Any prudential agent/experienced here?

bibu00

Hi, i bought a pruflexicash plan (15 years) since 2011 and have been saving $400/mth into it. I realise its a mistake and i want to lower my premium now. Can anyone explain to me what are the consequences of lowering my premium?

Lewis.T

You can use your cashback to offset the premiums if you wish to do so, effectively allowing you to save 4800 - 3000 = 1800 per year.

The consequence is that your cashback that you withdraw will not be earning bonuses (interest).

Other options you may wish to consider include
1. Withdrawal of past accumulated cashback
2. Converting the plan to paid up (Don't need to pay premiums anymore, plan still continues with a reduced benefit)
3. Premium holiday (stop premiums for awhile) if you are in dire need of cash on hand for the time being.

bibu00

If converting the plan to paid up, will i be making a loss of whatever i have already deposited?
And what are the consequences of lowering premium?

Lewis.T

If converting the plan to paid up, will i be making a loss of whatever i have already deposited?
And what are the consequences of lowering premium?

Get your agent or call our customer service hotline to do a revised benefit illustration if you were to convert to paid up. You'll see all the info you need there.

Generally I would say you won't make a loss, as a paid up plan still requires you to hold till maturity, and get a reduced maturity benefit.

There are no consequences to making use of your cashback to offset the premiums, other than the fact the withdrawn cashback is now with you and isn't earning bonuses.

bibu00

Have been trying to contact my agent for weeks. keeps flying airplane on me. Pru sent me a letter of illustration if i reduce premium, which is quite useless. It only shows how much the insurance coverage will be when i reduce premium.

What i mean by a loss is i.e. if i paid a total of 19k in premiums but my policy value is only 12k now. does it means i lose the 7k if i convert to paidup option?

neanea

My agent also MIA and my policy losing money. How to know which prulink fund to buy?

oceanicmanta

Have been trying to contact my agent for weeks. keeps flying airplane on me. Pru sent me a letter of illustration if i reduce premium, which is quite useless. It only shows how much the insurance coverage will be when i reduce premium.

What i mean by a loss is i.e. if i paid a total of 19k in premiums but my policy value is only 12k now. does it means i lose the 7k if i convert to paidup option?

If not wrong, only if you surrender your policy now would you realise this "loss" of 7k. (is the surrender value as of now stated ?) If any consolation, its not a total loss since you have been enjoying insurance coverage for the past 4 years.

Once policy is paid-up, I believe the 12k amount would still grow til maturity but at slower rate. You can estimate using maybe 3.5% compounding per year (or lower) to project maturity value until maturity. You shld be able to request for projection of cash value for your paid-up policy.

In any case, accept that there will most likely be "losses" since you want to stop paying premiums.

More importantly, the coverage of your paid-up policy will also be proportionately reduced.

I stand corrected. I am not insurance sales but have also taken up policies when younger & which dont make complete sense now.

bibu00

If not wrong, only if you surrender your policy now would you realise this "loss" of 7k. (is the surrender value as of now stated ?) If any consolation, its not a total loss since you have been enjoying insurance coverage for the past 4 years.

Once policy is paid-up, I believe the 12k amount would still grow til maturity but at slower rate. You can estimate using maybe 3.5% compounding per year (or lower) to project maturity value until maturity. You shld be able to request for projection of cash value for your paid-up policy.

In any case, accept that there will most likely be "losses" since you want to stop paying premiums.

More importantly, the coverage of your paid-up policy will also be proportionately reduced.

I stand corrected. I am not insurance sales but have also taken up policies when younger & which dont make complete sense now.

Thanks for the explaination. The insurance coverage part i couldnt care less about. I signed up with the mindset that it is a savings plan, but now i know im really wrong.

bibu00

What about the option of just lowering premium? What will happen to the plan?

bibu00

My agent mention about sending me some form to request for lowering premium, but i think its considered a partial surrender. not sure what it means though.

platopus

Does anyone know if the total surrender value includes the cashback component? O had this plan for 7 years, havent withdrew a single cent but illustration looks very cui...

Total premiums paid and guaranteed surrender value (i still lose 4k sia)

bibu00

Does anyone know if the total surrender value includes the cashback component? O had this plan for 7 years, havent withdrew a single cent but illustration looks very cui...

sounds bad man :(. back then i was still young, con by ins agent to sign this endownment.

MaoZeDuo

sounds bad man :(. back then i was still young, con by ins agent to sign this endownment.

Jin steady. Young time can throw $400 every month.

Anw, if u partial withdraw, premium still the same, doesn solve the problem. Better meet up and clarify things. Realign ur priorities and objectives, cut loss if necessary.

MaoZeDuo

Included...

Guaranteed at end of policy term will take back total paid?

oceanicmanta

What is the total tenor ? 20 yrs ?

if I recall correctly, for one of my 20 yr plan, the breakeven (Premium Paid = Surrender Value) is around Year 13 & that is based on 5% pa projection back then (guaranteed + non guaranteed). Just sharing ..

platopus

Yea.. I do feel like cutting loss and surrendering this pruflexicash liao.. back then sign when in NS.. feel quite foolish... but its not a lot of money...but still... :/

oceanicmanta

suggest talking it over with Financial Consultant, review policy's statements to understand various values etc before making final decision
if agent dont call back, submit a request via Pru website, which shld get logged & some attention.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.