Anyone trade full time?

klarklar

Good for you. I brought DBS at $7.30 in early 2009, if I remember.

Hi alexchia01,

This is impressive. Even more impressive if you are holding it today. I presume you might have sold it in 2011 because DBS was clearly in a downtrend in Sep 2011. If you are still holding DBS today, may I ask what made you keep DBS which turn out to be a great decision despite being a trend-follower?

felixleong

No la.. Honestly.. Im not like exposing alex or anything.. I just google his name "alex chia trader".. And the results came out. Seems to match his details given.

It's good to make more friends whether online or offline. Can go out lim kopi.. Talk about shares or any interests.

i see.. nowadays google search engine really too powerful liao hehe

havetheveryfun

hm.. ya a lot of people will be skeptic, a lot of people will doubt, a lot of people cast negative views, took me years to learn how to ignore the noise and live my own life.

anyway my friends and family all know what I do for a living, many years already...used to it liao, also must see the background

when I was young I was a competitive card gamer, traveling around the world to play magic card tournaments.. I then moved on to play poker professionally... finally I took all my poker winnings and moved into investing.. so people that really know me, know my pattern one.. I'm not the type that looks for a 9-5 job haha so they wouldn't say me much also

for those wanting to go full time trading or investing, must make sure your gf/wife and family understand what you doing, otherwise very stress one, especially girls... they want stability... they don't understand that why the income is so unstable, they don't know what it means to take risk and follow your passion etc

also be prepared to always face a lot of negative remarks, singaporeans the typical mind set is to play it safe... get a stable job, get married, buy hdb and have kids... 90%of the people just follow this one straight road, if u taking another different path many will say you are wrong, should follow what the rest is doing... don't take risk, what if fail... blah blah blah.. more often or not u will feel like outcast

cold hard truth

emo...

so are u married with kids ?

klarklar

Sorry, I can't teach you my trading strategy because it's trade secret.

However, I can share with you how to be a better trader.

Hi alexchia01,

This is very generous of you already. Hope you don't mind if I keep bombarding you with questions because I cannot resist when I meet a great trader. Although I am not a good trader, I think I am experienced enough to know a good one when I meet one. Reading your posts convinces me you are one.

I won't ask for your fishes but just would like to learn about some of your fishing techniques. Perhaps share some of mine but I am not even sure I am fishing correctly.

lovemyself123

hm.. ya a lot of people will be skeptic, a lot of people will doubt, a lot of people cast negative views, took me years to learn how to ignore the noise and live my own life.

anyway my friends and family all know what I do for a living, many years already...used to it liao, also must see the background

when I was young I was a competitive card gamer, traveling around the world to play magic card tournaments.. I then moved on to play poker professionally... finally I took all my poker winnings and moved into investing.. so people that really know me, know my pattern one.. I'm not the type that looks for a 9-5 job haha so they wouldn't say me much also

for those wanting to go full time trading or investing, must make sure your gf/wife and family understand what you doing, otherwise very stress one, especially girls... they want stability... they don't understand that why the income is so unstable, they don't know what it means to take risk and follow your passion etc

also be prepared to always face a lot of negative remarks, singaporeans the typical mind set is to play it safe... get a stable job, get married, buy hdb and have kids... 90%of the people just follow this one straight road, if u taking another different path many will say you are wrong, should follow what the rest is doing... don't take risk, what if fail... blah blah blah.. more often or not u will feel like outcast

cold hard truth

emo...

well said.. fresh grad here just started working not too long ago. in realise this is the general mindset everyone around me has.. singapore needs more people like u who is willing to try and take risks

klarklar

I only trade what I see, i don't try to predict the market. So, I don't know if the market has stop rising.

In the short term, I think market is going down. Currently, I'm in the short position, so I'm bias to the downside.

In longer term, I don't know and I don't really care because either way, I taken care of.

Hi alexchai01,

I don't understand why you are in the short position. The major indices are still above 50-day moving average. Uptrend still there. Why are you shorting?

felixleong

Hi felixleong,

A bit surprised you suffered a 50% paper loss. You sound like an experienced trader. Why didn't you cut your losses then?

2006-07 time I still early stage in investing, only read a few investing books and started dabbling in stocks liao... can say is noob ba hahahaha

But honestly i quite thankful that when I started, the first 2 year I actually loss money and learnt things the hard way...after that 2009 till now 2015 quite lucky all the way positive results each year, not impressive but positive is good enough for me.

I had friends who introduced me to stocks and had started earlier investing in a bull market, it was easy to make money playing contra and in 1 to 2 years they traded bigger and bigger, it was just that easy money... then the crash came and many of them got wiped out, some loss even more than what they made earlier... damn painful

klarklar

2006-07 time I still early stage in investing, only read a few investing books and started dabbling in stocks liao... can say is noob ba hahahaha

But honestly i quite thankful that when I started, the first 2 year I actually loss money and learnt things the hard way...after that 2009 till now 2015 I have had positive results each year, not impressive but positive is good enough for me.

I had friends who started investing in a bull market, it was easy to make money playing contra and in 1 to 2 years they traded bigger and bigger, it was just that easy money... then the crash came and many of them got wiped out, some loss even more than what they made earlier... damn painful

You even made money in 2011? Wow! That was a terrible year. In 2011, you made money as trader or investor? I lost big money in 2011.

felixleong

well said.. fresh grad here just started working not too long ago. in realise this is the general mindset everyone around me has.. singapore needs more people like u who is willing to try and take risks

ya bo bian singapore mindset is like that one, very hard for them to break out of the comfort zone, I just hope we can be more like US~ we need people to think like mark zuckerberg

nowadays I talk to younger people... seems like many wanna to study banking and finance, little wanna study programming...haizzz so sad...

bill gates once said "be nice to nerds, often you end up working for one"

cheers

felixleong

You even made money in 2011? Wow! That was a terrible year. In 2011, you made money as trader or investor? I lost big money in 2011.

yeah 2011 was really a very bad year, that period really hard to make money with all the negatives in europe.

hmmm... actually most of my money usually tied up in a few stocks nia, mostly buy and hold de. Only a small part of my capital (say 10% or so, really depends on market conditions) is used for short term trades.

during that period I was mostly vested in challenger and starhub, which both held up well.

you can read more about it here if interested

My most rewarding investment journey -- 5 years with CHALLENGER TECHNOLOGIES

btw the story i really no bluff, in my blog I got post each year's annual report

cheers

lovemyself123

ya bo bian singapore mindset is like that one, very hard for them to break out of the comfort zone, I just hope we can be more like US~ we need people to think like mark zuckerberg

nowadays I talk to younger people... seems like many wanna to study banking and finance, little wanna study programming...haizzz so sad...

cheers

yup haha off topic abit.. everyone just wants to reach the highest salary possible. i love the culture in US too everyone pursue what they really want.

hope i will have the courage to step out of my comfort zone very soon too :s22:

havetheveryfun

cheers

lol u go edmw then u will know y.. ppl say until IT line so bad because of FT and all that

felixleong

lol u go edmw then u will know y.. ppl say until IT line so bad because of FT and all that

ya lor, edmw those people hahaha, but got entertainment value ba hehe

speaking of edmw, did u all know this hardwarezone website was actually founded by 3 nerds.. think was from NTU or NUS, they then sold it out for millions to SPH!!!

cheers

Gaara1989

no such thing as full time investor. those who say that its possible is bcus they haven kenna only / have strong family backing $$$ only. :s8::D:D

linxiaobei

yup haha off topic abit.. everyone just wants to reach the highest salary possible. i love the culture in US too everyone pursue what they really want.

hope i will have the courage to step out of my comfort zone very soon too :s22:

I guess most wanted to have the courage to do what they want but are restricted due to financial issues. This is Singapore, where money talks most of the time. You'll need quite significant sum monthly just to survive too. Without rich family backing them up to explore their interest, most of them would be just copying what's everyone is currently doing and that is to have a stable and boring life. Just following a proven formula till the day they die and not taking any risk.

They also have to face social issues within the family too. It's just the culture in Singapore. This is what the goverment wanted, stablilty and predictability. Very hard unless there's someone with a different mindset leading the crowd.

felixleong

I guess most wanted to have the courage to do what they want but are restricted due to financial issues. This is Singapore, where money talks most of the time. You'll need quite significant sum monthly just to survive too. Without rich family backing them up to explore their interest, most of them would be just copying what's everyone is currently doing and that is to have a stable and boring life. Just following a proven formula till the day they die and not taking any risk.

They also have to face social issues within the family too. It's just the culture in Singapore. This is what the goverment wanted, stablilty and predictability. Very hard unless there's someone with a different mindset leading the crowd.

yeah very well said, guess that sums it all

cold hard truth

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.