Any good renovation contractors to intro

scarletwitch

Hi anyone have contractor to recommend for resale 4 room (93sqm)
Very old house, need major overhaul and hacking away of storeroom.

EJB

Can ping me if need, but he is now a home based contractor, no longer has a showroom. only if you're comfortable.

As for hacking away storeroom, advise you keep it. I was tempted also but I left it, I just overhauled the whole place from pipes to wires and all tiles/windows/doors/gate.

mryang

Can ping me if need, but he is now a home based contractor, no longer has a showroom. only if you're comfortable.

As for hacking away storeroom, advise you keep it. I was tempted also but I left it, I just overhauled the whole place from pipes to wires and all tiles/windows/doors/gate.
@scarletwitch

rocky86

Hi all, I got quote almost 3K for electric work by my ID for 4 room BTO, I feel the price is inflated as we did not add alot of powerpoint, is there any good electrcian to recommend?

EJB

@EJB
You not at tk foto shop? Currently at which branch funan or plaza sing?
I don't work there leh, it's my friend's shop.

I usually go to the one at PS. I went to the one at Funan this year also.

Hi all, I got quote almost 3K for electric work by my ID for 4 room BTO, I feel the price is inflated as we did not add alot of powerpoint, is there any good electrcian to recommend?
Mine is 139 sqm, I paid about 5.1K, install LED strips (4), 1x 2 way for living room light, livingroom +common (4+2 sockets), bedrooms about 3 each except mine has 5, 6 lights for room, 3 for storeroom+bedroom + 1 for door, +2 for kitchen, and power switches for 2 x heater, 2 x aircon compressor and 4 for LEDs and 1 for display cabinet.

3 x labor for UTP wiring.
7 x labor + material for UTP wiring.
2x 4 UTP faceplate
6x 2 UTP faceplate

I don't think your 3K is exp.

mryang

Are you going to install ceiling light?
If yes then can ask your ceiling light retail shop to recommend.. then more wu hua.

mryang

I don't work there leh, it's my friend's shop.

I usually go to the one at PS. I went to the one at Funan this year also.

Mine is 139 sqm, I paid about 5.1K, install LED strips (4), 1x 2 way for living room light, livingroom +common (4+2 sockets), bedrooms about 3 each except mine has 5, 6 lights for room, 3 for storeroom+bedroom + 1 for door, +2 for kitchen, and power switches for 2 x heater, 2 x aircon compressor and 4 for LEDs and 1 for display cabinet.

3 x labor for UTP wiring.
7 x labor + material for UTP wiring.
2x 4 UTP faceplate
6x 2 UTP faceplate

I don't think your 3K is exp.
Wow when will you be there again. Look for you got edmw friendship price boh

rocky86

Are you going to install ceiling light?
If yes then can ask your ceiling light retail shop to recommend.. then more wu hua.
yes will be installing celling light, but bo hua, we went to the light retail shop my ID recommended and realized that the shop also inflated the cost price of all the item as we found cheaper price for the same item outside, but is too late because we make the full payment:sad:

EJB

Wow when will you be there again. Look for you got edmw friendship price boh
Haha... which shop you going, you let me know, I tell you who look for lor.

My price for myself only leh. lol...

yes will be installing celling light, but bo hua, we went to the light retail shop my ID recommended and realized that the shop also inflated the cost price of all the item as we found cheaper price for the same item outside, but is too late because we make the full payment:sad:
All lights in SG are marked up horribly. I bought my own lights in from taobao. Shipped 16 x 24w and 4x 8w and used a old 36w that I bought locally, total less than $150 including shipping :s13: :s13:

The labor for my house is intensive, I redid all wiring including upsize DB to larger one.

You see if yours can match mine

Livingroom:
1 switch for display cabinet (4 LED bulbs)
1 switch for 24w (common area)
1 switch (2way) for 36w (livingroom)
11x 3pin sockets
2x LED switches (including strips)
1x switch for door area light
10x UTP CAT 6 wiring (termination point)
2x UTP wiring

Kitchen:
2x LED switches
1x Oven switch
1x Hood switch
1x Steigen switch
6x 3pin switches
1x toilet light switch
2x kitchen light switch
1x heater switch

MBR:
4x 3 pin switch
1x toilet light switch
2x light switch
2x UTP wiring
1x heater switch
1x aircon compressor switch

BR2:
5x 3pin switch
2x UTP wiring
1x light switch

BR3:
3x 3pin switch
2x UTP wiring
1x light switch

SR:
3x 3pin switch
2x UTP wiring
1x light switch

Storeroom:
1x 3pin switch
1x light switch

Disclaimer:
- The above are all labor & wiring (materials) cost except the following:

----- I have 10 UTP points, I paid labor + materials for 7, the other 3 was paid labor, using my own cable bought from taobao.
----- All UTP faceplates bought separately
----- All sockets/power switches are bought from the brand LeGrand, separately.
----- LED ceiling lights are all bought from Taobao except toilet and storeroom (as there were batch issues, I got the electrician to bring his instead, I don't want to troubleshoot).
----- Display cabinet LED bulbs bought seperately
----- 4 LED strips (2 for tv console 2 for kitchen) bought seperately.

scarletwitch

Thanks! I have pm-ed you

rocky86

Haha... which shop you going, you let me know, I tell you who look for lor.

My price for myself only leh. lol...

All lights in SG are marked up horribly. I bought my own lights in from taobao. Shipped 16 x 24w and 4x 8w and used a old 36w that I bought locally, total less than $150 including shipping :s13: :s13:

The labor for my house is intensive, I redid all wiring including upsize DB to larger one.

You see if yours can match mine

Livingroom:
1 switch for display cabinet (4 LED bulbs)
1 switch for 24w (common area)
1 switch (2way) for 36w (livingroom)
11x 3pin sockets
2x LED switches (including strips)
1x switch for door area light
10x UTP CAT 6 wiring (termination point)
2x UTP wiring

Kitchen:
2x LED switches
1x Oven switch
1x Hood switch
1x Steigen switch
6x 3pin switches
1x toilet light switch
2x kitchen light switch
1x heater switch

MBR:
4x 3 pin switch
1x toilet light switch
2x light switch
2x UTP wiring
1x heater switch

BR2:
5x 3pin switch
2x UTP wiring
1x light switch

BR3:
3x 3pin switch
2x UTP wiring
1x light switch

SR:
3x 3pin switch
2x UTP wiring
1x light switch

Storeroom:
1x 3pin switch
1x light switch

Disclaimer:
- The above are all labor & wiring (materials) cost except the following:

----- I have 10 UTP points, I paid labor + materials for 7, the other 3 was paid labor, using my own cable bought from taobao.
----- All UTP faceplates bought separately
----- All sockets/power switches are bought from the brand LeGrand, separately.
----- LED ceiling lights are all bought from Taobao except toilet and storeroom (as there were batch issues, I got the electrician to bring his instead, I don't want to troubleshoot).
----- Display cabinet LED bulbs bought seperately
----- 4 LED strips (2 for tv console 2 for kitchen) bought seperately.
wah yours very comprehensive, I don't mine is as comprehensive as yours for sure lol

EJB

wah yours very comprehensive, I don't mine is as comprehensive as yours for sure lol
I did a mental calculation on the socket/switches. Just for your reference. Hardware all mine, only wires & labor is from electrician, I top up for the switches which my ID went to personally get for me as he knows exactly which model I need, I told him to tell me simi gang, simi way, give me the quantity, then I go buy, end up he ownself get :s13:

EJB

anybody know why track light point need to be conceal?
I think it's the trunking, the hiding of the wiring. You didn't make false ceiling right? My 5.1K includes trunking. I didn't go for false ceiling.

I didn't go for tracklights as i find it overhyped and likely not in use after a while. I just used simple round LED lights (3 color type). My ID a bit sad I override his lighting ideas LOL.

rocky86

I think it's the trunking, the hiding of the wiring. You didn't make false ceiling right? My 5.1K includes trunking. I didn't go for false ceiling.

I didn't go for tracklights as i find it overhyped and likely not in use after a while. I just used simple round LED lights (3 color type). My ID a bit sad I override his lighting ideas LOL.
yes I never make false celling, haha good idea for simple LED light, guess I got sold too much by my ID on tracklight:sick:

EJB

yes I never make false celling, haha good idea for simple LED light, guess I got sold too much by my ID on tracklight:sick:
I had friends who tell me, tracklight chio, tracklight nice.. but they use once, twice... then that's it liao. They also tell me don't waste time on tracklights.

Anyway no false ceiling, concealing is likely trunking. I hope they are not drilling to conceal the wires. then next time you have problems removing it. If trunking you have to live with that plastic piece sticking out from the side to the lights. I have no issues on that.

I'm traditional in the sense, light bright enough can liao. And I want to be easy to maintain in future, ie: able to change/repair myself. I buy my own lights, I just need to buy back the same, re-attach the wires/drivers and I'm done. My goal was to make sure it's self-maintainable in future.

I paid $80 for an electrician come my house use my driver to fix my light. 5mins. That time don't know my dad got electrician change kitchen light, and the bugger change to LED, I didn't know. Sigh.

p/s: Mine also pa silicon at the sides of the trunking and wall/ceiling to close up the gap. So very neat.

I suggest 12-18W for bedrooms, and 24-36w for living room, 8w-12w for toilet is fine. That time buy from Jalan Besar cousin's friend's shop $700+ liao... this time smarter, I buy from Taobao.

mryang

Oic....but can sauce your own.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.