Anyone use TD Ameritrade?

celtosaxon

Yes, choose one: VWRA or ISAC. They are almost identical. One is Vanguard, the other is Blackrock… they are fierce competitors, which is good for us!

Then you can add some 3010 as you wish… nice and simple.

Not only cheap to buy/sell, but the annual expense ratio for these ETFs is 0.22% for VWRA, 0.2% for ISAC and 0.28% for 3010. Compare that to local unit trust here and you’ll be shocked!

mrwirus

Ya.. I actually started on Endowus journey and I realise the cost is not cheap over the long run. However, I think I will still put a small portion there, mainly for SRS because that SRS is super hard to get invested out haha..

ashethen

Just got an email from them to fill up another form because of the order of name is diff between account and NRIC/passport (eg lee chong wei vs chong wei lee).

So it applies to you, you want to to submit below form with ACAT transfer form together to speed up the process.

7kVuen.png
I just made my first deposit. Would there be any problem with my deposit if my name is in the wrong order as well?

Also, I only gave my first name (English name) and last name (surname) when I registered, but entered my full name for the NRIC detail in the registration. Any problem with that?

~sabaisabai~

I just made my first deposit. Would there be any problem with my deposit if my name is in the wrong order as well?

Also, I only gave my first name (English name) and last name (surname) when I registered, but entered my full name for the NRIC detail in the registration. Any problem with that?
wah, u finally started to use TDA ah

~sabaisabai~

wah you follow my postings so closely ah
i finally want to learn day trading that's why
eh bo lah.. happened to drop by TDA thread.. see your posting
i rmb u mentioned that ur acct is opened after so many months
oh, how was it? i will use TDA for options once i am ready .. hahahah

mrwirus

Is TDA really free comms when you buy US stocks and ETF? No other fees involved? Exchange fee? GST? Deposit fee withdrawal fee?

Just thinking how do they earn if they dun charge us anything.

tribalblu

Is TDA really free comms when you buy US stocks and ETF? No other fees involved? Exchange fee? GST? Deposit fee withdrawal fee?

Just thinking how do they earn if they dun charge us anything.
You don't get the best price. The broker receives payment for order flow to subsidise your trade.

celtosaxon

You don't get the best price. The broker receives payment for order flow to subsidise your trade.

Making money from the order flow is not new, brokers have always done that, even when they charged commission.

Reducing commissions to free is a recent development that started in the US and most of the major brokers there have now followed and made commissions free. TD Ameritrade simply extended that same pricing to Singapore.

I have both a TD Ameritrade Singapore and a TD Ameritrade US account, there is practically no difference between the two. The main noticeable difference is the Singapore account can’t accept ACH transfers. Other than that, both accounts are free, both accounts have fantastic trade execution - no difference between the two. Not like my experience with DBS Vickers where you really don’t get the best price, and get charged high commissions some more!

lncdan

Hi guys,

I've begin opening TD Ameritrade (SG) account since April, and it was only approval as of this Monday.

However, I've received "No option trading is allowed on this account", which is weird, as im selling put, where it's max loss is well within my funds.

Anybody know how to solve this issue? Called and Emailed them but just kept going round and round...

Thanks in advance.

ashethen

Hi guys,

I've begin opening TD Ameritrade (SG) account since April, and it was only approval as of this Monday.

However, I've received "No option trading is allowed on this account", which is weird, as im selling put, where it's max loss is well within my funds.

Anybody know how to solve this issue? Called and Emailed them but just kept going round and round...

Thanks in advance.
Did you state you've little experience trading options in your application?

lncdan

Did you state you've little experience trading options in your application?
Yeah.... Sighh, tried emailing them and calling their hotline, but there's nothing much they can do. How to get trading option experience in the first place, when the platform doesnt allow my account to execute it.

wira

Yeah.... Sighh, tried emailing them and calling their hotline, but there's nothing much they can do. How to get trading option experience in the first place, when the platform doesnt allow my account to execute it.
they don have a option exam questions like IBKR to assess your knowledge of option trading ?

i thought can just declare as experience trader then will do.. can trade options.

and if not mistaken, when open account, also need to sit thru SGX SIP test and pass it.. (this SGX SIP will be trigger if u asked for option trading and if u put no experience.. can be skipped if u put urself as experienced traders )

Leaden

Think of setting up an account, but does td ameritrade sg account allow us to buy in fractional shares?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.