Anyone trade full time?

alexchia01

Hi alexchia01,

This is impressive. Even more impressive if you are holding it today. I presume you might have sold it in 2011 because DBS was clearly in a downtrend in Sep 2011. If you are still holding DBS today, may I ask what made you keep DBS which turn out to be a great decision despite being a trend-follower?

You mistaken why I brought DBS.

I've 2 strategies, one is trend trading and the other is dividend investing.

When I brought DBS, it was for investing, not for trading.

When I brought it that time, was following my father's investment strategy... That was Buy finance companies and hold forever.

However, I had a change in my investment strategy in the later years, from growth investing to dividend investing, which result in a overhaul of my entire portfolio. This include selling DBS.

Buying DBS has nothing to do with trend following.

alexchia01

Hi felixleong,

A bit surprised you suffered a 50% paper loss. You sound like an experienced trader. Why didn't you cut your losses then?

Every experience players definitely has loss to the market before.

If someone tells you he never loss money to the market before, he's either BS or too new in the market. Better don't take advice from him.

One of my biggest loss was in 2001, Sep 11 attack.

I brought SIA at $16 and the attack, market closed for 3 days. Once open Entire world was selling. Sold my SIA at $9.

That was an expensive lesson.

alexchia01

Hi alexchai01,

I don't understand why you are in the short position. The major indices are still above 50-day moving average. Uptrend still there. Why are you shorting?

We all have different trading strategies.

I can't explain to you why I shorted.

Just rest assure that I'm already in profit, so there is nothing to worry about.

Sinkie

2006-07 time I still early stage in investing, only read a few investing books and started dabbling in stocks liao... can say is noob ba hahahaha

But honestly i quite thankful that when I started, the first 2 year I actually loss money and learnt things the hard way...after that 2009 till now 2015 quite lucky all the way positive results each year, not impressive but positive is good enough for me.

I had friends who introduced me to stocks and had started earlier investing in a bull market, it was easy to make money playing contra and in 1 to 2 years they traded bigger and bigger, it was just that easy money... then the crash came and many of them got wiped out, some loss even more than what they made earlier... damn painful

We started the same time, bought a lot bcos 154 strait times reported will go 4000, and ended up lost a lot lol. Then I cut loss and accumulated my capital again n by the time I begin again, market just happened to bottom then somehow made back losses with interest lol

Then an uptrend market, abit hard to lose money till last year penny crash lol..

felixleong

We started the same time, bought a lot bcos 154 strait times reported will go 4000, and ended up lost a lot lol. Then I cut loss and accumulated my capital again n by the time I begin again, market just happened to bottom then somehow made back losses with interest lol

Then an uptrend market, abit hard to lose money till last year penny crash lol..

ya when super uptrend, anyhow whack also make $$ one~ really test one's greed

like the blumont,liongold,asiason saga.... newspaper got interview some guy who bet on these pennies and became multi-millionaire! dunnoe in the end he still have those now worthless shares or not, gg

lovemyself123

may i know at what age did you all start and how old are u all now? so how long will it take for one to be trading profitably?

felixleong

may i know at what age did you all start and how old are u all now? so how long will it take for one to be trading profitably?

when I was doing my degree, watching the movie "Wall Street" and got inspired!!!

only became profitable 3rd year onwards (when looking at full year results)

now old uncle liao

lovemyself123

i realise best time to start was during the undergrad years still studying.. makes me feel old haha now work also limited time to gain knowledge. i will still be reading up as much as i can though

Sinkie

i realise best time to start was during the undergrad years still studying.. makes me feel old haha now work also limited time to gain knowledge. i will still be reading up as much as i can though

Yeah best time is during undergrad, bcos losing $2000 during sch or $200,000 when u have a family will hurts and pain you the same

felixleong

Yeah best time is during undergrad, bcos losing $2000 during sch or $200,000 when u have a family will hurts and pain you the same

I kinda agree, but I also think what's even more important is picking up proper trading/investing habits

usually those that already started working, hard to save up more $$/set aside more money for investing due to commitments such as house/car/family

when being a student and just coming out to work, important to nurture a habit of saving right from the beginning (say 10-20% of take home salary), after a few years of working... the initial capital is very important as its the starting point of where your start compounding

also without a solid capital base and risk management... confirm very stressful, especially when facing trading losses

I have seen some people who have no capital and resort to playing contra... often there's only 1 ending

focus1974

when I was doing my degree, watching the movie "Wall Street" and got inspired!!!

only became profitable 3rd year onwards (when looking at full year results)

now old uncle liao

WTF... U r at least 48yrs old now?
Sure have many many things to learn from you !

Can start a thread on how you invest and trade ? :)

If not.. can ask :-
1) How you do selection for your portfolio for investing
2) When do you consider selling?
3) Do you subscribe to Efficient Mkt Hypothesis, Mkt Cycle etc?
4) How much of your networth is allocated towards equities, bonds, etc.

Perisher

Got to say, those newbies like me who have not yet been through a cycle, has not much weight when we say we make money.

Been in the market for 2 years, so far so good. Mostly blue chips, and the general market is up, so unless you gamble on penny stock, hard to lose money.

hm.. ya a lot of people will be skeptic, a lot of people will doubt, a lot of people cast negative views, took me years to learn how to ignore the noise and live my own life.

anyway my friends and family all know what I do for a living, many years already...used to it liao, also must see the background

when I was young I was a competitive card gamer, traveling around the world to play magic card tournaments.. I then moved on to play poker professionally... finally I took all my poker winnings and moved into investing.. so people that really know me, know my pattern one.. I'm not the type that looks for a 9-5 job haha so they wouldn't say me much also

for those wanting to go full time trading or investing, must make sure your gf/wife and family understand what you doing, otherwise very stress one, especially girls... they want stability... they don't understand that why the income is so unstable, they don't know what it means to take risk and follow your passion etc

also be prepared to always face a lot of negative remarks, singaporeans the typical mind set is to play it safe... get a stable job, get married, buy hdb and have kids... 90%of the people just follow this one straight road, if u taking another different path many will say you are wrong, should follow what the rest is doing... don't take risk, what if fail... blah blah blah.. more often or not u will feel like outcast

cold hard truth

emo...

true ,
actually is my parents encourage me into stocks..as I have enough savings.
Last time cannot but how I wish to start young...but capital is not there next I haven't work.
after working for years have some savings ...thus start...many years.back..
so far ...ok ...
but still cannot afford to play stock as my main income...is " HARD" that why I keep question and curious how those play stocks for their main income play..of course as I have say different people different style...

one of my relative even told me...no need to " think " or " try a smart way to play " lol because big players already think of it etc....usually basically all doing the same...

he does work from home but doing his own business..stocks is another income...
well not consider doing trade/investment as main income ...

more important , how you all search around .and see stocks that are will increase much and decrease a lot also during daily trade?

I forget the " term " for these stocks..

I remember there is another term call " defensive stocks " aka like SPH ....for an example..
it rise or drop usually a bit ..

felixleong

WTF... U r at least 48yrs old now?
Sure have many many things to learn from you !

Can start a thread on how you invest and trade ? :)

If not.. can ask :-
1) How you do selection for your portfolio for investing
2) When do you consider selling?
3) Do you subscribe to Efficient Mkt Hypothesis, Mkt Cycle etc?
4) How much of your networth is allocated towards equities, bonds, etc.

haha i not that old ba, under 40~ the wall street movie i watch online de

for my style I kinda copy a lot from warren buffett & peter lynch, I only focus on a few stocks only. some times I also make short term trades, such as risk arbitrage, I don't use charts.

I don't believe the market is efficient and I'm usually mostly vested (currently 90% vested, 10% in cash/FD)

currently I also not holding any bonds (as interest rates are going up), the vested portion 100% in equities in which I normally hold just 3-5 stocks only and nothing more (I don't diversify)

Shion

Senior Mentor
[QUOTE='[[ForeverAlone]]
I remember there is another term call " defensive stocks " aka like SPH ....for an example..
it rise or drop usually a bit ..[/QUOTE]

Yes, people keep these type of stocks for the dividends only.

Usually not much movements from these stocks unless something big happens.

simon_84

Yes, people keep these type of stocks for the dividends only.

Usually not much movements from these stocks unless something big happens.

well in 2013, sph list their reit component out.
so in aug that year got special dividends and before Q4 CD (ppl holding on to SPH that year must be damn happy) :s13:
fundamental wise, as sph list out their cash cows, price got sold down to 3.91

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.