Anyone trade full time?

I see that u trade SG market.. so hard to earn daily ba, if monthly or yearly profit good enough

can aim 10-20% annual returns to be realistic from SG market

holding period days to months okay since u can pick up the shares

capital wise anything 10k up is fine, think in terms of percentages easier, not gross/net amounts

stocks to hold anything between 1-30 is decent.... if too many u cannot monitor all

for me, if I active on trading.. the most hold 3-5 positions at any given time nia, prefer to focus

Oh , I forgot to include..

Hard to explain here don't know you will know what I mean..
as a full time trader from home. ( work from home treat it as his / her bread and butter )
I feel curious ....how to survive ?
as you can't " really " earn every day at least 300 dollars constant everyday for 30 days .?

This is what I curious.....

Sinkie

as a full time trader from home. ( work from home treat it as his / her bread and butter )
as you can't " really " earn every day at least 300 dollars constant everyday for 30 days .?

What do you work as? and how old??

:)
my work is totally not financial related...

how old :s34: haven't reach 40..

well I'm asking because I do know few claim play stock as their living aka no work just trade in between..earn for their daily needs..

I heard some no need trade or work just dump the money on one company collect huge dividend

when board of directors meeting , you will receive the letter too..

felixleong

I see hm... from my experience..really very rare or few people making a living 100% from trading

those that I do know of, usually they have other sources of income too

some are self-employed, doing insurance, property or some small business while adding trading to supplement their income

for a trader, don't think its possible to make a profit every day.. from experience maybe out of 12 months.. 8 months make profit 4 months loss/break even is not bad already, but of course full year should should show profits and must always standby strong reserves (12-24 months living expenses in cash to tank the volatility of earnings)

being a trader is same as running a business, not different from running a chicken rice stall, if cash flow run out.. u die

sometimes will have rainy days when u don't generate income, need to manage reserves wisely

lastly like I mentioned before, to be successful you either have to generate high returns or have a large capital

if u have 100k capital, can generate 50% annual returns.. one year make 50k is about 4k a month, can survive

if u have 1 mil capital, even generate 5% annual returns also make same amount to live comfortably

cheers

felixleong

well I'm asking because I do know few claim play stock as their living aka no work just trade in between..earn for their daily needs..

I heard some no need trade or work just dump the money on one company collect huge dividend

haha, in this world will have many people making such claims...I have seen quite a number of people trading in a bull market and make a lot of $$, they then decide to quit their job and trade full time, until 2007 global financial crisis came and many traders died...(I also died... STI fell from 3800 to 1500 u say leh? unless u are like john paulson who short the market big big haha) many end up when back to work after the bull ended

to really confirm one can do it for a living for long term, as least must survive before 1 to 2 market cycles ba~ as there are easy times to make $$ and difficult times too, only those tested by time are true

as for those that collect dividends and pass time, singapore actually have a lot of such people... about 10% of singaporeans are millionaires you know?
if u take 1 mil and park into blue chips collecting 4% yield thats already 40k of yearly passive income or around 3k+ per month, more than enough if one leads a simple life

cheers

Sinkie

Assuming your current salary + employer Cpf per year is $60,000 lah

Do you have the capital to dump into a stock and generate a $60,000 per year dividend ma? Around $1,000,000 capital, find a company that give 6% yield will generate what you need

Or can you make sure you will be able to make a net profit of $60,000 from trading too? Assuming 60% win and 40% loss, which translate to $180,000 trading profit and $120,000 of commission and losses, how much capital would u need ?

And so do you have the capital to begin unless you have the 500% return skill. Every year just start off with $20,000, and generate $80,000 profit ::D

felixleong

wow.. like that got a lot of experience in trading/investing?
Share your life experience here before you go.. :)
At least pass some kungfu to us :)

Thank you! :)

Although I think i will die early and not able to get my CPF money (fortune teller tell me one, jin emo...)

but touch wood! I not dying yet la~ hahahaha, I will still be around this forum for some time lol

felixleong

for those who really inspiring to be a full time trader, i would advising reading this book first

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator: Edwin Lefèvre, Roger Lowenstein: 9780471770886: Amazon.com: Books

a classic that all trader must read, the story of jesse livermore told by himself one, of the greatest trader ever~

2nd must read is market wizards, as the top traders share their insights with you

http://www.amazon.com/Market-Wizards-Interviews-Aggressive-Bielfeldt/dp/1592802826

I really no bluff you all, don't believe can read the hundreds of amazon reviews

cheers

felixleong

Assuming your current salary + employer Cpf per year is $60,000 lah

Do you have the capital to dump into a stock and generate a $60,000 per year dividend ma? Around $1,000,000 capital, find a company that give 6% yield will generate what you need

Or can you make sure you will be able to make a net profit of $60,000 from trading too? Assuming 60% win and 40% loss, which translate to $180,000 trading profit and $120,000 of commission and losses, how much capital would u need ?

And so do you have the capital to begin unless you have the 500% return skill. Every year just start off with $20,000, and generate $80,000 profit ::D

very well said~

OngHuatHuat

self employed, full time investor

if wanna know more about can read more about it from my blog hehe (/me shamelessly) ^^

I am also self employed while doing some trades do supplement my income.
Kind of agree with most of your views. Nice sharing. Some of them really true, especially the downturn part.
Trading full time really not simple, need strong trading skill to have decent return.
Actually I am looking forward to just dump all my fortune in one single counter then just collect dividend, but now capital not enough yet.

Most people in Sg , work to live , then spend all money and work again. I don want to follow the same cycle. :(' it is sad but true, most people devote a huge portion of their life working, but what is the point?

felixleong

Kind of agree with most of your views. Nice sharing. Some of them really true, especially the downturn part.
Trading full time really not simple, need strong trading skill to have decent return.
Actually I am looking forward to just dump all my fortune in one single counter then just collect dividend, but now capital not enough yet.

Most people in Sg , work to live , then spend all money and work again. I don want to follow the same cycle. :(' it is sad but true, most people devote a huge portion of their life working, but what is the point?

yeah man, I strongly feel the same.

I got friends who are in their 40s liao.. can never retire sia.. housing loan, car loan..kids still young.. credit card debts etc.. die die must work till 65+ .. always worry about paying bills, job very stressful but cannot quit... haizzz... typical singaporean life.. I ask them save up some $$ invest in stock but they say every month expenses too high cannot save.. gg.. like forever trapped in the rat race liao

like what you say, really no point if like this... that's why we must slowly build capital and hopefully one day our passive income is enough for us to choose whether we want to work or not

cheers

wahkao3

that is the whole idea of govt
they want u work till u mati

u no work, how they get fat bonus?

HDB,CPF

highsulphur

Find a job that provides you a steady stream of income as well as your capital. You can still invest at the same time.

havetheveryfun

yes but u still need to work at the start to build up some capital first

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.