Apple TV 4

sk0065

Just set up Apple TV 4.

Siri don't work in Singapore unless you set location to US.

App Store for Apple TV in beginning stage so very few apps.

And not many apps to use for Singapore.

Iphone remote app cannot be used.

Apple trailer got to download from US store.

Don't have optical output. So must connect to a sound system via Bluetooth?

then its time to log in to the US account lo.

sk0065

2:36 - With delivery courier
2:47 - delivered

now to 6pm, how to tahan in office !!

gnixer

I downloaded Netflix, Hulu, HDBGo etc from US store then switched back. Waiting for them to come Singapore. hahaha... very bo liao.

only Apple trailer works.

just use the US store first and download vpn app if possible.

tekster

Just set up Apple TV 4.

Siri don't work in Singapore unless you set location to US.

App Store for Apple TV in beginning stage so very few apps.

And not many apps to use for Singapore.

Iphone remote app cannot be used.

Apple trailer got to download from US store.

Don't have optical output. So must connect to a sound system via Bluetooth?

No hdmi to connect meh?

tekster

Still undecided whether to get the new Apple TV or not. Currently using one android TV box but it's Super laggy... But Apple TV need wait for apps.

If u just want airplay, just get atv3 la. From reviews here so far, makes me wanna hoot another atv3 instead liao

tekster

I have been using the AirPlay for a long time and it's the best solution by far to wirelessly mirror or play your content on the big screen. Let's say friends and relatives who came over and wanna see your recent trip photos, or a recent video that you have taken, just AirPlay it.

Watching YouTube on that big screen is nice too.

I feel the same. Airplay the best for streaming media. And this coming from someone who only uses android stuff.

sk0065

If u just want airplay, just get atv3 la. From reviews here so far, makes me wanna hoot another atv3 instead liao

if you don't mind wired,
get the lightning HDMI adapter lo

the response time is much faster than airplay

FILTH

Opened box, set it up, click around a bit and turned it off after 5 mins. Really no content here

sk0065

for those who are reading and don't have ATV yet.... let me share a few tips

1) make sure your home network is fibre...
if your home internet slow, everything also slow... don't blame Apple

2) make sure your TV conso area got ethernet cable point
chances are, its used up by MIO TV box, SH box and etc.
how?
buy a SWITCH like this....
http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-ProSA...=1446195935&sr=8-3&keywords=internet+splitter

3) make sure your TV got enough HDMI port...
chances are they are used up too
how?
buy a HDMI splitter like this....
http://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-HD1831...&qid=1446195983&sr=1-1&keywords=hdmi+splitter

Jas007

my hands itchy liao ....... :s13:

whacked a 64GB liao ......... lol

selceted delivery time slot option ...
those received liao, did they stick to the slots u guys selected ?

Zahnie

how?
http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-ProSA...=1446195935&sr=8-3&keywords=internet+splitter

how?
http://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-HD1831...&qid=1446195983&sr=1-1&keywords=hdmi+splitter

It is 10/100BASE-T Ethernet only, slower than wireless.

*adiBOY

my hands itchy liao ....... :s13:

whacked a 64GB liao ......... lol

selceted delivery time slot option ...
those received liao, did they stick to the slots u guys selected ?

Wah now can choose delivery time ahh.

*adiBOY

how?

how?

Wireless is so much faster than the 100Mbps Ethernet port for the new Apple TV.

maxheadroom

FILTH

anyone discovered anything fun yet? looks like mine will be sitting there collecting dust liao.

sk0065

anyone discovered anything fun yet? looks like mine will be sitting there collecting dust liao.

Bought beats sports.
Sg store
$12.90.

Downloaded remote on iPhone.

Damn fun !!!! Like wii !

I need the loop. Gonna throw the remote at TV soon.

sk0065

Aerial screen saver so damn bloody chio !!

AirPlay is fast !

iPhone mirror and play slow mo video.

JondorZ

With the delivery courier at 2.30pm, Got my apple TV 64gb delivered at 5pm (I didn't choose the time slot).

Here are my first impressions of the new Apple TV (4th gen):

1. Set it up very simple. Just use your iPhone, turn on Bluetooth, put iPhone near the apple TV and Apple TV will grab all the settings (WiFi SSID and password, Apple ID details, etc) from your iPhone. All set up within the first 5 mins.

2. Apple TV SG set does come with Siri remote. However, It's disabled if using SG Apple ID. Use US Apple ID if you wish to use Siri. This issue really makes Singapore residents worry about not getting the Siri if purchased an apple TV local set. So hopefully this clears the confusion. Now you can add multiple apple IDs in the settings. It's also very easy to switch between apple IDs. No need to log in and log out. Most importantly, no typing required. (To log in the first time, you still need to input the Apple ID and password)

3. The trackpad on the remote is definitely an improvement from previous buttons only remote. It's now very easy to scroll through apps and lists. I really like the 3D effect feedback when you touch the trackpad and move slightly. I also like the volume up and down button which you can control the TV volume directly with the built in infrared. No need to hold on to multiple remotes anymore!

4. The default Apple tv home screen is empty (only have the essential apps: movies, music, pictures, settings and the app store). First app i launch is the app store. I Have to download each apps individually such as YouTube. Remember to Go to the purchased tab, it will show you all the Apple TV apps/games which you have purchased previously on the iPhone/iPad (you don't have to purchase again). The app store choices is still quite limited at launch. The app/games catalogue will grow over time. The iOS/tvOS developer community is working hard writing apps for the TV. So no worries there.

5. The games all use the Apple TV Remote to control. Some games support 3rd party MFi controllers. But I don't have any MFi controller to test. By the way, Crossy road game now supports multi-player and it's fun. One player use the remote, another need to use iPhone and have the crossy road app installed.

6. Aerial screensavers are beautiful. The time of the flyby respects your current location and time (ie when it's daytime here in Singapore, daytime aerial will be shown. Same applies to night time)

7. You can switch between apps (multitasking) by double pressing the home button (TV icon on the remote). The Apple TV is fast with the A8 chip and 2 GB ram. The loading of pretty much everything is much faster compared to Apple TV 3rd Gen. However, multitasking is quite slow.

8. Typing in text fields is still painful: typing in apple tv still requires swiping and tapping for each individual character (troublesome and time consuming). Since Siri is disabled when using sg apple id, At least they should have offered voice dictation for search/text fields inputs (the remote comes with dual microphone, why not utilize it?)

Recently, Eddy Cue from Apple mentioned that the new Apple TV is still considered an "add on" for most people (http://www.macrumors.com/2015/10/29/eddy-cue-apple-tv-add-on-cnn/). I think i agree with him. I feel that the new Apple TV is not an essential device for the living room, yet. You already can do most of these things with AirPlay mirroring using iphone/iPad and older gen apple TV. However, making apple TV to support native apps is a necessary step forward in making Apple TV the "revolutionary" device for the living room. (apple TV 4 is not yet revolutionary).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.