Anyone use TD Ameritrade?

IcYFl4mEz

login to TDA account and go to withdrawal to submit wire transfer request.

can choose to liquidate all your stocks then transfer $ out or do a ACAT stock transfer to another broker.,
i will choose to liquidate(sell). so i need to sell off myself via thinkorswim first right? or just login to website and they can do everything for you?

IcYFl4mEz

don't waste your money on TD, just get an Interactive Brokers account and save your fees.
IBKR?
if i just want to occasionally buy some S&P500 , or AAPL etc.
once or twice or less per month type, which app best?

GrandJedi

I use TD Ameritrade because there is no commission for small trades. I suppose I should move it to Webull? MooMoo has transaction costs.

reddevil0728

I use TD Ameritrade because there is no commission for small trades. I suppose I should move it to Webull? MooMoo has transaction costs.
I think it’s important to not just look at fees at face value. But really understand the picture holistically.

there may be some fees for ibkr. But understand what it can offer vs others and see if it’s better to use it instead.

consider both tangible and intangible cost
maybe its me but i find IBKR app not as easy to use compared to Tiger or moo moo.
Yea but it’s a different thing.

that one is whether you are used to and preference.

but in any case. I think UI/UX might be a consideration, but understand what the different brokers can offer is more important holistically.

qsgsgs

maybe its me but i find IBKR app not as easy to use compared to Tiger or moo moo.
Tiger , Moomoo , Webull all made in China. If they can do accounting fraud for their popular coffee chain Luckin, may be more tempting to do it for a brokerage handling huge sums of cash. Definitely not a place to park assets and have a peace of mind imo.

twosix

Tiger , Moomoo , Webull all made in China. If they can do accounting fraud for their popular coffee chain Luckin, may be more tempting to do it for a brokerage handling huge sums of cash. Definitely not a place to park assets and have a peace of mind imo.
Err... drinking 99c luckin now leh... haha.

GrandJedi

How do I see the latest transactions on my account? or do I have to wait until the end of month? I transfer some funds out 2 weeks ago from my account - can I see it?

sohguanh

That is why I keep repeating myself in this forum never all in to any investment instrument same idea applies to brokers too. I have quite a few brokers. So be it China or US or whatever always got risk. It is not country specific. US brokers safe? Nay same same.

US broker setup in 1971
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TD_Ameritrade

sohguanh

Webull is not forever 0 comm fees for their US stock/ETF. Mine 0 comm fees expired on 1 Oct 2023. So just take note. Imagine you put there buy then X days later start charging so you move again? Very busy to keep moving leh.

sohguanh

don't waste your money on TD, just get an Interactive Brokers account and save your fees.
IBKR got flaw. I want to change SGD 5 to USD IBKR allow? IBKR tend to favor big amount to change. Why I want to change small amount is becuz I dun wanna be stucked with so much USD. These are stuff that are seldom mentioned in this forum. Not only the currency exchange need pay minimum and also need to pay a token sum USD 2 ? So what if it give spot rate factor all these in may not be as good as say I exchange on different days using different exchange rate and like DCA concept I get overall better rate isn't it?

Forget to mention sell all get USD want to change back SGD need hit minimum again. So tell me IBKR good? Or maybe I am paranoid on this currency exchange feature but this is a deal breaker for me who always like to exchange small amount each time.

crystalnox

IBKR got flaw. I want to change SGD 5 to USD IBKR allow? IBKR tend to favor big amount to change. Why I want to change small amount is becuz I dun wanna be stucked with so much USD. These are stuff that are seldom mentioned in this forum. Not only the currency exchange need pay I think also need to pay a token sum USD 2 ? So what if it give spot rate factor all these in may not be as good as say I exchange on different days using different exchange rate and like DCA concept I get better isn't it?

Forget to mention sell all get USD want to change back SGD need hit minimum again. So tell me IBKR good? Or maybe I am paranoid on this currency exchange feature but this is a deal breaker for me who always like to exchange small amount each time.
I think most people don’t change small amounts often, usually larger sums every week or month. Your case more unique, moomoo and tiger will serve you better at the expense of a 0.3% fx spread.

sohguanh

I think most people don’t change small amounts often, usually larger sums every week or month. Your case more unique, moomoo and tiger will serve you better at the expense of a 0.3% fx spread.
My case is unique? I am into US fractional shares so of cuz no need change so much. So yes webull,moomoo,tiger serve me better. But still I want to flag this out in case a new reader come to this forum and some oldbird in this forum start suggesting IBKR again. They need to know individual investor investing styles are different so it is not say I want to invest US stocks IBKR lor. While no one say IBKR is mandatory but the bias-ness I can see in other threads is so obvious and from some other readers.

Ok last post on this since this is TD Ameritrade thread.

jinsatkilife

That is why I keep repeating myself in this forum never all in to any investment instrument same idea applies to brokers too. I have quite a few brokers. So be it China or US or whatever always got risk. It is not country specific. US brokers safe? Nay same same.

US broker setup in 1971
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TD_Ameritrade
isnt US brokers safe because of the SIPC insurance?

sohguanh

isnt US brokers safe because of the SIPC insurance?
In this case TD Ameritrade never close shop. They just make your life difficult to transfer out or sell all get cash go back to your bank account. During this process dunno need to fork out any fees or not etc. So yes it is safe.

minamikaze

Even if one becomes an AI with TDA, does it make sense to stay on with them? AI gets less protection as well, in case things go south?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.