Anyone did MRI lasting more than 30 mins? How you tahan for so long?

icezombie

Just adjust to comfortable position, lie there, close eyes, listen to the music via the earphone and relax. Not that difficult to do even for 45min
how come urs got music one?
i do one hour before dun even have music only got ear plugs

icezombie

sometimes no choice have to do it lor. i just close eyes tight and try not to move.
the worst part is the hold your breath part wah lao eh feel like dying already …

i ever do >1 hour the trick is just to llst …

hwarzoner

hopefully in future got better technology MRI only need few minutes.

Krabs.

my mum cannot tahan it .... she claustrophobic since her drowning incident around 18yr old ....... that time in mri tiagong she use hand to bang the machine .... she said it bring back the drowning feeling and other ppl outside the room cannot get her intention to stop

fade_white

I did a mri with the iv drip (dye?) before. Very traumatic for me, I don’t think it was even 10 minutes but seemed forever.

buyacat

Had done a few times head and neck for about 1hr. After the first 10mins, fell asleep.

iceblendedchoc

As above.

I did 20 mins only and wanted to press the button on many occasions.

Felt like being buried alive, how to tong the 1 hour session?
I did mri on my brain around 30mins screwed up the first time as I moved and have to redo again. Would be better if I am sedated

ninelives

Just adjust to comfortable position, lie there, close eyes, listen to the music via the earphone and relax. Not that difficult to do even for 45min
since when can wear earphone during MRI?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Dracky

Imagine doing it with the XMM nurse on the MRI bed and you don't want it to end.

nachtsid.er

Why MRI needs so long?
MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) scans often take longer than other imaging techniques for several reasons:

1. **Detailed Imaging**: MRI provides highly detailed images of soft tissues, organs, and structures inside the body. Achieving this level of detail requires longer scan times compared to other imaging methods like X-rays or CT scans.

2. **Multiple Sequences**: An MRI scan typically involves multiple sequences, each capturing images in different planes or highlighting different tissues. Each sequence can take several minutes to complete, and multiple sequences are usually required to get a comprehensive view.

3. **Patient Stillness**: For the MRI to produce clear images, the patient must remain perfectly still. The process includes time to ensure the patient is comfortable and correctly positioned. If there is any movement, the scan might need to be repeated.

4. **Magnetic Field Strength**: The strength of the MRI's magnetic field, usually measured in Tesla, affects scan time. Higher strength magnets (like 3T machines) can produce images faster, but the trade-off between resolution, scan time, and patient comfort is carefully managed.

5. **Complexity of the Area Being Scanned**: Some parts of the body, such as the brain or joints, require more detailed imaging and more sequences, which increases the overall scan time.

6. **Noise Reduction and Safety Protocols**: The machine produces loud noises during the scan due to the operation of the magnetic coils. Noise reduction and patient safety protocols (like using earplugs or headphones) also add time to the process.

7. **Software Processing**: After each sequence, the machine needs time to process and save the images, which contributes to the overall duration of the scan.

8. **Customization for Specific Conditions**: MRI scans can be tailored to look for specific conditions, requiring customized sequences that may take additional time.

Overall, while MRI scans are time-consuming, their ability to produce highly detailed images makes them invaluable in diagnosing and managing many medical conditions.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.