Ang Wei Neng: Issue university degrees with a validity of five years to encourage lifelong learning

Orionz

why would he draw this dumb example. he knows that sinkies r sensitive to such things cos literally their two biggest assets r alrdy limited. i.e. hdb and coe/car

ChangChingChong

He stay in the transport industry for so long but some bus and taxi drivers also have better ideas than him

tshace

I guess ... Those dare to say he suggested degree with time stamp would get pofma-ed?

t258jgn

So his degree is already expired
He need to go through degree course to renew his mp status :s22:

_hulk_

Can honour him a nickname liao? Time stamp Ang or Expiry Ang?

fs_lim

Put a time stamp on all his savings accounts and assets... If didn spend by expiry date, all deposits and assets will be confiscated

sgrhee

Mr Ang Wei Neng, an MP for West Coast Group Representation Constituency (GRC) proposed what he described as a “radical idea” of putting a time stamp on the degrees conferred by Singapore's Institutes of Higher Learning (IHLs).
Graduates would have to attend upgrading courses every five years and failure to do so would result in their degrees lapsing. This means they would not be able to claim the degree as part of their qualification if this happens.
He said his suggestion comes amidst a backdrop of rapid industry changes, where skill sets and real-world experiences could trump university degrees, as he urged universities to evolve in order to stay relevant.
“These days, even without a university degree, skill sets, personal experiences and knowledge can take a person very far,” he said.
Instead of relying on academic qualifications, there is a need for continuous and lifelong learning, and universities “need to take on this role”.
“If we are serious about continuously training and lifelong learning, we have to be radical about transformation. It may not and should not happen overnight. But, we have to start to transform our IHLs,” he said.
So serious must lapse degree ah.
Better check his own degree, make sure not lapse yet.

pwongkk

they only can control local degree reh.
Ques is the foreigners study here, will their degrees also have the expiry date.

No foreign students will want that on their degrees. I'm waiting for AWN's response to this.

Hiling care

MP Ang Wei Neng apologises for remarks causing public concern, clarifies 'time stamp for degree' not a policy recommendation​

https://mothership.sg/2022/03/ang-w...-university-degree-not-policy-recommendation/
His remark was meant to be thought provoking.
Zhangxin Zheng |
clock.png
March 05, 2022, 11:39 AM
ang-wei-neng-uni-cert.png

Member of Parliament for West Coast GRC Ang Wei Neng has apologised for causing members of the public to be upset and concerned over the point about having a time stamp on local university degrees.

Ang spoke in parliament on the second day of the Budget debate (Mar. 1) and called for university graduates in Singapore to be required to attend upgrading courses once every five years or so.

Not meant to be a policy recommendation​

Responding to Mothership's queries via email, Ang said that his radical idea was meant to be thought provoking to "sound scary".
In other words, Ang painted an extreme scenario so as to emphasise the risk of university degrees losing value over time and the importance for lifelong learning support, especially in the technology sector.
Ang said:

"In that context, I made the point about a time-stamp on a degree certificate which would lose its value over time, as a radical idea, to emphasise this risk. And I ended off by asking “Sounds scary right?” for emphasis."

Yesterday, Ang also clarified on Facebook that this radical scenario of having a time stamp on degree certificates was not meant to be a policy recommendation.

However, Ang recognised that the way he spoke could have caused some misunderstanding and he apologised for it.
He said:

"Unfortunately, I accept that the way I made the point caused a lot of people to be upset and concerned, [thinking] that this was a policy recommendation that would cause their degree to lose effect. I apologise for causing this, through the way I spoke."

Many agreed on the need to transform IHLs, less consensus on how to do so​

Ang told Mothership that he wishes to highlight the need to transform Singapore's Institutes of Higher Learning (IHLs) to better future-proof our next generation" and help those already in the workforce to cope with ever-changing technology through his speech.
"If degree holders do not get lifelong learning support after graduating, then the value of their degree in the workplace may diminish. Even more so in the tech sector," Ang shared his concern with Mothership.
Ang said that many people he has spoken to agree with him that IHLs need to transform, but there is less consensus on the pace and direction of change.
"This is a multi-faceted issue that requires thoughtful discussions with fellow Singaporeans," he added.
Ang also thanked those who have shared feedback with him, both in private or publicly.

"I would like to thank many Singaporeans that have written to me, in private or openly, or spoken to me over the last few days on this issue of continuous training and lifelong learning. Moving forward, I hope this episode will continue to spark the enthusiasm for all Singaporeans to come together and co-create the best solutions to explore more viable avenues to future-proof our economy."

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.