://forum.freaktab.com/forum/tv...ng-killed-in-some-of-the-chinese-boxes/page54

If you need a Netflix, get a certified box like Mi Box S.

Thanks... ...
 

glenn78

Junior Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
42
Reaction score
0
For tvb installation on mi box S, do you neee to install it via the APK or can download from PlayStore?

Was thinking of getting one also just for tvb

Hi, I recently bought a MiBox S and installed the TVB TV apk into the box using USB drive.
However, I keep encountering the "Incorrect Pin" message.
Does anyone have a solution to it?
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top