Apple Watch cellular version how does it work ?

Myu~sun

Hi sorry if it’s been asked tried to search but unable to find the answer . Personally I’m using the gps only . My cousin and I need some answer on cellular version of the watch if some bro here can assist :

1) I’m using hk ver dual physical sim using both giga! line . Saw on apple website So only the big 3 SingTel StarHub m1 can use ?

2) if we able to signup a esim(watch eSim) to use for the watch . When receiving call sms notification (phone sim) from the phone it will be shown on the watch and we can answer it even when the phone not around ?

Sorry really confuse with what the cellular does .

reddevil0728

Hi sorry if it’s been asked tried to search but unable to find the answer . Personally I’m using the gps only . My cousin and I need some answer on cellular version of the watch if some bro here can assist :

1) I’m using hk ver dual physical sim using both giga! line . Saw on apple website So only the big 3 SingTel StarHub m1 can use ?

appears to be so yes
2) if we able to signup a esim(watch eSim) to use for the watch . When receiving call sms notification (phone sim) from the phone it will be shown on the watch and we can answer it even when the phone not around ?

yes

numzkull

it works like a phone on your wrist so you can get calls and sms on your wrist even if you don’t have your phone with you, e.g. left phone at home when going for run.

afaik, it only works with 3 main telcos because they offer the add-on service Numbershare which is required for the phone’s cellular service

Snoweagle

1) Yes, here only Singtel, M1 and StarHub supports Numbershare.

2) Once you subscribed and activated Numbershare via the Apple Watch app under mobile data settings, your watch acts just like a 'mini phone' in a way when you're out of BT or wifi range, the cellular data will kick in, hence to ensure your mobile connection is not lost. That means messages, notifications and calls will still be able to send/receive.

Do note that cellular on Apple Watch and other smart watches with cellular features are not meant to replace your phone, it's just a device to keep you connected even when your phone is not with you, so you won't miss calls, messages and notifications.

Hope that clarifies your queries.

manofsorrows

And also, I find that replying messages on the watch is a pain so yes. It’s meant for temporary use while not having your phone. 😂
there are youtube videos where youtubers attempted to go whole day without iphone but just the awu with cellular.

i dont think i can sia.. haha

Habrosus

And also, I find that replying messages on the watch is a pain so yes. It’s meant for temporary use while not having your phone. 😂
I use a sliding keyboard but it can still be a pain in the watch sometimes. 😂

there are youtube videos where youtubers attempted to go whole day without iphone but just the awu with cellular.

i dont think i can sia.. haha
How many hours can tahan depends on patience, I think. When a friend was trying out his watch as I was calling his mobile, the reception then wasn't good and I ended up, "Pick up your bloody phone lah!" 🤣

Habrosus

Which is the best app to use from the Watch since we can't access WhatsApp directly? ChatApp or WatchChat?

Habrosus

Which is the best app to use from the Watch since we can't access WhatsApp directly? ChatApp or WatchChat?
Let me rephrase...

I want to use WhatsApp to communicate without having to pick up my phone, but it's not available for Apple Watch.

Anyway, decided to download WatchChat to try.

sfugel

Hi all, so if I use my Apple watch cellular I can't get WhatsApp if phone is out of range? Or can I still receive and return message thru WhatsApp?

reddevil0728

Hi all, so if I use my Apple watch cellular I can't get WhatsApp if phone is out of range? Or can I still receive and return message thru WhatsApp?
only if u receive u can reply through watch. u can start from scratch from your watch even if your phone is with you

我要买GTR

Let me rephrase...

I want to use WhatsApp to communicate without having to pick up my phone, but it's not available for Apple Watch.

Anyway, decided to download WatchChat to try.
I paid for the one time payment $10.98 since I find it very impressive so far 🤭

I paid the one-time payment for this app too. But I use it for a different function. :ROFLMAO:

I log in my work phone WA account on my watchchat app, so I don't need to bring my work phone out shopping/on vacay. Any work emergencies I can access/reply msgs via the app remotely.

(Edit: I tried with turning off cellular/wifi on my work phone & the watchchat app on my AW still works ❤️)

10/10 worth it. Will continue to monitor it's reliability. :D

sfugel

Sorry guys, one more question. Do I need to bring the physical watch to my service provider to activate the eSIM or can I do it over the line ? My SP is StarHub.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.