Anyone here staying in 2 room BTO?

Should we move it to HomeSeekers and HomeMakers?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Mr.Canberra

the grant is added into the cpf, so ya , i got 60k in my cpf (in 2017) + the grant and work another 3 yr = just nice to fully pay the home.

mine is sengkang rivervale, aug 2017 launch

Well planned!

You are heng as the price surge in Seng Kang and Punggol since 2 years ago really cost an arm and leg! :D

wah i didnt know cannot buy under the senior citizen scheme!
but where you all see the info from?

i went to see the hdb conditions and even did the eligibility test check based on 55yrs old age. say can buy flexi leh! or got some sentences i've missed out?

the last question say can leh?
https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/buying-a-flat/new/eligibility/2room-flexi-flat

The devil is in the details! :s13:

"If you have previously sold two flats purchased with housing subsidies, you can still apply for a short-lease 2-room flat provided you have not purchased a Studio Apartment or short-lease 2-room Flexi flat previously."

Best is ask HDB for more info.

bugis78

the grant is added into the cpf, so ya , i got 60k in my cpf(in 2017) + the grant and work another 3 yr = just nice to fully pay the home.

mine is sengkang rivervale, aug 2017 launch

We almost the same area.

Me sengkang Nov bto 2017

Fernvale Glades 😂

techiesus

tmd!
:eek::(

studio apartment = current 2 rm meh?

then why they say short lease 2 rm flexi instead of short lease studio apartment?
wah this hdb ah, so confusing. ok i will email them!

"If you have previously sold two flats purchased with housing subsidies, you can still apply for a short-lease 2-room flat provided you have not purchased a Studio Apartment or short-lease 2-room Flexi flat previously."

The_King

We almost the same area.

Me sengkang Nov bto 2017

Fernvale Glades ******************

like very far, your is at sengkang west mine is at sengkang east but got 1 direct bus. your got bus like 168, go woodland and ikea very fast

they will be opening a hawker center there in fate 2 of them and plenty of seng shiong

The_King

Well planned!

You are heng as the price surge in Seng Kang and Punggol since 2 years ago really cost an arm and leg! :D

i was shock just 3yr and it jump so much. if i was to be picky, i still be paying my loan

Sumimasen

tmd!

:eek:
:(

then why they say short lease 2 rm flexi instead of short lease studio apartment?

Actually each person has 2 chances to bto...u bto second time at 55 downgrade from Type 2 to 1 liddat maybe can opt for the short lease.

foreveru13

My one 47sqm yishun that time 2017
102 level 5, add 15k single premium and 2500+ for vinyl flooring option
128k.
My friend level 10 fernvale was 168k in 2019

ft7001

128k.

Same as u. Yishun. But I’m level 10. 15k single premium and I opt in finishes. 128k also.

Squaredot

Once u bought a 2 rm Flexi bto, u no longer entitled to buy the short lease bto for elderly.
Coz technically u r already staying in a 老人公寓。
2rm 99yr lease and 2rm short lease BTO may be treated separately.
2rm short lease is equivalent to ex-Studio Apartment whereas 2rm 99yr is same as 3rm/4rm/5rm, have two chances per person.

Squaredot

tmd!
:eek::(

Ex-studio Apartments are all on short lease for aged 55 only. Studio Apartments have been renamed as 2rm short lease some years ago.

If you have apply for 2rm (not short lease), I think u r eligible to get 2rm short lease when u hit 55. This is my interpretation :s13:

Do update us here after u get a reply from HDB :D

Mr.Canberra

Do update us when you have received official reply from HDB. Thanks! :)

Always go for 2-Room Flexi (99 year leasehold) if you are not cash tight or plan to have legacy inheritance. 2-Room Flexi (short lease) is confirm rugi. It is like long term rent at subsidised rates. The typical "rent" is about S$300-400/mth.

With the same amount you can rent a studio condo in JB for less or around there from RM600. Just hop over to Singapore every now and then for errands/banking/medical appointments if any.

1) You get to use condo facilities plus enjoy the lower cost of living.
2) You free up a lot of cash ($100K+) for retirement funds drawdown or until you foolishly donate all to Vietbu or Tiongbu. :s13:

The bigger issue here is the visa. 1 month visa run which may arouse suspicions from Imigresen Malaysia if you are skipping MM2H visa. :s13:

Johor Bahru is my first choice for low cost living plus proximity to Singapore.

Vietnam is cheap but too much of a hassle if you need to travel back and forth.

Thailand is no longer cheap if you want to stay in Bangkok/Chiang Mai where good infrastructure/ammenities are.

China is ideal for businessmen but cost is too much to fly back and forth.

In conclusion if you are willing to give up all the freebie handouts given to 2-Room occupants then only consider staying overseas. Rent out 2-Room flat (99 year leasehold) and stay overseas is the best of both worlds. :D

i was shock just 3yr and it jump so much. if i was to be picky, i still be paying my loan

image.png

128k.

Wow! :eek:

Sumimasen

But I tot only married couples who wish to down size from their bigger flat could apply for the short lease 2 rm when reached 55 and above.🤔

SuperZ

Here is what I found out from HDB:

1. As a Single, you are only entitled to 1 BTO and only for 2-room (99-yr lease) flat in non-matured estate.
2. Upon reaching 55, you can opt to buy 2-room flexi (short lease) at anywhere (matured or non-matured estate) if you sell your current 2-room (99-yr lease) flat.

Now, who would (in the right mind) sell his/her 2-room (99-yr lease) flat to buy a short-lease flexi considering all the transaction costs involved. That means the inventory for 2-room (99-yr lease) flat will remain very low in the future. The only sellers would be married couples (very low in numbers) and sudden-rich singles (unless strike toto) would sell to upgrade to larger sized flats or condos. As such, the prices of the 2-room (99-yr lease) flat will remain very strong in a upward trend.

Mr.Canberra

Here is what I found out from HDB:

1. As a Single, you are only entitled to 1 BTO and only for 2-room (99-yr lease) flat in non-matured estate.
2. Upon reaching 55, you can opt to buy 2-room flexi (short lease) at anywhere (matured or non-matured estate) if you sell your current 2-room (99-yr lease) flat.

Now, who would (in the right mind) sell his/her 2-room (99-yr lease) flat to buy a short-lease flexi considering all the transaction costs involved. That means the inventory for 2-room (99-yr lease) flat will remain very low in the future. The only sellers would be married couples (very low in numbers) and sudden-rich singles (unless strike toto) would sell to upgrade to larger sized flats or condos. As such, the prices of the 2-room (99-yr lease) flat will remain very strong in a upward trend.

In summary majority of 2-Room (99yrs lease) flat owners will live in same flat until they die or upgrade to another property if strike ToTo. :s13:

Winnie The Xi is correct. “房子是拿来住的,不是拿来炒的。”.

He should also add in the following, “最好是住到死为止!”. :s13:

mamboeidos

Mine 178k..... Nothing to be surprise of with just mop asking for 300k....

Sent from OnePlus KB2000 using GAGT

Langrisser999

In summary majority of 2-Room (99yrs lease) flat owners will live in same flat until they die or upgrade to another property if strike ToTo. :s13:

Winnie The Xi is correct. “房子是拿来住的,不是拿来炒的。”.

He should also add in the following, “最好是住到死为止!”. :s13:

My house will be my tomb.:s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.