Any Forex Swing Traders Here?

feiyun

Are Chiu pro trader??? Sit home kind?

Unfortunately i'm not a pro trader. I just a part time trader trading daily trend while having a full-time job. I do hope to trade full-time in the near future sitting at home.

CookieMonsta88

Unfortunately i'm not a pro trader. I just a part time trader trading daily trend while having a full-time job. I do hope to trade full-time in the near future sitting at home.

hi, if u are interested in trading full-time, u might want to pick up options and income strategies to be used when the markets are not active in order to sustain income, and how to trade out of them when the markets trend again.

im currently also studying into this as i feel that some periods are flat periods but we still need income, unless u have a huge sum of capital to start up with, it may be better to have multiple strategies for all kinds of market conditions.

actually im suspecting there should be a method to make it impossible to lose money in the markets, but will be very involved, currently i think the hedged collar strategy as a base strategy should work, and there on its a management of the positions.

archcherub

actually im suspecting there should be a method to make it impossible to lose money in the markets, but will be very involved, currently i think the hedged collar strategy as a base strategy should work, and there on its a management of the positions.

this is the holy grail everyone would love to have...

CookieMonsta88

this is the holy grail everyone would love to have...

well, im still studying into if it works or not, but i need to simulate against price movement and changes in implied volatility.

the main idea is to use theta decay differentials with respect to different expiration dates to generate different rates of decay in each options position.

mainly im using a collar, so long stock, long put, and short call,
except that i long 4months put and short 1 month call for 4months, and exploit the rate of decay since 4x 1 month call sold consecutively is worth more than 1 4month call.

and i would go further out in the put say afew dollars more compared to the call, so say i buy a put 5 dollars away, i sell a call 2 dollars away, because of the gamma curve, i can exploit gamma positions to improve my put cost and call cost, as another way to look at gamma is the if we fix the underlying price and strike price is the one changing, it would produce the same curve.

after that if my position stays the same no change, i win by default since 4x 1month call > 1 4month put.

if it goes up and gets called away in the first month, i just box spread the long put and forget about it.

if it goes down, thats where im stuck, still modelling for it.

so theres exploiting the deltas, gammas, vols if implied vols smile is there, i may switch and do a reverse collar, theta decay.

so the idea is to lock in potential losses of a stock using puts and keep selling covered calls against the position to recover the losses, but the twist is here, we know how much we can lose before we enter, so we can reasonably estimate how to do the covered calls against the position, and come out ahead with income or even speculative gains too.

archcherub

well, im still studying into if it works or not, but i need to simulate against price movement and changes in implied volatility.

the main idea is to use theta decay differentials with respect to different expiration dates to generate different rates of decay in each options position.

mainly im using a collar, so long stock, long put, and short call,
except that i long 4months put and short 1 month call for 4months, and exploit the rate of decay since 4x 1 month call sold consecutively is worth more than 1 4month call.

and i would go further out in the put say afew dollars more compared to the call, so say i buy a put 5 dollars away, i sell a call 2 dollars away, because of the gamma curve, i can exploit gamma positions to improve my put cost and call cost, as another way to look at gamma is the if we fix the underlying price and strike price is the one changing, it would produce the same curve.

after that if my position stays the same no change, i win by default since 4x 1month call > 1 4month put.

if it goes up and gets called away in the first month, i just box spread the long put and forget about it.

if it goes down, thats where im stuck, still modelling for it.

so theres exploiting the deltas, gammas, vols if implied vols smile is there, i may switch and do a reverse collar, theta decay.

so the idea is to lock in potential losses of a stock using puts and keep selling covered calls against the position to recover the losses, but the twist is here, we know how much we can lose before we enter, so we can reasonably estimate how to do the covered calls against the position, and come out ahead with income or even speculative gains too.

hope u dont mind, cookiemonsta, im gonna quote u in the other thread

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/options-trading-singapore-4646253-7.html
Coz what u mentioned is options, hope to have a spirited discussion there. =) I am interested in options but i have not done a collar before

I think TS wants to focus on producing good income from forex. After all, there are many traders here who profits well from forex 5 days a week.....

CookieMonsta88

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/options-trading-singapore-4646253-7.html
Coz what u mentioned is options, hope to have a spirited discussion there. =) I am interested in options but i have not done a collar before

I think TS wants to focus on producing good income from forex. After all, there are many traders here who profits well from forex 5 days a week.....

Well sure, can see different perspective to the strategy

Well think about it this way, every time u get stable income, if u don't need it, u can put into the forex account and provide more capital for the forex account to work with, and it becomes much easier to weather drawdown, since losing trades can be financed by income generated by this strategy

Knight_Rider

Options is a good supplement be it to repair a wrong forex trade or just a trade but admin forbid discussion. :(

archcherub

Yesterday Kiwi H1 evening star 8 candles before falling to bad news. Now M15 is doing the same. Practise Practise Pratise.

Oanda platform, (they closed Daily candle at 12pm, and 6 candles a week) mt4.. does not show the evening star.
this seems to be an ongoing problems, i have compared charts from oanda.. always got small difference with some other platform.

most of the time, difference not big.
but sometimes... totally cannot see evening star in H1 in the past 8 H1 candles before the bad news...

Knight_Rider

Oanda platform, (they closed Daily candle at 12pm, and 6 candles a week) mt4.. does not show the evening star.
this seems to be an ongoing problems, i have compared charts from oanda.. always got small difference with some other platform.

most of the time, difference not big.
but sometimes... totally cannot see evening star in H1 in the past 8 H1 candles before the bad news...

Server time also play a part. Open 5am or 6am Monday morning your whole week H4 buay zhun liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.