Anyone bought iPhone from Japan before?

Smtsai

1. Any problem u faced when using in Singapore ?

2. Are u able to have tax free for Apple products in Japan at any stores ?

C^2=A^2+B^2

I am also interested with what TS asking. I did some homework:

1. Japan iphone products will have shutter sound, which might or might not be silenced.
2. apple warranty is not international , it only vailid in the country you purchase the iphone.
3.Japan iphones are mostly SIM-locked (bounded to one of the telco carriers), rarely there are unlocked iphones
4. Band Signal (5G & LTE) might not be the same between japan and singapore.

I am not 100% sure for the statement above, because there are mixed answers from the questions. Really Hope someone can enlighten us.

PhantomOpera

iPhone in Japan is cheaper than SG. But the shutter sound is really a problem. I spoke to my Japs friends and the Apple Jap store who told me that it cannot be off. But on some websites, it was mentioned that once you are out of Japan, you could off the shutter sound. No one really can confirm. On the safe side, I decided not to take the risk. Buy locally safer

C^2=A^2+B^2

oh, i tot apple stuff all international
I also think like that, what makes this even confusing is many people mentioning the warranty can be used in many other countries.

ceecookie

I am also interested with what TS asking. I did some homework:

1. Japan iphone products will have shutter sound, which might or might not be silenced.
2. apple warranty is not international , it only vailid in the country you purchase the iphone.
3.Japan iphones are mostly SIM-locked (bounded to one of the telco carriers), rarely there are unlocked iphones

I am not 100% sure for the statement above, because there are mixed answers from the questions. Really Hope someone can enlighten us.
Point 1 is true - shutter sound cannot be muted. At the most become a tone sound if silent mode is turned on.

Point 2 and 3 are false. Japan iphone is SIM locked only when purchased with a local mobile plan. Buying at full price from Apple store or electronic store e.g BICS is SIM unlocked..

Apple phrase their warranty policy such that they may restrict international warranty request, but in practice will service and ship in regional parts if needed

For point 4, is true long time ago but today the latest iphone is using radio with all frequencies so no issue enjoying 4g/5g in singapore.

ceecookie

Apple Store in Japan no longer participate in tourist tax free scheme. U can enjoy tax free apple products only at electronic stores like BIC

Acetone

Bros, just stick to buying anime figures and dolls from japan lah. Don’t try to save few bucks then got problems

エステ好きな野郎

Yes, only once and never again, many years ago.

1. Shutter sound cannot be silenced while you are using the phone in Japan. (maybe if you jailbreak it)
However I've read online that if you use a somewhat recent model overseas, the shutter sound can be silenced if you mute it. (as per normal)

should be international leh, no meh?

This was changed in 2016 or so.

dunno about this.

actually this was in the news here last night, many foreigners buying 2nd iphones/android phones here cost yen is low and 2nd hand is still in good condition.

whatheheck

not international meh? I thought some want the hk one because have dual physical sim slots

Hisashiburi

I read the shutter sound is dependent on the sim card n location.

If u use non Japan simcard outside japan, can turn off shutter sound.

Same for Korean phones.
They also have the shutter sounds.

ksapple

y buy from Japan?i tink is more ex than SG leh even after the exchange rate

Knightoftheblackrose

iPhone in Japan is cheaper than SG. But the shutter sound is really a problem. I spoke to my Japs friends and the Apple Jap store who told me that it cannot be off. But on some websites, it was mentioned that once you are out of Japan, you could off the shutter sound. No one really can confirm. On the safe side, I decided not to take the risk. Buy locally safer

It may be cheaper, but by right, when you re-enter Singapore, must make a GST declaration at customs and pay the 8% GST.

Darknights

y buy from Japan?i tink is more ex than SG leh even after the exchange rate
nope.. it's cheaper. 100~200 bucks cheaper even before tax rebate.
but the stores are currently out of stock.. so even if you want it, you gotta wait.

Darknights

i'm getting mine in a few days' time.. and i'll be traveling back to SG in a few weeks' (or couple of months') time.
let you know by then if you are still interested to know.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.