Anyone here have plans to migrate?

miketay90

I have lived in 4 other countries and in 2020 came back to Singapore.

If I get the opportunity to leave again, I have decided I will not come back.

Singapore really sucks, there really is nothing Singapore offers that any other global city cannot.

Safety - I felt as safe anytime in those other cities as I did in Singapore

Cleanliness - Singapore isnt really that clean. Cleaner than US/French cities but not UK, Korea,Tokyo. For example, every HDB void deck is full of cockroaches... How can you say this is a clean city.

Career prospects - Really, if you can get good job in Singapore, you can get good job anywhere. And if you cannot, you probably can get a good job somewhere else since less competition

Education - Our education system destroys all creativity. I don't want my kids to go through it

Cost - Really damn expensive, other countries supermarket I struggle to spend EUR30 for 1 week worth of food (think 10 Belgium waffles 1.5 EUR) in one of the more expensive European cities. Singapore NTUC anyhow buy some small things also come up $50/60 plus.

Tax - The moment you buy a car, your monthly income that goes to gov becomes similar to that of European cites. Plus, over there, give gov money, they use to take care of people. Here give gov money, they use to fund a useless SAF, pay themselves, design stupid policy, build overly expensive infrastructure... Just think, 100 billion in covid spending is 40K per citizen, I got 1.2k, where the other 38.8k go? No one knows - definitely not to healthcare infrastructure.

People that say Singapore is good have never really seen the world. Or maybe only via holidays/study.
Unless, you are those type that gov give you free education and easy job for life, you say SG in great, I give it to you.

The best thing about Sg, can go out in the middle of the night in pt kit find food. No need wear long pants/put on jacket. And that my friends and family are here but really can just fly back every 6-12 months see them anyway.

TOTALLY AGREE except the 2nd last para.

I know some well travelled people who say Singapore is good/better/best......they are unfailingly all girls. But the funny thing is some of them have no qualms moving overseas to be with their foreign BFs....

MiG123

Plus with the endless booster mandates and a braindead citizenry, there’s clear and present health risk from staying and building a career here

in most other countries, there’s alr substantial pushback on mandates for 2 basic doses, doubt anywhere will get traction with mandating boosters. even Israel is peeling back on this insanity liao

rachdanon

When I'm financially stable I plan to move to Thailand and live there long term maybe run a small business there
Reminds me of someone..
rambo-iii-6.jpg

Mr Totoro 38

Singapore really sucks, there really is nothing Singapore offers that any other global city cannot.

Cleanliness - Singapore isnt really that clean. Cleaner than US/French cities but not UK, Korea,Tokyo. For example, every HDB void deck is full of cockroaches... How can you say this is a clean city.

Career prospects - Really, if you can get good job in Singapore, you can get good job anywhere. And if you cannot, you probably can get a good job somewhere else since less competition

Education - Our education system destroys all creativity. I don't want my kids to go through it

Cost - Really damn expensive, other countries supermarket I struggle to spend EUR30 for 1 week worth of food (think 10 Belgium waffles 1.5 EUR) in one of the more expensive European cities. Singapore NTUC anyhow buy some small things also come up $50/60 plus.

Tax - The moment you buy a car, your monthly income that goes to gov becomes similar to that of European cites. Plus, over there, give gov money, they use to take care of people. Here give gov money, they use to fund a useless SAF, pay themselves, design stupid policy, build overly expensive infrastructure... Just think, 100 billion in covid spending is 40K per citizen, I got 1.2k, where the other 38.8k go? No one knows - definitely not to healthcare infrastructure.

People that say Singapore is good have never really seen the world. Or maybe only via holidays/study.
Unless, you are those type that gov give you free education and easy job for life, you say SG in great, I give it to you.

The best thing about Sg, can go out in the middle of the night in pt kit find food. No need wear long pants/put on jacket. And that my friends and family are here but really can just fly back every 6-12 months see them anyway.

<<Tax - The moment you buy a car, your monthly income that goes to gov becomes similar to that of European cites. Plus, over there, give gov money, they use to take care of people. Here give gov money, they use to fund a useless SAF, pay themselves, design stupid policy, build overly expensive infrastructure... Just think, 100 billion in covid spending is 40K per citizen, I got 1.2k, where the other 38.8k go? No one knows - definitely not to healthcare infrastructure.>>

What i most DU LAN is the tax money goes to help Foreigner students to study almost FREE! totally neglected local students and every year keep wasting MONEY like no body biz!

In overseas, is the International students who pay alot FULL fees to cover the fees for local students!

If the student is poor, unable to afford fees and wanted to go uni for upgrade. The govt will offer free interest loans first and give the students to study. Upon grad, the students will slowly pay back depend on how much he/she earns annually.

SEE THE BIG F DIFFERENCE! WHO IS LOCAL AND WHO IS A FOREIGNER!

RedOrion

Bro don’t give up on this migration idea!!!!

my humble advice apply for PR asap secure the PR then later u can look out for job. And only move when U secured a job in Australia.

meanwhile safe money and do research where to live in Australia 🇦🇺

Apply PR before move or secure job there? Really?

miketay90

Plus with the endless booster mandates and a braindead citizenry, there’s clear and present health risk from staying and building a career here

in most other countries, there’s alr substantial pushback on mandates for 2 basic doses, doubt anywhere will get traction with mandating boosters. even Israel is peeling back on this insanity liao

it's incredible how so few vaxxed people spoke out against jabs or jobs

kuma-mon

You might want to PM @fishbuff, @amransan or @SGMale to get general advice on how to make the jump.
Australia probably has the least barriers in terms of language and promixity.

But whatever you decide, always make sure that you are supposed to fully own and follow through with your decision. Never rely on others like this other poster who replied to me in another thread weeks back.

Can i PM u to buy things in japan? lol

rachdanon

Thanks for the constructive post. Agree with them. Sg's soul and identity has been lost through the rapid expansion years in economy. Like the fat kid that lost weight too fast and lives with ugly stretch marks. Dead culture, identity music, arts and other softer areas of life that contribute to mental health. Instead we see a copy cat of what is on other countries to cosmopolitanise us, and again for what - to attract foreign talent, tourist and investment. Lost our soul over the last 30 years of rapid expansion. Its only a "great" place for corporate work life.

miketay90

I am planning to apply a job first in Australia and work there on work visa
Then along the way apply for PR

I dont think u can apply for PR without any working experience in Australia right?

actually you can via skillselect - no aussie working experience needed..

also it may not be easy to apply for a job in australia without PR, but its possible if you job is truly in shortage. do try applying and see if they provide employer sponsored routes.

amransan

Apply PR before move or secure job there? Really?
Yes provided u got the skill they want and u got enough point bro.

do the free assessment online and if pass hot enough point then make appointments to see the migration agent and from there he will explain to u the cost of the PR and tell u how long it takes

AuraKUPO

Thailand is good for your lil bro but not good for your kids. Aus is better, not that cold compared to Canada. Just avoid those red neck areas.
Not true about Thailand is not good for your kids. You have been brainwashed by pap that only entering schools like NUS, NTU or ivy league can have better future and career and won't end up as drug addicts or low ses.

Many amdk family expats send their kids to international schools. Some China Chinese let their kids take online lessons. They are not the poor and low ses individuals that we think. Many are successful and richer than us here.

Sinkies just have this mindset that Thailand is a 3rd world country. 3rd world is only when your mindset is backward thinking, much like many sinkie aunties and uncles :o

nyvrem

actually for tax, income tax and gains tax really damn low in SG. thats 1 big reason im still in SG.

but like what u said about ur other points, once my kids finish O levels, ill leave for good cause sending them to college in the US (thank god they accept O levels as entry, so my kids can skip 2/3 years of nonsense poly/jc)

career prospects in SG is really fug. im 'heng' i work in CS so its very stable, but ppl around my age group (35), those that make it are in a pressure cooker, those that cant make it struggle to find a proper career path.

my bro in law went medical sch in UK, right after he graduated, uk gov gave him a special form to apply for indefinite leave to remain ~ macham give him PR to live there. i went there visit him, notice cost of living outside of london damn cheap.

Airplane88

I think most of us here wanna migrate there because of 1:3
Not because of politics and administration lol
Their politics more corrupted btw
If base on 1:3, it is only good if you have lots of SG $$$ and you are able to bring across to spend. If you wanna to stay there long and make $$$ there, moi is afraid it comes to square one.
The only pluses are cheap cars/ houses there. But for commoners there, not many can afford GCB or condos there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.